PDA

View Full Version : It's finally time to rebuild!



TgD Thunderbolt56
07-14-2006, 11:51 AM
Check these links out:

http://www.behardware.com/articles/623-15/intel-core-2-duo-test.html

and here at SimHQ:

http://www.simhq.com/_technology2/technology_090d.html


I have a nice, fast system, and even though I'm still running an NV6800Ultra on an agp interface with no problems whatsoever, these kinds of performance leaps are what I've been waiting for.


TB

Freelancer-1
07-14-2006, 12:25 PM
The differences are a lot less dramatic at reasonable resolutions.

How many peeps are running at 640x480 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Once you get to 1600x1200 the field is pretty even.

Lunix
07-14-2006, 12:52 PM
List so far with pacific fighters benchies.

firingsquad (http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/intel_core_2_performance/page11.asp)
behardware (http://www.behardware.com/articles/623-15/intel-core-2-duo-test.html)
SimHQ (http://www.simhq.com/_technology2/technology_090d.html)

According to the firing squad link the highend Intel beats the high end Athlon by %40 at 1600x1200. Yes the difference is less but that kindof a jump is absolutely phenominal. I think that when BOB hits the field it will be much more demanding on the CPU and the jump will be even more noticeable. The simhq link only 16% at 1600x1200 but it looks as though this test was more graphics card bound.

Chivas
07-14-2006, 12:54 PM
Not so even if you look at the price structure. It seems you can get an Intel Conroe cpu for $300 dollars with the power of an AMD64 FX62 at $1000 dollars.

Amd will have to drop its pricing dramatically to compete at all. Its all very good for us consumers.

Freelancer-1
07-14-2006, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by Lunix:
List so far with pacific fighters benchies.

firingsquad (http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/intel_core_2_performance/page11.asp)
behardware (http://www.behardware.com/articles/623-15/intel-core-2-duo-test.html)
SimHQ (http://www.simhq.com/_technology2/technology_090d.html)

According to the firing squad link the highend Intel beats the high end Athlon by %40 at 1600x1200.

I realize that running the tests without AA & AF shows a more realistic CPU score as they are video based, but lets face it, it would make a lot more sense to run it at real world settings.

As for the price difference. Based on the benchmarks I've seen that would definitely be the deciding factor at this point.

Jaws2002
07-14-2006, 08:52 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif


Whow. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif Thank you Thunderbolt.


It completely blows AMD in all tests except Maya.
This serie is also much less power thursty.

Great news. We'll be able to get a processor at the same power at today's fastest CPU for a quarter of the price.

WAY TO GO INTEL. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Jaws2002
07-14-2006, 09:43 PM
What i found at Tom's hardware :http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/<FA>Jaws/core2_intro.jpg

Freelancer-1
07-15-2006, 12:52 AM
Interesting tests:

http://www.elitebastards.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1523...be0cdd29acb3a90c80dd (http://www.elitebastards.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15231&view=previous&sid=772a4e717024be0cdd29acb3a90c80dd)

Links are in the first post.

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-17-2006, 07:10 AM
Bump for those that never make it to the second page. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

FatBoyHK
07-17-2006, 09:28 AM
I decided to buy a AMD FX-60 to replace my 3500+, and it will arrive tomorrow. In the wake of Conroe release it seem to be a stupid move to made.... but I know what I am doing.

I have already invested significant amount of $$$ on the AMD 939 platform.... a good MB (ASUS A8N32) and 2G of good ram (Coirair 3500LLPro)....They are all brand-new and I just don't wanna let them go. Instead I decide to fully ultilize them by pairing them with the very last and very best CPU they can support.

With a FX-60 overclocked to 3.2 GHz I can still rock for 1 and a half year, may be even more. It is a very good CPU, it is juts not as good as Conroe.

And it is always risky to jump on the new-generation brandwagon right after its release. We have enough of these painful lessons in recent years. On the other hand, 939 is a truely mature platform. I would like to stay with it and wait until the battle for the next generation settle abit, in one year or so. At that time we will have, no only even faster Conroe, but better MB and better chipset to support them, and more importantly, an answer from AMD...

Therefore I really don't think I am stupid.

stubby
07-17-2006, 10:22 AM
Utlimately isn't it a waste of time/$ to purchase high end dual core CPUs if the OS and applications aren't specifically written to utilize the processing capacity? I'm no OS guru but WinXP isn't really hyperthreaded OS like Solaris.

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-17-2006, 10:27 AM
Nothing stupid about it at all FatboyHK. I just built an AMD 939 platform rig for my son (3700+, 1gig corsair, NV7800GT). His old 1Ghz PIII was just ridiculously long in the tooth to keep any longer.

My rig, on the other hand, is still running well...really well even though it's 18+ months old. It's a P4 3.4 with an agp VC interface running an NV6800Ultra. It's really only a gaming rig so isn't bogged down with all my productivity stuff. I typically build new every year or so and have been holding off the last few months waiting to see what comes over the horizon. Conroe looks to be it (provided availability is there). Add to it the strides that have been made in DDR2 and I'll likely start gathering components this winter for a March/April power-up.


TB

Chivas
07-17-2006, 11:51 AM
Fatboy you may be able to throw that FX60 into an AMD 4x4 motherboard in a future upgrade. This seems to be AMD's answer to the Conroe, although they had better cut the price of their processors a great deal to be competitive.

FatBoyHK
07-17-2006, 02:13 PM
Hi Chivas long time no see, S!

and NO, I can't reuse this bady in any future upgrade, AMD has abondoned 939 completely already and goes with AM2 now. FX-60 is their last 939 CPU. Therefore my CPU, MB, abnd RAM will stay together until the end of the world...

But I will upgrade to SLI graphic after I see some mature directx 10 cards come out.... now running a single XFX 7800GTX XXX edition, pretty enough for now http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Yet I ready doubt that 4x4 will run on AM2 platform.... That is why I wanna wait and see...

TheGozr
07-17-2006, 02:24 PM
Freelancer-1
Do you want to test the video card or cpu ?

HayateAce
07-17-2006, 02:37 PM
Homemade Tandy compooter? That's about exciting as a hamburger on sandwich bread.

No thanks.

http://www.cnet.co.uk/i/c/blg/cat/desktops/INTEL_mac.jpg

Jaws2002
07-17-2006, 03:10 PM
Apple is for rich dumb blondes when they go to college. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

Chivas
07-17-2006, 06:06 PM
~Salute~ Fatboy
Your right somehow I was thinking the FX60 was an AM2 processor.
Keep an an eye out for any new ASRock motherboards. I bought a cheap one a year ago after blowing up my good ASUS board. This motherboard can be used for 939 cpus or AM2. You never know they may make a 4X4 motherboard for 939 cpus.

HayateAce
07-17-2006, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by Jaws2002:
Apple is for rich dumb blondes when they go to college. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

Hmmm, you may be right.

http://www.macgeek.org/museum/applelisa1/apple1_00.jpg


http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Jaws2002
07-21-2006, 01:42 AM
Holly overclocking batman http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif :


Just check the results of the 316$ E6600 (2.4GHz): http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2795&p=18

Xiolablu3
07-21-2006, 01:58 AM
Lol, I just bought a 5900 Ultra 256mb for 40 to replace my excellent GF Ti4600.

My 2500+, 1.25gb Ram, Gfti4600, Soundblaster Live! still runs all games great at 1024x768. I only upgraded my card because Oblivion and BF2 etc need Pixel SHader 2. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I think my current computer cost less than a Xbox 360 and I love it :P

My Joystick was 2.99 for a MS Force Feedback Pro off ebay.

Playing Prey right now at 1024x768 and thats still with the Ti4600, optimising and looking for bargains can save you a LOT of money http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Maybe I am just a cheapskate http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif