PDA

View Full Version : Do you think that Constantinople would be bigger than Rome in Revelations?



KrYpToNiC95
05-06-2011, 11:41 PM
I know it hasn't been revealed, or if it has i haven't heard of it. Also wouldn't a lot of people prefer if we had more than one city to go to and have changes in atmosphere. They have mentioned Capadocia but i doubt it would have a major role like Venice did in AC2.

KrYpToNiC95
05-06-2011, 11:41 PM
I know it hasn't been revealed, or if it has i haven't heard of it. Also wouldn't a lot of people prefer if we had more than one city to go to and have changes in atmosphere. They have mentioned Capadocia but i doubt it would have a major role like Venice did in AC2.

UBOSOFT-Gamer
05-07-2011, 01:38 AM
dont think that it would be bigger. at last not significant bigger than rome.

i like the idea of playing in the city at the bosporus. but i thope it is not the only city to play in :/

HD RoLoS v
05-07-2011, 03:08 AM
I would like there to be more cities to travel to but desmond sees ezio at the villa years after the siege so we could be playing ezio back at the villa auditore http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

persiateddy95
05-07-2011, 03:11 AM
I didn't really like how there was only one city in AC:B.

I prefered AC1 and AC2.

ScreaminEagle
05-07-2011, 04:44 AM
Rome bigger than Costantinople?
Really?
How much do you know about Middle Ages?
Rome after the collapse of the Western Empire began a city of ruin.
In 1500 there were 100,000 people in Rome.
Costantinople was New York city of Middle Ages,the capital of Eastern empire(form 1453 the capital of Ottoman Empire) with 700,000 people.
It was bigger 7x Rome.

Skaevola
05-07-2011, 04:52 AM
Yup, sounds like Ubi challenged themselves with this particular city on purpose. It's going to be interesting seeing how they handle such a daunting task... But it'll be good practice for making a modern city for Assassin's Creed III. I've been wondering how they're gonna pull that off since 2005.

shobhit7777777
05-07-2011, 05:00 AM
Bigger than Rome?

YES

I mean judging from the gameplay features....the Assassin's Den and the Zip Lining..it is pretty evident that the city is going to be MASSIVE. There is a reason why the devs focused on making traversal easier. The city needs to be big to accomodate so many Assassin's dens and territories.

I also think it would be an awesome setting....a mixture of European and Mid-East architecture and culture.
Can't wait to play

crash3
05-07-2011, 05:08 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ScreaminEagle:
Rome bigger than Costantinople?
Really?
How much do you know about Middle Ages?
Rome after the collapse of the Western Empire began a city of ruin.
In 1500 there were 100,000 people in Rome.
Costantinople was New York city of Middle Ages,the capital of Eastern empire(form 1453 the capital of Ottoman Empire) with 700,000 people.
It was bigger 7x Rome. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

constantinople was the capitla of the byzantine empire through the middle ageswhich was the last remnant of the roman empire. the eastern roman empire wasnt destroyed like the west was

constantinople is definitely bigger than rome in the 1500's as it continued to thrive

but i really hope that we get to explore at least 2 or 3 cities in free roam not just one-off missions like the leonardo missions where we went to different parts of italy

what cities are there in the cappadocia area of turkey?

crash3
05-07-2011, 05:13 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wingf00t:
Yup, sounds like Ubi challenged themselves with this particular city on purpose. It's going to be interesting seeing how they handle such a daunting task... But it'll be good practice for making a modern city for Assassin's Creed III. I've been wondering how they're gonna pull that off since 2005. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

dont get me wrong i would love to see a modern day city in AC3 buti hope that doesnt mean that it is the last episode in the series. i think there is still so much that hasnt been expored that could be relevant to an assassins creed storyline

Skaevola
05-07-2011, 05:52 AM
Yeah, I guess... I'm just wishing for more Desmond content, I guess.
Seriously, when's that guy gonna really kick some butt? I'm ready for him to be a fully-matured assassin now :P

And, after Desmond's story is concluded, I'm sure the series will continue. Having a new modern-day assassin in a spinoff series wouldn't grate on me.

tjbyrum1
05-07-2011, 06:54 AM
This is actually why one of the only things I enjoy having loading screens for.

I like separate maps, especially if it's set up with a 'central' wilderness map and has cities connecting to it. Loading screens in between each map.

Remember how you could go to Venice, Florence, Monterrigoni, and more? I liked that, in Brotherhood it just felt closed in and compacted - like Jeffrey Star.

So I want more maps with loading screens. I would say one huge map with multiple cities, but I do not think that is scale of the cities and the scale of the wilderness in between would be good for that.

dxsxhxcx
05-07-2011, 07:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wingf00t:

And, after Desmond's story is concluded, I'm sure the series will continue. Having a new modern-day assassin in a spinoff series wouldn't grate on me. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

the only thing I want to see after Desmond's story ends is a game about Subject 16, showing us some ancestors he visited and how was his life when he was a prisioner at Abstergo, ending with him writing those symbols in his room and then committing suicide... :P

ChaosxNetwork
05-07-2011, 07:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ScreaminEagle:
Rome bigger than Costantinople?
Really?
How much do you know about Middle Ages?
Rome after the collapse of the Western Empire began a city of ruin.
In 1500 there were 100,000 people in Rome.
Costantinople was New York city of Middle Ages,the capital of Eastern empire(form 1453 the capital of Ottoman Empire) with 700,000 people.
It was bigger 7x Rome. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Oh I forgot that Rome in AC:B was a perfect scale ratio to real 16th century Rome...
Of course it will be bigger Ubisoft will be expending to get ready for the biggest game yet, AC III. Brotherhood and Revelation are important games story wise, but game play wise are tests for the supernova that will be AC III

eagleforlife1
05-07-2011, 08:05 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by persiateddy95:
I didn't really like how there was only one city in AC:B.

I prefered AC1 and AC2. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Agree.

TwentyGlyphs
05-07-2011, 08:07 AM
Here's a computer simulated image from within a few hundred years of 1500 from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constantinople):

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/26/Bizansist_touchup.jpg

It looks at least as big as Rome if not bigger. All the info says it was Europe's biggest city throughout the Middle Ages. It's also interesting that they may be calling it Constantinople because everyone in the West continued to call it that even after the Turks conquered it and renamed it to Istanbul.

It seems like the zip lines will help make navigation faster, though I hope there is still some sort of fast travel system. The zip lines also look like they might replace the parachute as a way to get around.

gohanks10
05-07-2011, 08:33 AM
i think that constantinople will be 85% of the rome size from AC brotherhood.

i don't know if capadoccia will be playble as free roam or if will be like vianna from AC brotherhood.

i think that capadocia will be 2 times tuscany

UBOSOFT-Gamer
05-07-2011, 11:19 AM
Constantinople was also famous for it's city walls.

With numerous additions and modifications during their history, they were the last great fortification system of antiquity, and one of the most complex and elaborate systems ever built.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walls_of_Constantinople

The walls were a reason why the city had nevern been conquerd in about 1000 years.
The walls were not breached until the invention of gunpowder. In 1453 the Turks mounted a siege, and in what was the first significant use of cannon and gunpowder, took the city. A monster Hungarian-made cannon weighing over 20 tons was used.

ChaosxNetwork
05-07-2011, 02:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by UBOSOFT-Gamer:
Constantinople was also famous for it's city walls.

With numerous additions and modifications during their history, they were the last great fortification system of antiquity, and one of the most complex and elaborate systems ever built.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walls_of_Constantinople

The walls were a reason why the city had nevern been conquerd in about 1000 years.
The walls were not breached until the invention of gunpowder. In 1453 the Turks mounted a siege, and in what was the first significant use of cannon and gunpowder, took the city. A monster Hungarian-made cannon weighing over 20 tons was used. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Great Bombard in English ;D

UBOSOFT-Gamer
05-08-2011, 04:05 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by xHITx_Chaos:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by UBOSOFT-Gamer:
Constantinople was also famous for it's city walls.

With numerous additions and modifications during their history, they were the last great fortification system of antiquity, and one of the most complex and elaborate systems ever built.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walls_of_Constantinople

The walls were a reason why the city had nevern been conquerd in about 1000 years.
The walls were not breached until the invention of gunpowder. In 1453 the Turks mounted a siege, and in what was the first significant use of cannon and gunpowder, took the city. A monster Hungarian-made cannon weighing over 20 tons was used. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Great Bombard in English ;D </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0aP4kDXaDgo

scroll to 25:00
it is only availbale in german language, but interessting.

repöic of the bombard beeing fired http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

dex3108
05-08-2011, 05:02 AM
Here you can see how Constantinople was looking like in 1200 and they now making the city of Constantinople from ages of Ottoman Empire http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.arkeo3d.com/byzantium1200/tiles.html

KrYpToNiC95
05-08-2011, 05:07 AM
I was wondering besides the Agia Sophia which other landmarks should we see in the game.

BioPulse.ps3
05-08-2011, 05:20 AM
you think we might get some action in the hippodrome?
horse racing arena, for those who might not know.

http://cl.ly/6YLA/Screen_shot_2011-05-08_at_13.17.27.png

http://cl.ly/6YvK/Screen_shot_2011-05-08_at_13.17.18.png

dex3108
05-08-2011, 05:27 AM
- Hippodrome of Constantinople
- Valens Aqueduct
- Maybe Great Palace of Constantinople but it is damaged in 13th century but ubi can make it in Altair memories http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
- Blue Mosque is also great landmark but it was built from 1609 to 1616 so ti is not likely that it would be in game.
- Topkap? Palace

This is some of Landmarks that could be in the game

KrYpToNiC95
05-08-2011, 05:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Biopulse.PS3:
you think we might get some action in the hippodrome?
horse racing arena, for those who might not know.

http://cl.ly/6YLA/Screen_shot_2011-05-08_at_13.17.27.png



Racing in the hippodrome sounds like an awesome idea..

http://cl.ly/6YvK/Screen_shot_2011-05-08_at_13.17.18.png </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

TurkishJames
05-08-2011, 06:00 AM
Ubisoft got it right by calling it Constantinople. It wasn't renamed to Istanbul til a latter date.

Just saying, a lot of Turks are going to purchase this game, since they are all crazy gamers.

Seriously cannot wait for this one.

IIwangcarsII
05-08-2011, 06:23 AM
I think Constantinople is a perfect location for Ezio to go! It's a perfect mix of European and middle eastern architecture!

DavidPV86
05-08-2011, 08:41 AM
At the time, It was bigger and MUCH richer than Rome and want it to be better depicted also, since Rome kinda dissapointed me, it felt rushed and unfihished sometimes.....

payrob07
05-08-2011, 06:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by coryplayspiano:
Here's a computer simulated image from within a few hundred years of 1500 from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constantinople):

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/26/Bizansist_touchup.jpg

It looks at least as big as Rome if not bigger. All the info says it was Europe's biggest city throughout the Middle Ages. It's also interesting that they may be calling it Constantinople because everyone in the West continued to call it that even after the Turks conquered it and renamed it to Istanbul.

It seems like the zip lines will help make navigation faster, though I hope there is still some sort of fast travel system. The zip lines also look like they might replace the parachute as a way to get around. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you cut out the Vatican, you've got yourself an accurate post.