PDA

View Full Version : AGP 8x vs 4x



Zayets
07-29-2003, 10:48 AM
Dunno if this belong to Tech forum , however I'll ask here. as far as i know AGP 4x slots re using 1.5V slots and AGP 8x use .8 slots. I have now a GF Ti4600 and my mobo have a 4x slot. Is it OK to purchase an AGP 8x card and use it on my old system even if I'll loose the benefits of 8x? As far as I understood , new graphic cards can handle both type of slots (well , only the voltage differ).Any expert oppinions?


Zayets out

Zayets
07-29-2003, 10:48 AM
Dunno if this belong to Tech forum , however I'll ask here. as far as i know AGP 4x slots re using 1.5V slots and AGP 8x use .8 slots. I have now a GF Ti4600 and my mobo have a 4x slot. Is it OK to purchase an AGP 8x card and use it on my old system even if I'll loose the benefits of 8x? As far as I understood , new graphic cards can handle both type of slots (well , only the voltage differ).Any expert oppinions?


Zayets out

Zayets
07-29-2003, 10:54 AM
Actually I'm looking to buy this. My "old" Ti4600 lost a fan apparently and someone can buy it from me for 100 euros,don't know if a fecked fan will decrease the price a lot or not , but for me is OK.So , here's what I like to buy:
http://www.directron.com/asusv9900td.html

PS: I know that many of you will suggest to go for an ATI , but i have my "rules". I am always sticking with those brands : nVidia , Western Digital and Asus. Even if ATI is superior. I had twice ATI cards (3-4 years ago) and send one back coz the other one was fried out /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif . Less probs for me with nVidia , actually GeForce. Sticking to it.


Zayets out

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 10:59 AM
AGP 8x cards function perfectly on AGP 4x motherboards. it's 100% backward compatible

Zayets
07-29-2003, 11:27 AM
Thx man! I knew it(not 100% sure though) , but wanted a comfirmation.


Zayets out

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 11:57 AM
Fresshness wrote:
- AGP 8x cards function perfectly on AGP 4x
- motherboards. it's 100% backward compatible

Actually I am not sure it is. AFAIK a few motherboards
put out a level of voltage that is compatible with
all cards that have a maximum transfer rate of 4x, but
it incompatible (too high) for some 8x cards. Almost
all boards have sensors that can detect that the card
is a 4x or 8x card and select the appropriate voltage,
but there may be a few old boards that can't.

My current card (GeForce3 is 4x) and my mobo is a
reconditioned KG7 raid. I will have to carefully
check the specs if I upgrade to an card that is 8x
The motherboard will only support 4x, but I have
to check that it won't overpower an 8x card and blow
it up.

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 12:46 PM
If your AGP card has the wrong voltage for the motherboard, it simply wont fit. There are notches in the cards to prevent them from being inserted into the wrong MB. Its basically OLD agp cards being put into NEW motherboards. The new motherboards pumped up the voltage simply because it was not enough to run 3D chips. So you can use any old AGP 2X video boards like I740, VooDoo Banshe or TNT cards in new motherboards. But Geforce line and above will work fine.

Gib

AaronGT wrote:
-
- Fresshness wrote:
-- AGP 8x cards function perfectly on AGP 4x
-- motherboards. it's 100% backward compatible
-
- Actually I am not sure it is. AFAIK a few
- motherboards
- put out a level of voltage that is compatible with
- all cards that have a maximum transfer rate of 4x,
- but
- it incompatible (too high) for some 8x cards. Almost
- all boards have sensors that can detect that the
- card
- is a 4x or 8x card and select the appropriate
- voltage,
- but there may be a few old boards that can't.
-
- My current card (GeForce3 is 4x) and my mobo is a
- reconditioned KG7 raid. I will have to carefully
- check the specs if I upgrade to an card that is 8x
- The motherboard will only support 4x, but I have
- to check that it won't overpower an 8x card and blow
- it up.
-
-
-
-



I am now accepting donations to help get the PBY flyable.

<center><form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="business" value="gibbage@lycos.com">
<input type="hidden" name="item_name" value="Gibbages IL2; FB PBY Catalina Fund">
<input type="hidden" name="no_note" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="hidden" name="tax" value="0">
<input type="image" src="http://gibbageart.havagame.com/donations.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!">
</form></center>

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 12:58 PM
hmm keep in Mind AGP 8x is useless. offers no real performance increase... and I have to disable it at my Radeon 9700, to let run FB stable...

JG53 PikAs Abbuzze
I./Gruppe

http://www.jg53-pikas.de/
http://mitglied.lycos.de/p123/Ani_pikasbanner_langsam.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 01:02 PM
On the Asus A7N8X mainboard the 8xAGP runs just fine.

So far I haven't had a single lockup or blue screen since I finished building my new system last December.

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

Zayets
07-29-2003, 01:08 PM
Well , if you check the link for the card I wanna buy , is stated there that supported bus is 8x/4x/2x . I think I can go buy it without probs.


Zayets out

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 03:18 PM
Zayets wrote:
- Is it OK to
- purchase an AGP 8x card and use it on my old system
- even if I'll loose the benefits of 8x? As far as I
- understood , new graphic cards can handle both type
- of slots (well , only the voltage differ).Any expert
- oppinions?
-

I don't know that I can call myself an expert, but I have been using a PNY Verto Geforce 4 Ti 4200 with 8x AGP in my 4x AGP motherboard for a few months with absolutly no problems whatsoever. As long as the card supports what you do have, you should be alright using it.




----------------------------------------
Whatever I've done, I've been staring down the barrel of a gun.

ZG77_Nagual
07-29-2003, 03:48 PM
Thing one - don't run that card without a fan - it's easy to put on a new one.

Thing two - some very few boards - such as the kg7 raid - have issues with, I believe - older video cards that draw too much voltage. I'd check this on the abit web-site by looking at the faqs for the kg7. I had a kg7r for awhile and had no problems.

I have an ati based Sapphire 9700 and am very happy with it. If you are not spending $400 on a vid card, you'll do better with something ati based in terms of bang for the buck. Saphire or Hercules are two good brands for ati chipset cards - along with ati itself of course.

just my opinion of course.

You can allways check your mainboard manufacturors website for specs. Also no diff between 8x and 4x in any current games.

http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 04:24 PM
I run a gf4ti 42008x in a 4x slot and have no problems works ok fo me.

HE WHO DIES WITH THE MOST TOYS WINS

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 06:03 PM
Gibbage1 wrote:
- If your AGP card has the wrong voltage for the
- motherboard, it simply wont fit.

It shouldn't fit, but apparently some motherboards
have incorrect notches. The number of motherboards
that have it wrong is comparatively small AFAIK.

You are right - I got it the wrong way round.
Running new cards in old boards can try to draw
too much voltage from the motherboard and
blow _that_ up. Old cards in new motherboards
can blow the card up.

I was close, but definitely no banana.

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 08:20 PM
It's my understanding that 8X is twice as fast as 4X, and if the AGP card fits in the motherboard, it'll work. Most MBs are backward compatible- that is, they'll support older or lower rated AGP cards (that's the reason they say 2X/4X/8X on the box), so you can plug that 4X card into that 8X compatible MB without a worry, although you'll get better (faster) performance from an 8X AGP card.

I have two computers, both 8X capable, but I have a ti4200 128Mb/8X card in one and a ti4600 128 Mb/4X in the other, and if I have to pick, the 4200 gives me better performance when the game gets crowded (lots of airplanes doing a lot of stuff). I can set everything to max on the 4200, but the 4600 needs to be backed off a bit or it stutters at inopportune times. Other than the AGP cards the computers are essentially of similar capability: P4/2.4 (4600) and Athlon XP 2600+ (4200) and 1Gb of DDR RAM each, although the Athlon unit has the Audigy 2 sound card, which I love.

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" - LCOL Don Blakeslee, CO, 4th FG, March, 1944

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 08:35 PM
AGP 4x Cards will work in 8x motherboards, and AGP 8x cards will work in 4x motherboards. There is a gain from 4x to 8x, its not twice as fast but it increases the volts to the card and it ups the bandwidth between ur mobo and card. There is a performance gain between the two.

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 08:48 PM
Umm, check out some benches, you'll see that there's virtually no difference in performance between 4x and 8x. There are no games out there that will use 8x capabilities right now, and when there will be, we will already have PCI Express which will blow AGP out of the water. Oh and I don't know what in the hell you did with your Ti4600, because no matter what AGP setting it is, it will always run games faster then the Ti4280.

horseback wrote:
- It's my understanding that 8X is twice as fast as
- 4X, and if the AGP card fits in the motherboard,
- it'll work. Most MBs are backward compatible- that
- is, they'll support older or lower rated AGP cards
- (that's the reason they say 2X/4X/8X on the box), so
- you can plug that 4X card into that 8X compatible MB
- without a worry, although you'll get better (faster)
- performance from an 8X AGP card.
-
- I have two computers, both 8X capable, but I have a
- ti4200 128Mb/8X card in one and a ti4600 128 Mb/4X
- in the other, and if I have to pick, the 4200 gives
- me better performance when the game gets crowded
- (lots of airplanes doing a lot of stuff). I can set
- everything to max on the 4200, but the 4600 needs to
- be backed off a bit or it stutters at inopportune
- times. Other than the AGP cards the computers are
- essentially of similar capability: P4/2.4 (4600) and
- Athlon XP 2600+ (4200) and 1Gb of DDR RAM each,
- although the Athlon unit has the Audigy 2 sound
- card, which I love.
-
- "Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to
- fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" - LCOL
- Don Blakeslee, CO, 4th FG, March, 1944



AMD Athlon XP 1700+ T-Bred B
Epox 8K9AI
PC2100 512MB DDR
GeForce 4 Ti4600 128MB
Game Theater XP w/ Sony MHC-BX6AV
<center> http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/post-2-1057134794.gif </CENTER> <center><FONT COLOR="RED"> Gibbage you rock Man!</center>

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 10:58 PM
This might help..

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic/20030714/index.html

-jim-

XyZspineZyX
07-29-2003, 11:00 PM
Quake897 wrote:
- Umm, check out some benches, you'll see that there's
- virtually no difference in performance between 4x
- and 8x. There are no games out there that will use
- 8x capabilities right now, and when there will be,
- we will already have PCI Express which will blow AGP
- out of the water. Oh and I don't know what in the
- hell you did with your Ti4600, because no matter
- what AGP setting it is, it will always run games
- faster then the Ti4280.


tell us more about this PCI Express! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-30-2003, 12:17 AM
Here you go

PCI Express:
http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.html?i=1830

expect next year's video cards to be PCIx.

AMD Athlon XP 1700+ T-Bred B
Epox 8K9AI
PC2100 512MB DDR
GeForce 4 Ti4600 128MB
Game Theater XP w/ Sony MHC-BX6AV
<center> http://invisionfree.com:54/40/30/upload/post-2-1057134794.gif </CENTER> <center><FONT COLOR="RED"> Gibbage you rock Man!</center>