PDA

View Full Version : new joystick problems



Aesuai
05-02-2007, 11:32 PM
Hey all. I've done a search on hardware conflicts with little success but let me just explain the issue I'm having.
I have just recently purchased the x52 hotas joystick from saitek and have everyting installed.
I also have a set of ch pedals.
Upon installation of the joystick, my primary controller has now become my rudder pedals. They assume the ID #1 slot.
My question is, how do i easilly get my new joystick to be recognized correctly?
Will a re-install of the the sim help or do you think I need to mess around with the controller ids?
Things check out fine with FS9.
Any help (with example config file settings) would be great!

Thanks!

Taylortony
05-03-2007, 12:10 AM
TRY
http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&op=show&kid=261

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aesuai
05-03-2007, 02:17 AM
Oh man!
There has got to be an easier way.
I went through the config file and tried all the swapping stuff, but I don't think that will help at all when I want to assign hotkeys and such to the device I want.
Hmmm.

JG52Uther
05-03-2007, 02:29 AM
Its very easy really.Read the info,download il-2 sticks (or the other programme) and play around with it.

Aesuai
05-03-2007, 02:46 AM
so easy that the cut and paste didnt work, and that the il2 sticks program does nothing but edit the primary controller.
Sorry, but as a user, I shouldn't have to jump through this many hoops.

flyingloon
05-03-2007, 05:13 AM
effort brings rewards

JG52Uther
05-03-2007, 06:08 AM
Start your game,go to the 'controls' menu.Press a button/push a rudder pedal etc and it will say ID1/ID2/ID3 whatever.Thats it,done.I use a X45 throttle,logitech stick,and CH pedals,thats 3 controllers.It took me 2 minutes to set up my controls.

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-03-2007, 06:35 AM
Originally posted by JG52Uther:
Start your game,go to the 'controls' menu.Press a button/push a rudder pedal etc and it will say ID1/ID2/ID3 whatever.Thats it,done.I use a X45 throttle,logitech stick,and CH pedals,thats 3 controllers.It took me 2 minutes to set up my controls.

Same here. I use a full CH setup and when I didn't use the CH Control Manager software I simply set my key-bindings in the 'controls' screen of IL2.

If I happened to unplug one of the controllers then the ID's would all switch around and force me to reassign them. A pain in the rear for sure, but all in a day's work.

TB

Huxley_S
05-03-2007, 11:08 AM
Sorry, but as a user, I shouldn't have to jump through this many hoops.

To get the most out of this game you have to jump through a *lot* of hoops! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Yellow_Sub
05-03-2007, 11:14 AM
Maybe this helps:
http://www.battle-fields.com/commscentre/showthread.php...5&highlight=joystick (http://www.battle-fields.com/commscentre/showthread.php?t=11795&highlight=joystick)

I think it was also discussed in the Community Help section. If you search there for Joystick ID you can probably dig the thread up.

Chivas
05-03-2007, 11:57 AM
Its very simple...go to the ingame Hotas Control...under Controls.

Click on the area right of the axis and a box will appear. Move the controller you want to use for that axis and it will appear in the box with an assigned ID#. If you find the axis is reversed in the game, go back, and move the controller in the opposite direction.

When you want to fine tune the axis and your main xy axis controller is not assigned as the first ID then you have to use IL-2 sticks or manually change the numbers in the Conf-ini.

Pay attention to the ID# that is assigned to each controller so its less confusing when your trying to fine tune the input.

Unfortunetly with Windows XP you can't change the order of the controllers.

~Salute~
Chivas