PDA

View Full Version : Video card suggestions for a bonehead-MOWron(me)

hammerguy
11-16-2005, 08:39 AM
Hi Folks...
The bonehead mow-ron would be me. I LOVE playing PF, and I play a lot, but my system is pretty minimal... it's a new dell, one of those $399 specials. A Dell Dimension 2400, 512 mb RAM, with a 2.59 gHz celeron. It has the stock on-the-motherboard video, I think. The game runs okay, but nothing spectacular. I get the occasional freeze frame, etc.

I want to upgrade a little, but I'm not sure where the bucks would do the most good... more RAM, or a video card? I'm a little nervous about installing either, 'cause it took forever (it seemed) to get the program running. And I'm not good with Windows machines (I'm a Mac guy).

Can anyone suggest a somewhat low-end video card that's relatively easy to install and setup?

Or am I better off with more ram?

As always, thanks very much for your help, thoughts, and suggestions.

BG

ReligiousZealot
11-16-2005, 11:22 AM
Well, I can try to help seeing as I built my new rig for PF (pretty up there). I really don't know exactly what is better, but before I got my new rig I bought another 512 stick for my other computer and that seemed to boost performance for PF.

Your situation seems a bit different seeing as it sounds like you are just using onboard video (I don't know if the cheap Dell's ship with an actual video card and not one just built into the motherboard). So as far as I can recommend, both is better...but RAM is a lot easier to do. Pretty much, stick it in the slot (when the computer is off of course) and then turn on the computer and it should instantly recognize it. Just try to make sure its the same size RAM and preferably the same manufacturer as the other stick you have in there.