PDA

View Full Version : F6F Cockpit



cpirrmann
11-28-2004, 02:35 PM
I wanred to check on the F6F Instrument panel. I don't know if it was this way in original release, but I've noticed it since 3.01. There are two placarss. One below the compass and the other is below the airspeed indicator and they're both blank. I just wanted to check here to see if they were like that already before I mentioned it to the developers.

DarthBane_
11-28-2004, 04:18 PM
Ugly, i dont fly it. I dont fly meny planes due to ugly done cockpit. Pity.

Lethal_Hobo
11-28-2004, 04:41 PM
where do you guys learn about what the "proper" cockpit should look like? I feel like I'm an idiot for not being able to point out where gauges and switches are on any given plane!

cpirrmann
11-28-2004, 05:28 PM
well, ask a stupid question....I guess I'll have to find a place where I can get a serious answer to a serious question. BTW...the effort to make these cockpits is phenomenal and while not perfect, I've seen none better. And it doesn't take a 3000 hour pilot to recognize a blank grey rectangle in a rendered image.

MiszaNC
11-28-2004, 06:36 PM
I see the same in "my F6F" but I think it was theer even in 3.00, see: http://www.310thvfs.com/AC_Panels.php?cockpit=F6F

Fennec_P
11-28-2004, 06:52 PM
At least its not like that panel in the P40. He thought we couldn't see it there, behind the stick.

http://members.shaw.ca/fennec/warning.jpg

I hope it is not important...

I admit have done that too. For example, I wasn't sure what should go on the sides of the Ward life preserver, so I put whatever and didn't get back to it.

A.K.Davis
11-28-2004, 08:04 PM
lol!

http://members.shaw.ca/fennec/warning.jpg

Snootles
11-28-2004, 08:07 PM
Yeah, and the oxygen gauge on the Havoc says "OXIGENE". I'm glad I forget about those sorta things when I fly.

Zur
11-28-2004, 09:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cpirrmann:
I warned to check on the F6F Instrument panel. I don't know if it was this way in original release, but I've noticed it since 3.01. There are two placards. One below the compass and the other is below the airspeed indicator and they're both blank. I just wanted to check here to see if they were like that already before I mentioned it to the developers. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

... I left the placards blank with reason. I could not find complete calibration tables for the two instruments, and rather than fudge on them, I selected to leave them blank until such time that I could provide accurate ones.

Snootles
11-28-2004, 09:26 PM
Zur, you wouldn't happen to have worked on a certain high-quality F-86 model for Strike Fighters, would you have?

The_Ant
11-29-2004, 03:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fennec_P:
At least its not like that panel in the P40. He thought we couldn't see it there, behind the stick.

http://members.shaw.ca/fennec/warning.jpg

I hope it is not important...

I admit have done that too. For example, I wasn't sure what should go on the sides of the Ward life preserver, so I put whatever and didn't get back to it. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The P-40 classic sign.

It´s written i swedish Bajskorv = Turd or poop or whatever you english people call, sh1t that looks like sausage.

cpirrmann
11-29-2004, 05:01 AM
Thanks Zur, just wanted to make sure it wasn't the patches. I still think cockpit / airplane designer's do wonderful hard work.