PDA

View Full Version : PSU & new graphics card



Hurribomber
11-21-2004, 06:51 PM
Hi,

decided to upgrade to an AGP 6600GT.

However concerned about my PSU which is 250W maximum. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Can't replace it as that invalidates our extended warranty. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

So have I hit a brick wall or is it possible I might getaway with the 250W?

Cheers

Athlon XP2800
Onboard GF4-MX
120GB HD
1GB ram

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 06:56 PM
Well, having someone other than the people who made your PC put in a component like a graphics card will viod the warranty as well. Just replace the power supply and if something bad happens, put the old power supply back in the PC before having it serviced!

Hurribomber
11-21-2004, 07:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Well, having someone other than the people who made your PC put in a component like a graphics card will viod the warranty as well. Just replace the power supply and if something bad happens, put the old power supply back in the PC before having it serviced! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did think of that but after seeing all those wires going all over the place the thought of swapping them around is rather scary for a tech noob. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But looking on the web I get the impression 250W is distinctly low end for a PSU so it looks like I may have no choice. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Cheers

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 09:51 PM
Well, to begin with what brand of computer do you have?

Don't worry about most of the wires because they are bundled in such a way that few things can be pugged in incorrectly. The way I did it on my old Dell was to remove connectors from the old Dell power supply one by one and connecting the new power supply that way. Also, your local PC shop will do the job for a small fee.

The part that looks straight forward, but isn't is the wattage ratings of a given brand and model power supply. Some folks say just to look and see how much wattage is produced on each rail to get that power supplies true output where you need it. Unfortunately, most of the power supply manufacturers rate their products while running at 70 F and onlt the particular rail under load at that temperature. So, to end all the power supply confusion that I was having, I purchased this...

https://magnum-pc.securewebsiteserver.net/product_info.php?cPath=39_128&products_id=467

Even though it is PCI express ready, it will work in the older style boards and is built quite well and honestly reported on its true wattage capabilities under full load.

Hurribomber
11-21-2004, 10:28 PM
My PC is made by Time.

Not ideal but I'll have te get something modestly priced, I only bought a GIG of ram the other week & can't afford to spend very much, the 6600GT costs 150.

Cheers

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 10:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hurribomber:
My PC is made by Time.

Not ideal but I'll have te get something modestly priced, I only bought a GIG of ram the other week & can't afford to spend very much, the 6600GT costs 150.

Cheers <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, yes, 150 pictures of the Queen represents a good bit of money. Of course, frying the board and having to put out the Quid all over again won't do either now will it?! I'm telling you this as a friend who doesn't want to see you make the mistakes I've made.

Hurribomber
11-21-2004, 11:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Well, yes, 150 pictures of the Queen represents a good bit of money. Of course, frying the board and having to put out the Quid all over again won't do either now will it?! I'm telling you this as a friend who doesn't want to see you make the mistakes I've made.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I appreciate any advice because I haven't got a clue about PSU's.

Are you saying that lower priced PSU's can be so unreliable they could actually do some critical damage? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

clint-ruin
11-21-2004, 11:36 PM
You could always just plug in a whole new PSU just for your card and run the molex cables into it from outside the PC :>

Hurribomber
11-22-2004, 12:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
You could always just plug in a whole new PSU just for your card and run the molex cables into it from outside the PC :> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's an interesting thought because I could avoid risking the warranty if I bodge the installation of a new PSU. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

It may seem daft and a bit desperate but I rather like the idea. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Thanks Clint http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

clint-ruin
11-22-2004, 01:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hurribomber:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
You could always just plug in a whole new PSU just for your card and run the molex cables into it from outside the PC :> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's an interesting thought because I could avoid risking the warranty if I bodge the installation of a new PSU. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

It may seem daft and a bit desperate but I rather like the idea. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Thanks Clint http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It sounds a bit daft, but it's more common on larger servers to be running something to power your RAID and other gear seperately or at least to have a PSU to fall back on if one blows.

If you decide to go ahead with this, be aware that just getting any old PSU in there may not be enough. You need solid, next to no variation 12v coming down the molex[s] to power bigger cards these days - bog standard PSUs may not be able to do that even for a single device, depending on how they allocate their juice down the wires. Big PSUs in the 450-550 watt range are fairly cheap now so no excuses for compromising :>

If your warranty sticker is some kind of seal between the case itself and the PSU, there's nothing stopping you from keeping it where it is and replacing all the plugs to the board/fans/HDs with another PSU inside or outside the case.

Hurribomber
11-22-2004, 02:59 AM
Thanks for the advice Clint, I'll do some research on the web before I buy.

-HH-Quazi
11-22-2004, 09:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hurribomber:
Are you saying that lower priced PSU's can be so unreliable they could actually do some critical damage? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That is exactly what he means. Don't skimp on the PSU m8. There are several here that have in the past and have paid a hefty price for it, like fried PC parts. I'm sure if some of them happen to read this thread, they will let you know.