PDA

View Full Version : How is elevator trim adjusted in Real Aircraft?

XyZspineZyX
09-02-2003, 07:37 PM
Here is a question for any Real Life Pilots among us.
I have a Thrustmaster Cougar setup with a wheel-like control that I want to use for Elevator Trim in IL2-FB. To maximize the realism, I'd like it to work as much like a real airplane as possible.
It's my impression that real Prop planes use a wheel-like dial or control, with a horizontal axis that points side-to-side, so that the pilot adjusts trim by turning the (rear) rim of this wheel up or down.
If this is correct, can anyone with experience tell me WHICH DIRECTION this wheel turns to achieve nose-down trim? If not correct, feel free to set me straight.

Thanks in advance...

XyZspineZyX
09-02-2003, 07:37 PM
Here is a question for any Real Life Pilots among us.
I have a Thrustmaster Cougar setup with a wheel-like control that I want to use for Elevator Trim in IL2-FB. To maximize the realism, I'd like it to work as much like a real airplane as possible.
It's my impression that real Prop planes use a wheel-like dial or control, with a horizontal axis that points side-to-side, so that the pilot adjusts trim by turning the (rear) rim of this wheel up or down.
If this is correct, can anyone with experience tell me WHICH DIRECTION this wheel turns to achieve nose-down trim? If not correct, feel free to set me straight.

Thanks in advance...

XyZspineZyX
09-02-2003, 07:54 PM
Yes, it is a wheel like control but it is very stiff and requires a lot of turns to make a significant effect (Which is good, because often you don't want a significant effect)

Turning the wheel in a top-downwards direction will pitch the nose down, and vice versa.

XyZspineZyX
09-02-2003, 07:56 PM
in a cessna, turning the wheel up will give nose down trim.
you got everything right, methinks /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-02-2003, 07:59 PM
It depends on the plane, but generally speaking: