PDA

View Full Version : CONFIG setting question



Phobia337
01-24-2008, 10:14 AM
Hey guys

I am trying to get the best graphics out of the game and since I am new to this place and IL-1946 I am little unaware of some thing in the CONFIG for the graphics. OK here goes, Is this the best possible graphics I can muster out of the config file?

Visibility Distance = 2
Texquality = 3
texmipfiler = 2
texcompress = 0
Hardware shaders = 1 (perfect mode does what?)
Shadows = 1 or 2 (not sure on this one)
Specular = 2
Spec light = 2
Difflight = 2
Dynamicallight = 2

Sky = 2
Forest = 2
LandGeom = 2
Land shading = 3
Land detail = 2
Texlarge = 2
texland quality = 3
Water = 4
Effects = 2

Typeclouds = 1

Is this the best possible setting for IL-2 1946 or is there something you all see in this setup that could be fixed to be better or is flat out wrong?

Any help on this would really be helpful. After looking through the high resolution screen sticky I saw some amazing graphics in there.

THANKS GUYS
PHOBIA

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 10:50 AM
No one can help me out????

BrewsterPilot
01-24-2008, 10:57 AM
Originally posted by Phobia337:
No one can help me out????

In 36 minutes? This is a forum, not a chat room... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway. To know whether or not those are the best settings for you, knowing your computer's specifications would be helpful.
Also, have a look HERE (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&cat=7), and experiment. Try to at first set everything to max and see how it runs, then if you experience FPS problems start lowering settings. THIS (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&cat=35) might also come in handy.

Zoom2136
01-24-2008, 11:30 AM
You can look up Coasties guide... its details how to get the most out of ATI cards... in term of image quality and FPS...

Crash_Moses
01-24-2008, 11:42 AM
Here's the link to Coastie's guide. It's dated 2004 however so I'm not sure how current it is.

http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&op=show&kid=305

If you click on the 'select an article' button there are some articles related to Nvidia 6600 and 6800 cards. Mission4today has some great resources.

Also, someone over in the Technical Support (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x?a=frm&s=400102&f=49310655) forum might be able to help. A lot of the more technical minded folks hang out there to answer questions.

S!

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 12:07 PM
My system is plenty good enough. 7950GT is my video card.

My question was more along the lines of what would be the maxed out settings that can be applied in the CONFIG file.

I read everything on NVIDIA cards and all the CONFIG files stuff but It is kinda vague on some things.

So I was asking for instance

Is shadow = 2 maxed or can it go 3 or 4 like water?

BUT thanks guys.
PHOBIA

Uufflakke
01-24-2008, 12:23 PM
Try Luckyboy's Guide: it covers most of the points we want to know about playing IL-2 at decent framerates.
It is not about your conf.ini settings but about optimizing your PC especially for IL-2.

Talking about games, a flightsim demands the most of your computer and you have to find the right balance between performance and quality.
It all depends on your computer like your videocard, RAM, CPU etcetera. With the best settings you will notice it drops down the fps so you have to find out for yourself if it is at an acceptable rate or not. We all went through that as you can see when you search at this forum or other forums.

Oh and don't forget to make a copy of the original conf.ini before experimenting with it.


Luckyboy's Guide:

http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/luckyboys_guide.htm

Ahd here some more helpful info from Mission4Today:

http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Knowledge_Base&op=show&kid=27

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 12:43 PM
running the game is fine. With these CONFIG settings I am getting like 160 FPS. I am thinking this is pretty close to maxed out.

I was just seeing what else I can max out some more. I got a private message and I found out FOREST can be put at = 3. So that is one more thing I can bump up.

I did not post my system specs because I am running plenty plenty enough FPS to jack anything else I can find to improve on and still be way over the 60 FPS mark.

So as far as tweeking a syste, benchmarks, and all that goodness, I am fine with. I build gaming systems so it is not my first spin around a system. My main concern was what number maxs out each field in the CONFIG.

Example: If I wanted the maxed out forest. Which number is max, 3? or 4? or 20?

If I wanted max out draw distance, what do I set visibilitydistance to? 2? 3? 4? ect

Sorry for the misunderstanding. Maybe no one knows. I just assumed since the game has been out for so long that people knew the maxing of the config file. That was my fault for assuming.

Sorry guys and thanks again
PHOBIA

dieg777
01-24-2008, 01:01 PM
most settings are listed in the config guide on mission4today or in the manual or readmes that came with the game - they are usually 1 =on or 0=off

some like visabilitydistance are set by what you select in the video options screen in the game so if you have everything on max ( excellent, high etc) and running perfect then thats the max you can do

apart for water=4 I believe max on any others like forest effects etc is 3 - any higher makes no difference

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 01:11 PM
Originally posted by dieg777:
most settings are listed in the config guide on mission4today or in the readmes that came tith the game - they are usually 1 =on or 0=off

some like visabilitydistance are set by what you select in the video options screen in the game so if you have everything on max ( excellent, high etc) and running perfect then thats the max you can do

apart for water=4 I believe max on any others like forest effects etc is 3 - any higher makes no difference

Just the answer I am looking for. I knew most 1/0 =ON/OFF but I knew things such as water, forest, sky, landshading, ect could be adjusted higher and wanted to know those limits.

Ok so 3 is the ticket then.

ALSO I read about the 7xxx series having problems with the old 84-96 Nvidia drivers given black rings in the water on water higher than 2.

Well I am pretty postive I am higher than the 96 series. I think I am at the 152 drivers. I am at work right now so I can't tell, but I set water to 4 and I am getting the black ring.

Do yall know if the 163.21 drivers released DEC 2007 should fix this?

Thanks Guys
PHOBIA

BrewsterPilot
01-24-2008, 01:15 PM
Originally posted by Phobia337:
Sorry for the misunderstanding. Maybe no one knows. I just assumed since the game has been out for so long that people knew the maxing of the config file. That was my fault for assuming.


If you actually would have clicked the first link I posted earlier, you'd have found a conf.ini guide from Mission4Today. In there were listed the max values for each setting. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Have you ensured that your "Landscape Detail" in your in-game video options is set to 'Perfect'?

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 01:24 PM
I read the guide and it is not perfectly clear on each item.

Now as far as the perfect mode. I enabled Hardware shaders =1. I went into my video options but I don't see a perfect option. Which is confussing me.

Also I am not seeing TYPECLOUDS in the [game] section!!!! Does it have to be type in????

Thanks guys
PHOBIA

BrewsterPilot
01-24-2008, 01:42 PM
OK, I'll return to your other questions in a while, but here's how to enable perfect mode.

In your IL2 Setup (named setup.exe in the main IL2 folder) ensure that the "Provider" is set to "OpenGL" and that "Stencil Buffer" is checked.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/Hurricane_320/Untitled-1.jpg

To enable Perfect mode:

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/Hurricane_320/il2fb-2008-01-24-15-30-36-67.jpg

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/Hurricane_320/il2fb-2008-01-24-15-30-39-13.jpg

Then select 'Perfect' and click Apply:
http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/Hurricane_320/il2fb-2008-01-24-15-30-43-89.jpg

-Brewster

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 02:01 PM
OHHHH ok, I thought all the video setting would have the perfect setting. I never made it down to landscape detail cause the top ones only had excellent and high so I thought something was not set right.

I knew about having to have OPENGL and stencil buffer checked but I did not know perfect is only in LANDSCAPE.

THANKS ALOT MAN!!!!
PHOBIA

BrewsterPilot
01-24-2008, 02:09 PM
You're very welcome! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Phobia337
01-24-2008, 02:50 PM
Any idea on the TYPECLOUDS not being in the [GAME] section of the config?

Sun_Ra
01-24-2008, 03:13 PM
For the typelcouds you need to enter the line in the proper place in the config. Check the readme in the game folder, I think they covered that.

Urufu_Shinjiro
01-24-2008, 03:18 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif By default it is set to =1, meaning the new clouds that were introduced somewhere along the way. It is not neccessary to have the line unless you want to use the older clouds, then add it to =0. This setting is also overridden by the server when online so all is consistant.

Uufflakke
01-25-2008, 06:00 AM
ALSO I read about the 7xxx series having problems with the old 84-96 Nvidia drivers given black rings in the water on water higher than 2.

Well I am pretty postive I am higher than the 96 series. I think I am at the 152 drivers. I am at work right now so I can't tell, but I set water to 4 and I am getting the black ring.

Do yall know if the 163.21 drivers released DEC 2007 should fix this?

<span class="ev_code_GREEN">===============================</span>

I had the same problems with the infamous black rings on the water. About six weeks ago I bought a 7600GS and set water=4 and yes...black rings! So I installed the latest driver version of December 2007 and they disappeared.
So if I were you I should do the same to get rid of those black rings.

Phobia337
01-25-2008, 07:14 AM
Originally posted by Uufflakke:
ALSO I read about the 7xxx series having problems with the old 84-96 Nvidia drivers given black rings in the water on water higher than 2.

Well I am pretty postive I am higher than the 96 series. I think I am at the 152 drivers. I am at work right now so I can't tell, but I set water to 4 and I am getting the black ring.

Do yall know if the 163.21 drivers released DEC 2007 should fix this?

<span class="ev_code_GREEN">===============================</span>

I had the same problems with the infamous black rings on the water. About six weeks ago I bought a 7600GS and set water=4 and yes...black rings! So I installed the latest driver version of December 2007 and they disappeared.
So if I were you I should do the same to get rid of those black rings.

THANKS BRO!!! I am going to put the newest ones in tonight.

Later guys
PHOBIA

Chris0382
01-25-2008, 08:40 AM
Now how about AA and AF. Is that application controlled ( I dont see them in the setup menu) or does he have to go into the NVIDIA CP and manually set those to highest possible for his card.