PDA

View Full Version : Another "Newguys" take on SH III

Dingzoom
11-06-2005, 07:30 AM
I bought SH III when it first came out but my frame of mind wasn't ready for such a slow game at that time.

Last week I was ready to giver er a-go...sooo, I started playing the "training" scenarios.

I've been trying my best to learn the games aspects but, I really didn't get much of an understanding until yesterday from 0500 through 2330 when I ended up on the final training segment of attacking a convoy.

I didn't do to well from the get-go & only got one ship damaged & then I spent an actual 3 hours trying to get away from that pesky destroyer. He just went around in 30 knot circles while I just poked along at 3 kts or "all stop" after around 2 hours of this I started to get that "man, this is boring" feeling again....Then...I finely got far enough away that he finely returned to trailing the convoy & I was finely able to surface... However, then my sub just quit running & I found a bunch of my crew with "red marks by them so I thought that maybe they were tired, so I started swapping them out for rest (I guess this is what your suppose to do?)

Anyway, I went by and ahead of the convoy (always keeping that danged destroyers smoke funnel in site while he trailed the convoy)..

By now it was dark & I noticed that the destroyer had gotten behind & on my side of the convoy so I went to the far side & just turned & set up for a shot on the first "really big" merchant.

I sat there for an hour while they steamed my way. I started thinking "****ed...this isn't going to work...to much time (actual) spent waiting)...bummer...

THEN! ****! A search light came on and started sweeping the water & heading right for me...I didn't have time to think about escaping...he had me cold turkey & I was dead meat...