PDA

View Full Version : Widescreen issue not an issue, sry...



Scragbat
04-26-2007, 12:46 PM
***Edit***
This problem (if it even existed) seems to have disappeared...
***Edit***


I just gave myself a payday treat! A Xerox 22" widescreen TFT (XM3-22WB) @ 1680x1050, 5ms and I am well chuffed http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

It looks astonishing with everything and with IL2 in particular. After editing the conf.ini file to get full res and use every glorious pixel, there is just so much more to see now. A widescreen window for the cockpit view has a much better feel than a square one. It's like I'm flying in a movie!

Anyway, enough gushing. I'll get to the point!

As many of you know, when editing conf.ini to force a non standard IL2 resolution, not all the graphic effects outside the original aspect (where the black borders should be) gets rendered . Specifically mist/fog or hazy light. It's just not there, although everything else is.

Did anyone ever find a way around this issue? Can lowering lighting effects lessen the effect or even get rid of it? I would sacrifice full effects to get rid of this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks
Scrag...

PS. For some reason the 'find' function isn't working for me at work (it usually does). I'm using a Mac with OS 9 and a browser you've never heard of! Might have something to do with it!

crazyivan1970
04-26-2007, 12:53 PM
As many of you know, when editing conf.ini to force a non standard IL2 resolution, not all the graphic effects outside the original aspect (where the black borders should be) gets rendered . Specifically mist/fog or hazy light. It's just not there, although everything else is.


Interesting... i dont get any of this with wide screen...hmmm

Scragbat
04-26-2007, 01:11 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
Interesting... i dont get any of this with wide screen...hmmm

Is that with a non-standard conf.ini edited IL2 res such as 1680x1050? I don't get it with standard game resolution but the screen gets stretched and looks bad. It only happens when the res is set beyond the original hard coded aspect.

Try flying into the sun and see if the light haze spills into the edges of the screen. It doesn't for me.

There was a thread somewhere with screenies of this 'bug' but I can't search for it unfortunatley (not till I get home anyway).

crazyivan1970
04-26-2007, 01:40 PM
I understand what you saying... but as fas as i remember... and it was no later then yesterday i flew last time, i dont recall such anomaly. I will check again tonight. The only negative aspect of hacking wide screen res into conf.ini is a loss of instrument panel on some planes.

Scragbat
04-26-2007, 02:02 PM
I'm probably being a bit picky. This game wasn't originally intended for WS and it's only by the little conf.ini hack/tweak that we can have WS.

As for this lighting effect issue... well... it probably won't pop up that often in fairness. Only when flying into the sun or flying on the deck with mist on a server with poorer weather conditions set (hazy and above).

I will however post a screenie when I get home and try and find the original thread I spoke of and link to it.

Cheers Ivan http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Capt.LoneRanger
04-26-2007, 02:39 PM
And you're sure you set save aspect to "0" ?

VMF-214_HaVoK
04-26-2007, 02:59 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">As many of you know, when editing conf.ini to force a non standard IL2 resolution, not all the graphic effects outside the original aspect (where the black borders should be) gets rendered . Specifically mist/fog or hazy light. It's just not there, although everything else is.


Interesting... i dont get any of this with wide screen...hmmm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Im running 1680x1050 and I dont get it either.

crazyivan1970
04-26-2007, 03:14 PM
conf.ini file as follows:

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0



20.1" 8ms Acer

Scragbat
04-26-2007, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
conf.ini file as follows:

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0


That's exactly the setting I'm using! SaveAspect=0 set and same res...

Guys I may be going mad!

I'm sure I saw the effect I spoke of this morning. I have only had the monitor a day. Maybe I am mistaken. I will try and replicate the conditions when I get home and post a screenshot, or I will be back to tell you all that I am indeed bonkers and imagined the whole thing... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

In hindsight I should've posted this in Community help, soz...

Bear with me...

crazyivan1970
04-26-2007, 03:30 PM
In the same time, Scragbat, i might be saying it wrong too... maybe i just dont pay attention. But i will deffinitely check tonight and post screens.

Taylortony
04-26-2007, 03:33 PM
22 inch Iiyama here

The Mustang stretched to fit the screen starts to take on the feel of a Gynocologists chair, those stirrups are spread sooo far apart without the config tweak........

Not that I have tried a Gynocologists chair before, Bearcat told me. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

TooTubular
04-26-2007, 06:20 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif How do you guys see planes at 1680x1050? I have a 22" widescreen and I had to set it to 1440x900 to see something larger than microscopic.

crazyivan1970
04-26-2007, 07:11 PM
Actually i have no problems seeing planes from 5k alt while they are on the deck. Maybe video settings.... i dont know.

Taylortony
04-26-2007, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by tootubular:
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif How do you guys see planes at 1680x1050? I have a 22" widescreen and I had to set it to 1440x900 to see something larger than microscopic.

Go into the game folder on your PC if you did a standard install it will be located something like this

C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946

or similar dependant on which version you have.

in there look for a file called CONF

oprn that with the likes of notepad, scroll down the list till you see these

width=1440
height=900
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0



and change them to read ( width, Height and save aspect)

width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

then resave the conf file


this is out of the games normal setting but now intead of having a stretched cockpit it will fill the screen in a normal shape but will have simply zoomed in a bit to allow the cockpit to look correct and fill the screen, do not worry about the loading screens being smaller the game will be the same.

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif hope that helps explain it.

leitmotiv
04-26-2007, 07:24 PM
I'm using a 21" Sony 2004, and have never had any trouble.

SeaVee
04-26-2007, 08:43 PM
42" Westinghouse 1080P at 1920X1080 - none of the issues you describe except I can't move the in-flight map off to the side beyond what would be a 4X3 ratio.

BTW, does anyone know if SOW-BoB will fully support widescreen monitors (I'd be shocked if not)?

Also does anyone know if Oleg has plans to allow for a little wider FOV than the max we have in Il2? 110 or at least 100 FOV would be nice - especially with widescreen obviously on the way to becoming the dominant format....

ComradeBadinov
04-26-2007, 09:38 PM
I have a Gateway FPD2485W, 1080p native resolution 1920x1200, 6ms response time. I use IL-2 Stab to set my game resolution, the graphics tab lets you "Click to add" a custom resolution, remember to start the game from the Stab Gui, that way the settings will stick. Depending on your Graphics card and drivers you are using, you may want to check your Control Panel settings for "Flat Panel Scaling. I have mine set to "Use NVIDIA scaling" You can use that or "Use my displays built-in scaling", and see what happens, Last ditch solution is to return your monitor for another one.

piper_
04-26-2007, 10:31 PM
Hi,

I have a 22" ws@1680x1050, and like many others do not have such issues, (only slight top & bottom FOV loss), what you describe was the case in an earlier than 4.08 version of the game, what version are you running? I'm sure there was a thread about this that might help.

Regarding aircraft spotting? at this res I find everything sharp n crispy, RL is much more difficult.

Regards & good luck, piper

Scragbat
04-27-2007, 01:05 AM
Guys...

My apologies. I must have imagined it. I cannot replicate the effect. If it happened, it's certainly not happening now!

Sorry for wasting your time http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

crazyivan1970
04-27-2007, 09:46 AM
Glad it all worked out for you http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Bearcat99
04-27-2007, 10:15 AM
Dagnabbit... and here I had decided to save the dough and hold off on getting a widescreen LCD to replace my perfectly good 19" Samsung CRT... now I am getting the itch again..... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

crazyivan1970
04-27-2007, 10:33 AM
do it BC http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

willyvic
04-27-2007, 11:57 AM
An alternate view:

Keep the CRT BC. I have yet to find an LCD that will match the Color, depth, and crispness of my Samsung (also a 19in). Pump your Sammy up to 1920x1440 for some real eye candy.

So I say keep it till it fries. By then the prices may drop and the technology may improve.

An unsolicited opinion,
WV

crazyivan1970
04-27-2007, 12:01 PM
I donno willy.... I had Sony 21" CRT Trinitorn with flatscreen surface, which i thought was the best thing since sliced bread. Until i got 20.1" widescreen Acer and learned that Sony looks pretty pale comparing to it. On thing i didnt realize... that vertical size of 20" WS monitor = vertical size of 17" one. So it came out noticable smaller then Sony. I regret not getting 24" WS Acer instead http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

willyvic
04-27-2007, 12:21 PM
I know some swear by them but I just haven't come across the one that steps up and hits me between the eyes with its view or performance (and doesn't empty the wallet).

I guess I'm just an old curmudgeon, tight with my pennies, when it comes replacing something that works quite well. I know I will be in the widescreen LCD arena when this old thing cr*ps out on me one day. I'm just hangin in there till then.

I am sincerely glad that you are pleased with an LCD and hope that BC is also pleased with whatever he decides to do.

WV



WV