PDA

View Full Version : I'll nip this thing in the butt yet (now with photos)



TooFastForLove.
05-11-2005, 11:00 AM
Ok, patched with 1.3 and still can't load a save during a campaign mission. The pics are small but its hard to get any decent hosting for free. The save file in pic on I belive if you notice appears to be a bunch of jibberish. Take a look at the others and notice that they are saved to "my documents." I checked and sure enough at C:\My Documents\SH3\data\users\Costanza...blah blah blah. Thats where its putting the save files. I have SH3 installed on G:\. Is it supposed to save the game in my documents? That makes no sense to me. Would anyone know why its doing that and/or how I can fix it. I would really like to be able to play in campaign mode again, especailly since I don't have several hours in a row to play anymore.

1st pic (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v453/Cybrid/SH3Img11-5-2005_12.bmp)

Pic 2 (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v453/Cybrid/SH3-Img11-5-2005_12.bmp)

pic 3 (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v453/Cybrid/SH3Img111-5-2005_12.bmp)

pic 4 (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v453/Cybrid/SH3Img211-5-2005_12.bmp)

Frederf221
05-11-2005, 12:25 PM
"Ok, patched with 1.3 and still can't load a save during a campaign mission."

I hope you patched while in base, not during a patrol.

"Is it supposed to save the game in my documents? That makes no sense to me. Would anyone know why its doing that and/or how I can fix it."

Yes, it is supposed to save your games in my documents. It makes sense because otherwise, SHIII would break if you tried to play it with a different windows user (overwriting saves, ect). This is on purpose and by design.... MANY GAMES DO IT because they have to. If you ever managed to "fix" it you'd create a ton of possible errors. That and I know no way of modding where it saves files (registry perhaps?).

As for being unable to load mid campaign, that's a tough one.

TIP ABOUT IMAGE HOSTING: You have hosted bitmap images (something.bmp) Bitmaps are very inefficient for the web!! They are near 0 compression and are very big file-size for their physical size (pixel by pixel). Try to convert those bmps into .JPG or even .GIF and see how much bigger you can make them without being too big filesize!

The_Third_Half
05-11-2005, 12:26 PM
Did you return to base and install the patch between missions ?
Because if you didn't head the BIG WARNING : then ya it's gonna keep crashing.

longam
05-11-2005, 12:33 PM
I wonder if it is trying to save using the root of drive G. Have you tried installing the game on C: ? Wild guess, but I have seen programs that like to be on the C partition.

TooFastForLove.
05-11-2005, 05:48 PM
I patched while in base and this has always been a problem no matter what patch I'm on. Same **** message "Error while loading saved game." I've ever tried re-installing to no avail up to patch 1.2.

My last hope. I've been running the game in Windows 98. I think I should try installing it in XP. Nobody seems to have a logical explanation for this problem and I guess theres nothing else I can do.

Installing on C:\ may be a possibility. This is my old mans computer however as mine doesn't have a DVD drive. He uses C:\ for basically any programs but games. I'll try to re-instal on XP and update everyone of the success (or lack there of)

Lovo_Kasistan
05-11-2005, 05:54 PM
Convert your files to jpg and try to use Imageshack (http://www.imageshack.us/) or Freefilehosting (http://freefilehosting.net/).

TooFastForLove.
05-12-2005, 04:01 PM
Thanks for the help trying to help anyone. I installed it in XP and it works now. Guess it just isn't meant to run in '98? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif