PDA

View Full Version : Licensing issues with A/C manufatures

BSS_Vidar
05-11-2005, 08:58 PM
S! all,

The problem Ubisof and 1C about licensing was hard felt in our small community, but even harder in the Plastic Scale Modeling industry. I am an avid modeler and have joined the croud in stomping this problem out at its source. Mr Paul Bower is a well know modeler in IPMS (International Plastic Modelers Society) and is definatly using his influence to stop this problem in the scale modeling community. The success of his "and other" actions will also reflect on my other great pass time of PC Flight Simming. Here is his letter to all Plastic Modelers. I think you'll find it speaks to Simmers as well.

BSS_Vidar
Blacksheep 1

My name is Paul Bauer, and I serve on Congressman Andrews' staff. As you may be aware, Congressman Andrews has been working in support of the modeling industry in an effort to prevent contractors from requiring
licensing and fees for the use of military designs and likenesses. He is planning to offer the attached amendment to the Defense Authorization bill during a markup next week, Wednesday, May 18th, to address this issue.

Again, this amendment would require the Department of Defense to include a provision in their contracts with all defense contractors prohibiting them from requiring licenses and fees from model manufacturers, distributors, or
sellers. Since these vehicles are manufactured at taxpayer expense, and the designations are assigned by the US military, we do not feel that the contractors should be able to require payment for their use, especially in
instances such as these where it has an adverse effect on domestic small businesses.