PDA

View Full Version : SecuROM Issues???



VF2_Sarge
12-11-2006, 08:34 PM
Gents (and ladies)

Looking for any one who has had issues with SecuROM yet. I just purchase a new pc and don't want it to wreak havoc on it like some other copywrite protect software (I won't name any names by their initals are SF). So I have cancelled my order and I think I am gonna wait out the storm ont his one. I am US Navy kinda pilot so no big loss for me any way.

P.S. THIS IS NOT A POST TO CRY ABOUT COPYWRITE PROTECTION. JUST WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ABOUT ANY KNOWN ISSUES SO THEY CAN BE POSTED FOR THE GREATER GOOD OF THE GROUP.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

VF2 Rippers (http://groups.msn.com/VF2FightingTwo/homeporttest.msnw)
Executive Officer

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/3817/vf2ut8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

A man's country is not a certain area of land, of mountains, rivers, and woods, but it is a principle and patriotism is loyalty to that principle.
George William Curtis

LEBillfish
12-11-2006, 09:31 PM
I don't see how it could, posted this earlier today....

So I take a whopping 2 minutes and check out their site for "customers"...Like <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">Ubi[/b] would be, not us. Basically, from all I can find there and "anywhere" else is quite simple;

1. You start up IL2
2. Il2 performs a secuRom routine to check for deliberate flaw (blank spots) spacing upon the DVD....If it finds them in place, it moves onto 3. If it does not (as disks normally write the blank spots to the end of the disk) then it simply assumes it being the wrong disk and asks for the right one.
3. IL2 starts up and you play.
the end.....

More so, it states CLEARLY that "all disks are the same".....Meaning, no special keys

dwieser
12-11-2006, 09:50 PM
i still cant play just cause because of securom
and its because all i have is a dvd cd burner and it doesnt like burners but if you have just a player it should play<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

P4 3g
9800xt
trackir2

|ZUTI|
12-11-2006, 10:15 PM
I have 0 problems with sturmovik 1946. None. Performance seems even better than with Pe2 only. I am amazed.

Specs:
AMD 3700+
GF 6600GT
2GB Ram
Windows XP

Feathered_IV
12-11-2006, 11:41 PM
Thanks K2, I've been away a few days and missed out on all the latest panic. I was wondering what was going on http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Sounds like a clever solution to the protection issue.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

***********************************************

http://server2.uploadit.org/files/Feathered-sigpic.jpg

"Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely. He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."

LEBillfish
12-12-2006, 01:46 AM
Originally posted by Feathered_IV:
Thanks K2, I've been ......

Thanks for using my name http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<span class="ev_code_BLACK">"Does this make my Hien look big?"
"I love my Ha-40's"
"She loves teh Swallow"
"Don't call me cho-cho san"
</span>

joeap
12-12-2006, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by dwieser:
i still cant play just cause because of securom
and its because all i have is a dvd cd burner and it doesnt like burners but if you have just a player it should play
Not so, I have a DVD burner and it works just fine. Sorry you have problems.

F19_Orheim
12-12-2006, 05:39 AM
no worries.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/f19orheim_banner3.jpg (http://www.f19vs.se)
http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/03.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/zero_beached_big.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/04.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/p47_stranded.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/05.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/attack_on_akagi_final.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/06.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/stuka_norweig_1600x1200.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/07.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/attack_on_akagi_2.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/08.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/attack_on_akagi_3.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/09.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/attack_on_akagi_4.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/10.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/attack_on_akagi_5.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/11.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/ssp2_orheim.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/12.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/SSP_orheim_safonov.JPG)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/13.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/orheim_dowdings_heros_new.jpg)
http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/14.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/orheim_enemies_of_old.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/15.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/orheim_LOS.jpg)http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/16.jpg (http://f19vs.se/pics/orheim/F19_Orheim_The_Forgotten_Few.jpg)
_________________
"Sine pennis volare hau facilest: meae alea pennas non habent."
F19 Virtual Squadron (http://www.f19vs.se), The Squadron that gave you the J8A

VF2_Sarge
12-12-2006, 06:39 AM
I understand the need for copy write protection. Not saying it a bad thing. But, I have been looking around to find issues before I buy 1946, since there are other games like FEAR that already use SecuROM. There have been issues with pcs that have emulation software on them and since programs line Nero, Clone cd/dvd, and InCD are considered emulation programs does it disable them (in any way), do I have to unistall them before I install '46? Do I have to remove and RW drives before I install? If so I don't think it is going to be worth the $40 to buy it.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

VF2 Rippers (http://groups.msn.com/VF2FightingTwo/homeporttest.msnw)
Executive Officer

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/3817/vf2ut8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

A man's country is not a certain area of land, of mountains, rivers, and woods, but it is a principle and patriotism is loyalty to that principle.
George William Curtis

LEBillfish
12-12-2006, 08:30 AM
Sarge, you're missing the point.....It does NOT check for DVD burners and the like on your system. It simply has a script in the program (in this case IL2) that says "before it will run check for the spaces on the DVD"....

NOT check to see what software you have on your PC
NOT check to see if you have a DVD burner (which is silly as most folks have CD/DVD burners 3.5 floppies out the window)
NOT check to see if you have altered anything
NOT calling back to the mothership for approval
NOT etc. etc. etc.

However it's up to you, don't buy it......Yet don't say it's something it's not.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<span class="ev_code_BLACK">"Does this make my Hien look big?"
"I love my Ha-40's"
"She loves teh Swallow"
"Don't call me cho-cho san"
</span>

JG52Uther
12-12-2006, 09:21 AM
NOT check to see what software you have on your PC
Sorry thats not correct.Lots of people are having problems because SecureRom throws a hissy fit and refuses to start the game if Nero/Deamon etc is detected.I dont get the DVD until later this week so dont know how it will react on my system yet,but dont assume that some are not having problems,because they are.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v299/JG52Uther/Uther_Do17_3.jpg http://www.geocities.com/jg52thebutcherbirds/
2.(K)/JG52 -(Bombergroup)

turbografx16
12-12-2006, 09:44 AM
Yeah, I couldn't get mine to install with Daemon Tools or PowerISO running either. Just had to turn hem off though when I want to install/play.

Chuck_Older
12-12-2006, 10:32 AM
In my experience, a lot of times with software, the users "know" that a particular thing is causing a problem but they are mistaken

For instance- I have the dreaded and feared Starforce on my PC. I also have no problems using anything on the PC and have no problems whatsoever running any software I like at any time. I was told at the time (last year?)- just wait, you'll have problems. Well no I did not have problems. I think most users feel that on one hand, these things aren't even tested, and on the other, software companies can plan for every single BIOS, OS, software and hardware combo under the sun

There's been very helpful people here for any problem that arrives- like Coastie

If there was a problem he couldn't solve or at least explain the reasons for, I haven't seen it. Software companies do what they do and there's no stopping them. Online rants, online petitions, e-mails...not going to work. The community's been able to solve these problems in the vast number of cases. Cancelling an order because of reports of other people having trouble is fine, but what if you were to read comments by everyone who has no trouble, Sarge? of course, you never get to, because these people don't make 12 posts a minute about how the game works fine

All you've been able to do is read the negative, and then you've based you choice on that it seems. I think you're giving yourself literally half a chance<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Jimmychamp.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

NHawk52
12-12-2006, 10:48 AM
No worries here. I have a few other games and sims that utilize Securom. In fact, for one particular older sim (no longer available at retail) I implement Daemon Tools' virtual drive to preserve the original CD. I have never experienced problems of any type caused by the Securom versions of those games and sims.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Airwarfare (http://www.airwarfare.com/) - FAQ (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm) - AW Forums (http://www.airwarfare.com/phpBB2/index.php) - M4T (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php)

ElAurens
12-12-2006, 11:09 AM
I regularly play GTR2, which uses securom, and have no issues of any kind. Had no trouble with starforce or boonty either.

Looking forward to my Ki27.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

_____________________________

http://www.blitzpigs.com/photos/ELsKi.jpg

"To explain the lure of speed you would have to explain human nature" - T.E. Lawrence

VF2_Sarge
12-12-2006, 11:38 AM
Lebillfish...I do get the point..ok and I understand what you're saying. I am just asking to see if any one is having any problems. Simple answers to a very simply question.

I am not here to raise the question of whether or not we should have copy write protection or on the basic operations of that copy protection software. Either way I really don't care. I like many other posters here, have questions and would sensable answers instead of degradements.

Chuck...Like you I also have software that has been protected by Starforce and have had no issues with it, on this computer; there is a reason why I have a new computer but I am getting into that here. But I am posting for the good of the group in order to answer any questions that people may have. If 100 people post here and the majority of the people say that they are not having any issues well then what can we say at that point. I am not here to drag SecuROM through the gaunlet, I just would like some intelligent information from people who already have installed the game.

Is that to much to ask for? That way I can make an educated decision on whether or not to purchase the game. Believe me I would like to purchase the game and I preordered it before I knew about SecuROM, I would just like information about it before I purchase it. I do have my concerms about copywrite protect, becaue IMO I have a legitiment reason. I am not saying that it is a bad thing, I believe that people should be paid for there hard work and effort and if copywrite protection is the only way to achieve that, then so be it.

Would you purchase a movie, book, or any other game if you didn't know what it was about, what was in it? I would think not.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

VF2 Rippers (http://groups.msn.com/VF2FightingTwo/homeporttest.msnw)
Executive Officer

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/3817/vf2ut8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

A man's country is not a certain area of land, of mountains, rivers, and woods, but it is a principle and patriotism is loyalty to that principle.
George William Curtis

knightflyte
12-12-2006, 12:02 PM
I think a good going over in the forums will reveal there are a lot of folks already enjoying the '46 add on. If there were issues or hinderences to playing then I think we'd have a lot of posts concerning that. The fact that there aren't a lot of unsatisfied posts on the <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">UBI[/b] forum shows me that Securom is a non issue. (Notwithstanding your personal needs, Sarge.) There are posts concerning the Me 163, but very few if any posts reporting securom problems. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

The furor over at Sim HQ was just that. A furor.

I'm probably out of line, but I had the distinct impression that the issue at Sim HQ WASN'T about the game not playing correctly, but a tirade against copy protection, and it's percieved evils.

I've several games loaded on my computer that use Securom CP, and none of them have issues.

One game (after I was done playing it) I loaned to my dad, figuring he might enjoy it too. He was always able to play the game, but it took longer to check than on my computer.

If you are concerned with securom on your computer, and you NEED to have a 'clean computer' then I can appreciate your need to cancel the '46 preorder. I just hope that a few fanatical posters didn't sway your opinion, when there are so many playing without incident.

FoolTrottel
12-12-2006, 01:11 PM
I am just asking to see if any one is having any problems.

Sure, but, according to SecuRom Support, my problem is not a SecuRom issue http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Problem is: The game disk cannot be read by my SONY DVD-RW/DL DRU-700A drive.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/FtMoon.jpg
(Multicontrollered pIL2ots in need of tuning sensitivity settings:IL2-Sticks (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=332)
might come in handy, IL2 Joy Control (By Oleg_BS) (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=1021) can even be more usefull!)

mrsiCkstar
12-12-2006, 01:32 PM
no problems for me<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.no.net/jonmarja/images/f4usig.jpg

UlrichHackl
12-12-2006, 03:21 PM
Actually I ran into the same problem with Battlefield 2142 & found out theres actually a safedisc/securom update that you can download & it should solve most issues. I forget where I downloaded it but I found a safedisc.exe patcher I think if you take a look at the BF2142 forums you should find a link. I will try & find it again for you.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

-Ulrich Hackl

System Specs:
AMD64 X2 4400+ 2.2Ghz Toledo (Pin 939)
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
2gb Dual Channel Corsair XMS DDR400 (PC3200)
BFG 7800GT (PCI-E)
Creative X-Fi Music
Logitech Z-5500 505 watt
2x Samsung SATA 300gb HDD
2x Samsung SATA SH-S183L
Hiper Type-R 580w Power Supply
Thermaltake Xaser III
Gateway 21" FPD2185W LCD

Freelancer-1
12-13-2006, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by FoolTrottel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I am just asking to see if any one is having any problems.

Sure, but, according to SecuRom Support, my problem is not a SecuRom issue http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Problem is: The game disk cannot be read by my SONY DVD-RW/DL DRU-700A drive. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

What cruel irony!!

But typically corporate that a SONY player can't run a SONY copy protection.

I almost fell off my chair http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Thanks for the chuckle<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/Freelancer1/Misc/SIG-AVG.gif

Feathered_IV
12-14-2006, 05:38 PM
Works great here too. In my burner and my regular drive.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

***********************************************

http://server2.uploadit.org/files/Feathered-sigpic.jpg

"Intelligent, normally observant and answered all questions freely. He was arrogant and proud to be a pilot. Fellow prisoners in hospital consider him mentally unstable."