PDA

View Full Version : 1946 64bit os support



th3wraith06
07-07-2007, 09:31 PM
Hey I'm running on a 64 bit version of vista, and yet I'm hearing this is a problem on xp x64 as well, apparently the game isn't booting on 64 bit operating systems. is it possible to add 64 bit support to il2 1946?

th3wraith06
07-07-2007, 09:31 PM
Hey I'm running on a 64 bit version of vista, and yet I'm hearing this is a problem on xp x64 as well, apparently the game isn't booting on 64 bit operating systems. is it possible to add 64 bit support to il2 1946?

RAF_OldBuzzard
07-08-2007, 01:03 AM
I've been running IL2 on XP x64 for over a year with no problems.

At least until the 7.6 Cats. They aren't 'playing nice' with IL2, but I'm not sure if it's the drivers, or something I'm doing. I just re-installed the 7.4's and all is well.

mazexx
07-08-2007, 03:41 AM
Hi!

I'm running Vista 64 Ultimate with an Nvidia 8800Gtx with no problems at all running 1946. I am running a dual boot setup and the fps is slightly better in XP(32 bit)... I think that goes for all games, MS FSX also runs better on 32-bit XP - not that the difference is that big. Vista simply consumes to much resources. Maybe the DX10 games will run better? I'm running Company of heroes in DX10 and it sure works fine, but it runs well in XP too and the difference is hardly noticable...

/Mazex

th3wraith06
07-08-2007, 12:43 PM
mazex, how did u get il2 to boot, on mine it didnt boot, i wound up reformatting back to 32 bit, just because i couldnt play il2

crazyivan1970
07-09-2007, 03:39 PM
No problems with IL2 in XP64 or Vista for me.

mazexx
07-09-2007, 04:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by th3wraith06:
mazex, how did u get il2 to boot, on mine it didnt boot, i wound up reformatting back to 32 bit, just because i couldnt play il2 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, I inserted the DVD and installed it. Then I clicked the icon with an F4-U http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Sorry, couldn't help that http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Have you got the latest 64-bit Vista drivers for all your hardware? As I said earlier I have an Asus 8800GTX card with the latest drivers (the old ones worked fine too). I have a Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Pro soundcard with the latest drivers (the may version). My MB is an ASUS Striker Extreme with the 15.00 driver from Nvidia for the 680i chipset. I also have a Trackir 4 Pro with the 4.1.030 B software.

It's probably some hardware/driver combination of yours that casues the problems. Have you tried another graphics card, sound card and so on to try to find the cause? Just for a try, download the latest DirectX release (june 2007). Some game I tried on Vista did not work as there where some missing DX dll:s in the base installation...

By the way, have you checked your memory using memtest or the built in memory test in Vista? XP and Vista 64 uses the memory a bit differently so a memory problem *MAY* not appear in XP that happens in Vista (long shot there http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif).

/Mazex

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-09-2007, 04:43 PM
Also be sure you install and run il2 as admin. There are other reasons for il2 not to start that have nothing to do with x64, it may be a simple securom issue, who knows, just don't write it off as an x64 issue.

mbfRoy
07-11-2007, 05:19 PM
running xp pro 64, no problems either