PDA

View Full Version : Hartmann CHEATS?!

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 03:19 PM
Have I found some bizarre easter egg in the original IL-2? You decide: I was playing QMB, just me against the Hartmann Ace, he in his 109, me in my trusty Iron Dog (N1). I find this good practice for me as I'm still learning controlled turns, stepping on the ball, etc. So, it's a series of headon passes, him doing his floopy spirals after the passes, me extending to come around each time. I'm at the point where I can pretty consistently wear him down this way, and that's what I did last night. Here's where it gets weird:

On one pass, I get a good amount of lead into him and he starts smoking. Nice... so I'm giving chase, and he tries to crash land. I catch up to him just as he's about to touch down and I open up all weapons on him. He explodes just as he touches down... but I'm not sure if I did it, or the ground. So, out of curiosity I save a track and play it. I hit CTRL+F2 and I'm watching from his perspective. Pass, pass, pass, same as I remember, then I hit him... but there's no smoke. Odd... maybe a buggy track thing. No problem, I keep watching. THEN... he gets on my six and takes me OUT!! WTF?! Honest, I didn't even have one beer last night, and I KNOW he did not take me out once! But, why does my track state otherwise? Did Oleg & crew purposely make Bubbi invincible? >8)

XyZspineZyX
07-17-2003, 03:19 PM
Have I found some bizarre easter egg in the original IL-2? You decide: I was playing QMB, just me against the Hartmann Ace, he in his 109, me in my trusty Iron Dog (N1). I find this good practice for me as I'm still learning controlled turns, stepping on the ball, etc. So, it's a series of headon passes, him doing his floopy spirals after the passes, me extending to come around each time. I'm at the point where I can pretty consistently wear him down this way, and that's what I did last night. Here's where it gets weird: