PDA

View Full Version : Corrupted Visuals



Jelly-Baby-Fan
11-17-2009, 12:16 PM
Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this?

Everything has been fine up to yesterday.

I'm running 4.09b1m and starting the game with Il2 Manager.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm137/Ulfaldr/Corrupt.jpg

Romanator21
11-17-2009, 01:04 PM
Since the topic is here, I might as well post a similar problem.
Trees:
http://i984.photobucket.com/al...007.jpg?t=1258488158 (http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae325/rboiko1/grab0007.jpg?t=1258488158)
No trees:
http://i984.photobucket.com/al...006.jpg?t=1258488186 (http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae325/rboiko1/grab0006.jpg?t=1258488186)
I also get a bug where trees and moving water textures only appear in patches.

Choctaw111
11-17-2009, 01:25 PM
Are you referring to the colors in the water?
If so, then you need to check and make sure you are running in 32 bit color.
Open up your conf.ini
It is a couple lines down from the top, but you should see "colourbits=32"
If it is at 16, change it to 32 and save.
There are several other options in the conf.ini that you can change as well, but start with this one and let us know what happens.

DKoor
11-17-2009, 01:30 PM
Same problem.
I'm running 32 bits.

Jelly-Baby-Fan
11-17-2009, 03:10 PM
Originally posted by Choctaw111:
Are you referring to the colors in the water?
If so, then you need to check and make sure you are running in 32 bit color.


That was exactly it, thanks for the suggestion http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Romanator21
11-17-2009, 06:26 PM
I suppose my problem is totally different. Sorry for the hi-jack.

Stiletto-
11-17-2009, 06:42 PM
Romantor what kind of graphics card and OS do you have? It might be your graphic drivers. I have an ATI 3870X2 and it has done some pretty odd texture corruption in the past.

Romanator21
11-17-2009, 08:28 PM
I am running Vista 32 bit however. Give me some time and I will look into how to figure out what drivers I am using. Cheers.

BTW, this problem occurs over water as well (wave layer of the flat blue base disappears). It seems to have to do with the angle of the surface relative to the camera.

Edit: Under "display adapters" in device manager I am seeing Intel 965 Express Chipset family. It's a laptop, so it may not even have a dedicated video card/driver.

Probably doesn't apply, but under processors I have Pentium Dual CPU T2370, 1.73 GHz. I also have 1Gb RAM.

This is probably looking ridiculous to you http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So, I'm going to ask, knowing I sound like a buffoon; if I could build/buy a new computer (which I hope to do soon, within a tight budget) what should I make sure to have? Is it possible to modify my current machine? Would more RAM/CPU power do the trick?

Aviar
11-17-2009, 09:55 PM
Romanator21,

That looks like your Landscape Detail setting has been changed to a low setting. Just change it to a higher setting.

Very Low:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/680/verylow.th.jpg (http://img4.imageshack.us/i/verylow.jpg/)

Perfect:

http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/8756/perfectd.th.jpg (http://img198.imageshack.us/i/perfectd.jpg/)


Aviar

Romanator21
11-17-2009, 11:37 PM
Right now the setting is excellent. It won't go higher as it's greyed out. The problem is that the trees appear and disappear on and off constantly throughout a flight. Sorry if I wasn't clear on that.

Aviar
11-18-2009, 04:12 AM
All the other settings are on High/Excellent?

**I just noticed you only have a laptop and probably no dedicated video card and only 1GB of RAM. That's not very good...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Aviar

Choctaw111
11-18-2009, 05:41 AM
For Perfect Mode to be made available, you need "Stencil Buffer" to be checked on.

Romanator21
11-18-2009, 10:14 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Every other setting is maxed out and Stencil buffer is checked on, only landscape is Excellent, and not perfect. I imagine that it would have to do with this apparently not so good laptop. At least I have one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

I am not seeking perfect settings, just something to stop the trees from disappearing/reappearing constantly in a flight. It seems I'll just need a new computer to eliminate the bug, and I'll just deal with it until then.

So, now I'm a little curious as to what type of machine (Cards/drivers/RaM/CPU?)I would need to get a nicely running game, or if it's possible to upgrade this laptop.

Urufu_Shinjiro
11-18-2009, 10:48 AM
I believe the onboard Intel 965 Express graphics are incapable of shader model 3 for perfect mode. In fact, you mat do better running in directX mode with that graphics chip.

Romanator21
11-18-2009, 01:48 PM
No dice, but Direct X looks exactly the same as with Open GL, which is surprising, as I expected it to be worse.

Here is another example:

http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae325/rboiko1/grab0000-1.jpg?t=1258577212

I am prepared to live with it if it's impossible to fix on my current machine. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blush.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
11-18-2009, 03:39 PM
Are you using any mods? I would try a reinstall of the game, it actually appears there is some sort of texture corruption or something.

Romanator21
11-18-2009, 03:58 PM
Ah, no mods on this install, but I did try them for a short time before. The soonest I can retry an install is this Thanksgiving when I get to go home. I will update you if it works or not.

Edit: Actually, using the Direct X improved my clouds a bit, they don't have floating polygons in their centers when flying through them. And I have Effects maxed out now. This is one step closer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Stiletto-
11-18-2009, 05:05 PM
I am 99% positive that has to do with his graphics card or lack of.. or the video driver.. but with an onboard card it is doubtful to have a choice of updated drivers.. Things can often look kinda weird with onboard video in games, especially a game like IL-2 that has alot of weird graphic anomalies with dedicated and popular GPU's.

Romanator I don't know how much money you are willing to spend on new components, but if you think you are savy enough to install your own system (its not all that daunting).. I have IL-2 running fairly well on a close to 4 year old system (not the one I currently use though). You could probably put something together for less than $500 that will run new games really well.. Or something that will run just older games like IL-2 for less than $300. Not including perephrials like monitors and keyboards of course.