PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions...

GuruSY
06-13-2008, 10:47 AM
I'm a newbie to the game and I am currently reading guides and collecting information as I practice my basic flying and gunnery skills.

I have a few questions that may be too advanced for me at this point, but they are nagging me:

1. Is there a reason to not have the radiator completely open? I know that if you open it, it prevents overheating, but why wouldn't you just leave it open at all times?

2. What is fuel mixture and when would someone use it? (I realize I will need a complex guide on this, but I just want a high-level overview).

3. Same question as #2 only for Prop Pitch.

Thank you!

Rakkasan1967
06-13-2008, 11:00 AM
1. Yes. it will give you more speed and some types of A/C will maneuver better with rad closed.
2. Fuel to air ratio. At higher alt you need to decrease mix. You will know when to do it when you engine belches smoke and bogs down.
3. It is the angle of attack or incidence of the blade to the airflow. Higher pitch = higher engine RPM. It can also be used to rapidly accelerate or slow down.

Zeus-cat
06-13-2008, 05:27 PM
1. If your radiator flaps are open enemy gunfire can damage your engine more easily. They also cause drag which will slow down your plane.

jayhall0315
06-13-2008, 06:45 PM
GuruSY,
The questions you ask are good but encompass many variables and therefore, take a look at these two articles:

http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=knowledge_base&op=show&kid=249

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/2751038856

The first will help you with CEM and the latter will give you a little heads up into the online parts of IL2.

Cheers Flight Leader http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
Jay

Skycat_2
06-13-2008, 11:45 PM