PDA

View Full Version : Something strange is going on here...



Wabbitech
01-01-2004, 05:19 AM
Okay. I finished the puzzle with the hexagonal tiles on the floor. Now in in a room with four levers and a blue button. I pulled the lever and nothing happened. After a while I gave up and decided to check the part of the walkthrough that nentioned this part, and it says there should be four pillars in here. Well, where are they? And why is nothing happening when I pull the levers? I pull one, then I find I wait a while before being able to pull it again. But nothing's happening. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Wabbitech
01-01-2004, 05:19 AM
Okay. I finished the puzzle with the hexagonal tiles on the floor. Now in in a room with four levers and a blue button. I pulled the lever and nothing happened. After a while I gave up and decided to check the part of the walkthrough that nentioned this part, and it says there should be four pillars in here. Well, where are they? And why is nothing happening when I pull the levers? I pull one, then I find I wait a while before being able to pull it again. But nothing's happening. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

johnnypie
01-01-2004, 05:48 AM
My advice? Slow down...
You pulled one lever and didn't see anything happen?
Are you sure you "pulled" it the right way?
Are you sure you were facing the right direction to "SEE" if anything happened?
Did you try any of the other levers?

I have some applesauce and a spoon if you'd like to be fed... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Nudges only from me, but walkthroughs abound.

Happy New Year!

--- yoU aRe yoU! ---

mr-zebra
01-01-2004, 06:16 AM
no no no, you're right, it's a bug!!!

it's really common- happened to me too!

I really hate this bug, it really got me. I thought I should supply power somehow... the levers actually need to work, but it often happens that they dont...

Anyway, what I did in order to solve it was restarting the age (you do that by going to Relto, and then clicking on the button below the book)... then resolving the puzzles- that should do it...

I've heard of other that just went to another age, and then when they came back it worked, but I dunno 'bout that...

None of you had this in beta?!? they should fix it somehow already!!!

Wabbitech
01-01-2004, 06:35 AM
Thanks for the info. I turned off the game and reread all the notes in my notebook (yes, I keep a notebook for all the games I played, even notes from Riven, MystIII(haven't finished it yet), and Uru. I went back in and decided to try again, and it worked. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I wonder what other programming errors/anomalies... er.. bugs I'll find.

Oh... and I'd rather have titanium carrot juice http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

mr-zebra
01-01-2004, 06:40 AM
lol, notebooks, cool...

I just tear a piece of paper... and lose it the next day http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Farlesis
01-01-2004, 06:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mr-zebra:
lol, notebooks, cool...

I just tear a piece of paper... and lose it the next day http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL same here, I've got bits of paper everywhere with puzzles and stuff jotted down from the game, or passages from the various journals http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://volcano.photobucket.com/albums/v11/NigelSymon/path.JPG

Wabbitech
01-01-2004, 06:59 AM
I used to use pieces of paper when playing Riven. I got tired of looking for and losing notes, so I bought one of those fat little notebooks (360 sheets, I think) to jot down notes, draw diagrams as well as my personal notes. hehe.. I even drew the entire diagram that was on that big door (after activating the levers). Some of my friends think I'm a nut. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

johnnypie
01-01-2004, 07:02 AM
Thank Yahvo for Uru windows mode and screenshots. Saved me hours of trying to make a perfect circle freehand!

--- yoU aRe yoU! ---

48157494951c06c935addb88b97eca6f
01-01-2004, 05:49 PM
I am also stuck in the pillar room on Kadish Tolesa. I really think this is a bug, because I've come at it every which way and the levers are totally inactive. I created 2 other new players just to get through this age to the pillar room and the levers still didn't activate. I've got the latest update, so what else could be going on? I'm really disappointed because I actually had this one figured out on my own but couldn't get those stupid levers to move!! (I broke down and went through the walkthrough just to make sure I wasn't missing something, but I had it supposedly right.) I'd just move on to the twin Ages and write it off, but I want the final payoff when all the Bahro totems are restored. Anyone know if there's a fix coming?

J5892
01-01-2004, 06:03 PM
I just transfer screenshots of the journals and puzzle solutions(like in the kadish gallery) to my pocket pc(crappy one, but color screen).

Ghiana
01-02-2004, 02:14 AM
When you start up your game, before clicking on play game. Try going to the update tab and update your game. once that is done.. just go back into the game. Things should be working now.

Psionicpulse666
01-02-2004, 04:35 AM
This was the most rediculous puzzle in the game. The clue was so obscure. Rotating numbers in another langauge with some missing digits and colors. The solution is on the internet. That is your clue.

earthinvasion
01-02-2004, 08:20 AM
I had to push the little blue button that shut off the elevator before the levers worked for me.

OneBlueRider
01-02-2004, 01:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by earthinvasion:
I had to push the little blue button that shut off the elevator before the levers worked for me.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

ya I did this to! to get power to the next puzzle you have to hit the blue buttons first.

Wabbitech
01-02-2004, 02:57 PM
Um... it's already powered. What I ran into was a very annoying bug. I turned off the game then got back in, and the levers were working.

Oh... and don't press those blue buttons. I hear that they reset the puzzles in the Age (haven't verified that myself yet).

jaybee4
01-02-2004, 03:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Wabbitech:
I used to use pieces of paper when playing Riven. I got tired of looking for and losing notes, so I bought one of those fat little notebooks (360 sheets, I think) to jot down notes, draw diagrams as well as my personal notes. hehe.. I even drew the entire diagram that was on that big door (after activating the levers). Some of my friends think I'm a nut. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You are NOT a nut -- if you are, then I am, too. I have notebooks galore on my computer shelf -- every time I buy a new game, I get a new spiral to go with it. I don't know how other people play without doing this!! So I'm glad to know I'm not alone.....

Tvmongoose
01-02-2004, 03:28 PM
I just have a large notebook that is now full of D'ni stuff and puzzles after using it for all 4 myst games. And I am loading my new palm pilot with sketches and notes.