PDA

View Full Version : Nav room questions

darko000
03-24-2005, 02:54 AM
Ok I am very new to this game but have a question. Is there any point in using the compass and drawing teh circles. I mean is that only for your own reference or do the ships really show up inside the circle if its drawn. enemy ships. Would it be possible to interecept without using compass and ruler, somebody help me out with this?

Lebowski-
03-24-2005, 03:00 AM
That all really depends on your realism settings... The more real you make it, the more you depend on all those manual tools.

I find it much more rewarding and tense playing on the hard or realistic settings, but to each their own.

darko000
03-24-2005, 03:02 AM
ok but could you explain to me the purpose of it all.. i am playing on 37% realism.. i am very new to this

Frederf220
03-24-2005, 03:39 AM
The compass is just a drawing tool. Drawing the circle doesn't make your detection of ships change at all.

It is possible to intercept without compass and ruler, but you have to guess how to do it.

The point of the drawing tools is to use them to make it easier to figure out what to do. You use what you know about yourself and the target to use math and geometry to figure out what you should do to meet the target.

The steps are you draw where you think the target will be in the next few hours. Then you plan how fast and what direction you go to be at the same place as him at the same time.

axeman3d
03-24-2005, 04:21 AM