PDA

View Full Version : 3 monitor setup for FB!



XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 08:36 PM
Matrox say that their card supports 3 monitors with FB.

http://www.matrox.com/mga/3d_gaming/enhanced_games/forgotten_battles.cfm

Has anyone tested that? I'd love to have a 3 monitor setup, but suspect that the FPS will be dreadful! Parhelia? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 08:36 PM
Matrox say that their card supports 3 monitors with FB.

http://www.matrox.com/mga/3d_gaming/enhanced_games/forgotten_battles.cfm

Has anyone tested that? I'd love to have a 3 monitor setup, but suspect that the FPS will be dreadful! Parhelia? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 08:43 PM
I've got it, and love it. FB rocks with it, as does
FS2004. Can't see going back to a single monitor for
simming. Just can't see it happening....

Wrong game but you get the point:

http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military1.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military2.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military3.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military4.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military5.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military6.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military7.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military8.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military9.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military10.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military11.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military12.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/military13.jpg


http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/fs2004/Military18.jpg



<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 09:19 PM
Wa-hoooo beautiful! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Thanks for this great post.

Please tell us more about your setup:

what resolution, what sort of fps and (excuse my ignorance) are the screenies from FS 2004?

Are you telling us that FB actually IS playable with a Parhelia? I mean smooth game play and reasonable detail?

Thanks

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 11:10 PM
If you look through this forum for 'Dexmeister', you'll find I've posted a lot of FB screenies over the past few months.

I'm running on a AMD XP2700 with 512MB RAM, and 3 21" CRT monitors. In FB get 15-25fps average in 3072x768 mode. FS2004 is about the same, maybe a little lower but I have FS cranked as much as possible for eye candy over FPS.

The Parhelia card works with FB, FS2002, Fs2004, CFS3, Ghost Recon, etc etc. FB is particularly good because it renders 3 screens separately at once, making for no skewing of the image which you see in CFS3. FS2004 I'm not sure how they did it but it's jaw dropping.

Matrox cards aren't for FPS junkies, case closed, but if you can get past having screaming framerates, you'll be very pleased. I went from a GF4TI4600 to this card and love it. Simming will never be the same again /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif



<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

SergeVE
08-26-2003, 11:39 PM
Glad to catch you here , dexmeister.
I made a post about this video card a few days ago in this forum , and someone referred to you as actually using the video card.

I have looked at the screenshots at the Matrox site ,
but there are still a few things that are not 100 % clear to me :

1) Is it possible to use the Track IR device (in enhanced mode )together with this video card ?
or is it no longer neccessary to use Track IR ?

2) When I look at the screenshots of the matrox website , then it looks as if the screen on the left corresponds to the "9 o'clock" view .
And the screen on the right corresponds to the "3 o'clock" view .
But when I look at your screenshots ( the ones you just posted ) , it looks like you get a wider frontal view .
Please explain this difference .

3) What happens if you change the field of view in the game ?

Kind regards
SergeVE

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 02:17 AM
SergeVE ,

I can answer that question for you. I have not used 3 monitors, but I do use 2. The same principle applies.

When using 3 monitors with a video card that supports triple view you get a wide screen view across all 3 screens. Let's say that you normally run your games at a resolution of 1024x768. With triple view you will be able to select a resolution that is 3 times 1024x768, thus giving you a resolution of 3072x768. So, even though you see a widescreen view across 3 monitors, if you take a screenshot it will not show 3 different screens, it will show one picture at 3072x768. I hope that helps you understand.

I really hope that the other GPU manufacturers will make this option available in the near future, because even with 2 screens Flight Simulator 2002 is very good. But with just 2 screens it puts your forward view between the 2 monitors, which makes doing a combat sim very difficult.

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 04:08 AM
SergeVE wrote:
- 1) Is it possible to use the Track IR device (in
- enhanced mode )together with this video card ?
- or is it no longer neccessary to use Track IR ?
-
- 2) When I look at the screenshots of the matrox
- website , then it looks as if the screen on the left
- corresponds to the "9 o'clock" view .
- And the screen on the right corresponds to the "3
- o'clock" view .
- But when I look at your screenshots ( the ones you
- just posted ) , it looks like you get a wider
- frontal view .
- Please explain this difference .
-
- 3) What happens if you change the field of view in
- the game ?


Serge, good questions.

1: TRACK IR with the Parhelia is !@#$ing AWESOME!!!!! Seriously, it's amazing. If you're zoomed out in FB, you may not need to swivel your head or look around much since your screens already show such a wide view, but once you zoom in, trackIR is a godsend. TrackIR+Matrox=bliss, for real.

2. Regarding 3, 12, 9 o-clock views:
In FB:
The screens do indeed show 3, 12, and 9 views respectively. This is unique to FB and very few other games, and is really how 3 monitors should be done. Picture what you see on one screen in FB as the centre screen since that's how it is, but with Parhelia you get the extra 2 screens with suitable perspectives.

In FS:
-you also get a wider view but it's rendered a little differently. Hard to explain and really not much different than IL2, but it _is_ different, a little.

The screens shown in the FB area of the Matrox site are showing the monitors. When I take a screenie, it's one pic (like the FS ones above), but in FB shots it looks a little strange.

3. Changing FOV in game:
-I tried this with CFS3 since I could... I didn't like it. It resulted in the center being really zoomed out and the left and right looking really skewed. In FB you can't, but you wouldn't want to.


To see a very long debate/screenshot thread, look here. In fact I think I'll bump it /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zeept





<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 08:51 AM
EURO_CoSWill wrote:
- But with just 2 screens it puts your
- forward view between the 2 monitors, which makes
- doing a combat sim very difficult.
-
-

Thanks EURO_CoSWill for the explanations !

So for dogfights either 3 monitors or nothing. Annoying is only that most cards support two monitors.

What I would really like (for my 9700Pro) would be to use the one to look forward and the second monitor to look my rear.

Does anybody know whether this is possible in FB ?

I remember a thread some 6 months ago on this topic, did a search for it but without success.

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 09:00 AM
S! All,

I agree that Dex's 3-screen pictures are pretty, but did you see the miserable attempts at graphical road modelling? There were roads going up and over granite cliff faces, roads tracking the maximum slope line on mountains etc etc. Talk about an immersion-killer!

Some guys at FS2004 need a mild reality check.

Cheers,
FourShades

SergeVE
08-27-2003, 11:18 AM
Thank you very very much Dexmeister !

I understand how it works now .( also read the older thread )
I have just got to have this set-up as soon as I can afford it.
I'll have to wait a while though , because I'm unemployed for the moment ;-(

One more thing ,
I often see the word "bump" in the forums .
Since english is not my native language , I don't understand the meaning of "bump" in the context of the forums .
Is this slang language ?

Kind regards
SergeVE

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 12:01 PM
SergeVE wrote:
-
- One more thing ,
- I often see the word "bump" in the forums .
- Since english is not my native language , I don't
- understand the meaning of "bump" in the context of
- the forums .
- Is this slang language ?

*bump* is used to move a thread to the top of the list of the first page. It's bumped up there.

It's an acronym for bost un mirst page. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

cheers/slush

http://dk.groups.yahoo.com/group/aktivitetsdage/files/Eurotrolls.gif

You can't handle the truth!
Col. Jessep

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 12:08 PM
*Droooooooooool* /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif





-----------------------------------

"I don't know what weapons World War 3 will be fought with, but World War 4 will be fought with sticks and stones."
-A. Einstein
"And any leftover assault weapons" -Fallout Fan


I am an Arado whiner. And proud of it.

http://www.vectorsite.net/avar234.html
Not my site. But a good place to start if you want to join the Arado-whining. The Arado needs *you* today!

XyZspineZyX
08-27-2003, 08:30 PM
Thanks all. I am delighted to read that FB actually is playable with 3 monitors.

15-25 FPS is what I'm getting out of my GF 3 Ti 200, so I know it's just about acceptable - but I could certainly use more...

I was thinking maybe it would still be a good idea to (not wait and) buy a Parhelia now, along with a powerful PC and 3 monitors?

The Parhelia would be the first to get upgraded, as soon as a more powerful version would become available. The rest of the investment would remain OK.

So this thread sorts out the "graphic immersion" issue, again thanks to all contributors and in particular Dexmeister.

I will start another one for: how do we get better sound/vibration immersion, WITHOUT sacrificing accuracy. All interested pls join!

Cheers

Odranoel 2

XyZspineZyX
08-28-2003, 12:06 PM
When the original Matrox Parhelia first came out, it was far behind in performance (3D game FPS) compared to the top of the line nVidia graphics cards, but it quickly fell further behind the later offerings by ATI, and nVidia.

Source: http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic/20020625/parhelia-13.html

Anyway, interesting how it creates the view for "three display heads" concurrently, and the screenshot panoramas are impressive.

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_potter_anim.gif (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>