PDA

View Full Version : POLL: Dynamic Campaign



essemm
12-23-2003, 08:44 AM

essemm
12-23-2003, 08:44 AM

Udidtoo
12-23-2003, 09:01 AM
I do freaquently for the same reason I play offline. Very poor connection.

I live in a remote part of Arizona with archaic phonelines and broadband/dsl isn't available.

It took me 14 hours to DL the last patch. I just don't have the heart to start something like Extreme ones campaigns.

I rather enjoy starting off with the lowest rank and earning my way to command. Providing I don't die before that.



..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

tsisqua
12-23-2003, 09:05 AM
I spent half the night last night trying to get DCG to work for me, and I have decided that I am an idiot. When I finally decided to go for the one mission at a time approach, the game crashed. First time since I got this rig back. So, yes, I use the stock campaign generator. However, I do love Uberdemon's Quick Mission Generator, and wish that the game's stock QMB was half as good.

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

essemm
12-23-2003, 09:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
I spent half the night last night trying to get DCG to work for me, and I have decided that I am an idiot. When I finally decided to go for the one mission at a time approach, the game crashed. First time since I got this rig back. So, yes, I use the stock campaign generator. However, I do love Uberdemon's Quick Mission Generator, and wish that the game's stock QMB was half as good.

Tsisqua
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have used DCG, but dislike it. I find that for a lot f the missions, I never actually get to engage enemy fighters because our paths don't cross. While realistic, that isn't very exciting.

Just my $0.02

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/141103-warloch_small.jpg

arcadeace
12-23-2003, 09:18 AM
I bet almost everyone enjoys the stock campaigns. Some of the mudmover singles are really good but they don't build with satisfaction. As far as the DCG goes, I just don't think it does.

Tully__
12-23-2003, 09:26 AM
I use it. I also build my own (sorta ruins the surprise though http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ).

=================================================

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg (http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm)

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)


Salut
Tully

SeaFireLIV
12-23-2003, 09:27 AM
The stock DCG is fine. It just feels a bit like nothing else is really happening apart from my immediate mission. Also, the ending is always the same, there`s no real threat of losing if you play as Allies.
DCG (by Lowengrin) is much different as most of you know it allows for a feeling of fighting in a world where your battles have an effect.
Now DCG has so many options to improve things that some people don`t see the Wood for the trees. To increase chance of crossing enemy aircraft, decrease your Radius in the panel to 100 or (as I do) 75, that way plane paths cross nearly every time.
As for Tsisqua (hope I spelt that right!) Not sure what you`re doing wrong, but the latest DCG 2.36 now replaces the entire stock campaign, making things easier.
I really can`t laud this mod enough, even though I HATE sounding like an advert for anyone!

fordfan25
12-23-2003, 09:57 AM
i tried to get it to replace the stock dcg but couldnt. im stuck haveing to start f.b through the dcg folder and then hiting shift ctrl G to get to a new mission. other than that i love it if no other resone being that i can fly the p47 and p51 in a campaign. it is a huge pain to install if you dont know just what to do grrrrrr i wish some one would come up with a 1 botton install or a self installer like the patches

tsisqua
12-23-2003, 10:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SeaFireLIV:
. . . .
As for Tsisqua (hope I spelt that right!) Not sure what you`re doing wrong, but the latest DCG 2.36 now replaces the entire stock campaign, making things easier.
I really can`t laud this mod enough, even though I HATE sounding like an advert for anyone!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes Sir, 2.36 is what I tried last night. I chose to replace the DGen in the game, let it run in autogen mode, and tried to start a campaign for the P-51. Well, the USA campaign, . . . uh, yes Sir, I got the folder, the gold version and the campaign just so I could do this . . . the USA campaign only offered me the P-47, but not the P-51. Soooo, I tried turning off autogen, with the intentions of flying a campaign generating one mission at a time. I'm very sure that I am making this way harder than it is, but I am a bit slow to understand some of the options. I tried to choose a custom skin, and I get an "invalid stream" error. The readme only served to confuse me more, but I still haven't given up. I believe that with alot of trial and error I will get it down, and thank you very much for your input.

Tsisqua (yup, you spelled it correctlyhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif )

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

SeaFireLIV
12-23-2003, 01:27 PM
Well, I`m still running the Soviet Campaign, I`m determined to stay with that till it`s done.
Try replacing the DGEN as normal (auto gen on too).
Run a couple of missions with the P-47 just to get it going and make sure it works. Then go into your FB folder, find the DGen (the green replacement) access it and look down the planes selection. If the P51 is there select it and generate. Close.
Go back to game, quick run a couple of campaign missions (just escape out on runway), and go for next mission.
If I understand right, you should now have a P51 Squad!http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
If I`m wrong- sorry. Check with Low on his site or wait till I try the P51 myself... which won`t be soon...
Good luck.

P.s. I also make a short cutof the Dgen and stick it on my desktop so I can change planes, nickname my pilots/skins, parameters on the fly regularly. No problems.

`Man is an embodied paradox, a bundle of contradictions.` Lacon.

steve_v
12-23-2003, 02:06 PM
Use dynamic campaign and UQMG.



New forums! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

http://home.earthlink.net/~viner45/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/santa.jpg

JG77Hawk_9
12-23-2003, 03:28 PM
DCG ain't rocket science although the readme could be better written, all you need to know is in there. I run it and love the missions it generates but then I do play with map icons on as FB has no decent comms so I don't have any ground vectoring to help me and this is the best I can do to help. I also run aircraft density on a higher than standard setting.

If you want to fly the Mustang then try first selecting the country of choice for campaign i.e. USA, then select the map you want to fight on like Ardennes or Normandy and then alter the squadron to have P51's in it. Generate mission when happy, goto FB and select campaign, back to DCG and turn on auto mode generate mission and exit, then back to FB, exit campaign to main menu and then back into it, select and fly.

I'm sure things will get more simple as time goes by but the missions are far nicer than DGen. Less flight collisions to but it still happens. Offline play needs some improvements to make it good like comms and ai.

tsisqua
12-23-2003, 03:41 PM
Hawk, and Seafire, Thanks for the help. I didn't take that next step that you outlined, but will as soon as I get back from shopping.

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

GTO_68
12-23-2003, 05:47 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by essemm:

I have used DCG, but dislike it. I find that for a lot f the missions, I never actually get to engage enemy fighters because our paths don't cross. While realistic, that isn't very exciting.

Just my $0.02


Some things you cam do to increase your chances to see action with DCG:
First, set your action radius to 150 km. DCG will only generate missions to the front if your base is too far behind the front line. Then, set squadron density to full. Every squadron will have a sorte. Then, if you set flights per squadron to one, flight size at four, for instance, you can set minimum number of planes at four for any squadron to guarantee that it will be flying every mission. You can actually wipe out an enemy squadron and they will rebuild at one plane per day, so they can go a number of missions without flying and this will prevent it.

tsisqua
12-24-2003, 02:24 AM
I did setup according to those directions, and just finished my second mission of a P-51 campaign. SUCCESS! Thanx again http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa

Extreme_One
12-24-2003, 03:58 AM
I do use DGen on occasion but the recent versions of DCG (2.29 onwards) are MUCH better IMHO!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

S! Simon

Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.mudmovers.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm).

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/ex1_soon.jpg

T_O_A_D
12-24-2003, 04:02 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
I did setup according to those directions, and just finished my second mission of a P-51 campaign. SUCCESS! Thanx again http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Tsisqua

http://www.uploadit.org/files/010903-nedChristie.jpg
Tsalagi Asgaya Equa<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I better give this a try again. I have tried a few times with no succsess. Generally make my own missions, but as Tully pointed out spoiles the suprizes, So I generally only make coops so the Human factor can make the suprizes.

131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/index.htm)


My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)


http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/Mad_toad.jpg (http://www.geocities.com/mad_squadron/Toad.html?1039576323413)

Aardvark892
12-24-2003, 06:43 AM
I've decided to start using IL2dgen to replace the default campaign generator.. now if I could only figure IL2dgen out!

SSgt Tim Schuster, USAF
8th MXS Inspection Section
Kunsan AB, ROK

http://img5.photobucket.com/albums/v22/Aardvark892/PC_Stealth2.jpg

"The Wolf Pack Blows!"

AlGroover
12-24-2003, 07:09 AM
Yes, I use it a lot although some generated missions don't work well as they come. I edit these with the FMB to something more playable. It's a minor annoyance and any surprise is lost when this is necessary, but overall I think the stock mission generator is OK.