PDA

View Full Version : If there is a Final patch, how hard would it be to add Dual Core Support?

Mysticpuma2003
07-23-2007, 11:21 PM
No, I'm not a coder, so I really do not know, but I have a dual-core system, and it seems a shame to have that power sitting there, wanting to be used, but not.

I know BoB will have Dual (possibly Quad) support, but IL2 has so much still to offer, that the increased power would really benefit the game by decreasing stutters with large formations and explosions, also the draw distance (smoke and buildings that pop-up as you draw near) could be increased with the added power.

I am just wondering if it is at all feasible to add this benefit in a final patch?

Cheers, MP.

Mysticpuma2003
07-23-2007, 11:21 PM
No, I'm not a coder, so I really do not know, but I have a dual-core system, and it seems a shame to have that power sitting there, wanting to be used, but not.

I know BoB will have Dual (possibly Quad) support, but IL2 has so much still to offer, that the increased power would really benefit the game by decreasing stutters with large formations and explosions, also the draw distance (smoke and buildings that pop-up as you draw near) could be increased with the added power.

I am just wondering if it is at all feasible to add this benefit in a final patch?

Cheers, MP.

BBB_Hyperion
07-24-2007, 02:23 AM
That depends on the structure of the program . Most likely it is easier to write a new one than to refine the old to the use of multi core systems.

Mostly the effects you mentioned have not in first place to do with the cpu but with serveral other factors as well. Stutters appear when adressing local virtual cache file takes too much time. That can be hdd access , bus system too slow, memory slow etc. There is a automatic garbage collection as well running from time to time in background.

With USB Sticks getting cheaper there are some ways to avoid long caches.