PDA

View Full Version : X-45 and FB



XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 10:06 AM
Hi All,

My new X-45 arrived yesterday, and I set it up OK. Now I first decided to fly it using no selected profile and in FB the trigger worked the machine guns, etc. as you would expect. However, I tried to create a profile for FB and nothing except the axis (es) seemed to work, i.e the rudder, trottle and movement were fine, but the keys I assigned to the trigger (or any others buttons/hats) didn't work, and either did the defaults (i.e trigger = fire guns). However, as soon as I disabled all profiles, I went back to the defaults fine.

Also, I noticed that when I set up the profile, it suggested testing it by going into wordpad and firing the buttons to get the characters assigned. This doesn't seem to be working for me. I am running Win XP. The CD says, 3.2 on it, and looking at the site, it looks like I might have the latest drivers.

Anyone have a clue how to get my profiles to workwith FB. Am I missing something obvious?

Cheers for the help.

Ciaran.

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 10:06 AM
Hi All,

My new X-45 arrived yesterday, and I set it up OK. Now I first decided to fly it using no selected profile and in FB the trigger worked the machine guns, etc. as you would expect. However, I tried to create a profile for FB and nothing except the axis (es) seemed to work, i.e the rudder, trottle and movement were fine, but the keys I assigned to the trigger (or any others buttons/hats) didn't work, and either did the defaults (i.e trigger = fire guns). However, as soon as I disabled all profiles, I went back to the defaults fine.

Also, I noticed that when I set up the profile, it suggested testing it by going into wordpad and firing the buttons to get the characters assigned. This doesn't seem to be working for me. I am running Win XP. The CD says, 3.2 on it, and looking at the site, it looks like I might have the latest drivers.

Anyone have a clue how to get my profiles to workwith FB. Am I missing something obvious?

Cheers for the help.

Ciaran.

Tully__
10-30-2003, 10:11 AM
I don't use Saitek's drivers so I'm afraid I can't help. You might try also posting in the technical support forum and at http://oldsite.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=79;hardset=;start_point =;DaysPrune=

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 10:21 AM
Cheers Tully, I posted over in tech support too.
And i'll check out that link.

BTW What other drivers can you use for the x-45? And what are the advantages etc.?

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 10:28 AM
TinerBoy
Howdy
Get yourself the drivers from the Saitek site if you dont have them. (SST 3.2.0.11)
Once you have created a profile for the game you obviousely save it.
Before you start your game you need to activate it.
In your tool bar you have that little joystick thingy.
Right click on it and then you should see your profile there that you have created.
Slect that profile, it will load, and the joystick icon will then get a coloured border around it (with the sst 3.2.0.11 it gets a green border)
Then you know the profile is active.
It should work n the game now.
To test profiles just created a pseudo profile with random buttons for random keys.
Then activate it and open up notepad or word. Push the buttons, you should see test being typed.
Eg, if your fire button is the X key for instance, if you profile is active and you open notepa and push the fire button you should see an X being type on the screen.
Here are some links that may help you

http://www.saitekforum.com/showthread.php?s=08ab10c52a417e5ce86b45884de6a526&threadid=3389

Programing manual
http://www.saitek.com/manuals/sst%20manual.htm

Drivers/ software
http://www.saitek.com/uk/down/drivers.htm

Support page
http://www.saitek.com/uk/supp/sd3.htm

Hope this helps
Cye

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 11:30 AM
Cheers for all that Nero111. I will try with the latest drivers and see what happens. I says 3.2 on the CD, but I don't know if that is 3.2.0.0 or 3.2.0.11 or what. So I'll install the latest to be sure.

I'm actually doing all of your steps.

- Then activate it and open up notepad or word. Push
- the buttons, you should see test being typed.
- Eg, if your fire button is the X key for instance,
- if you profile is active and you open notepa and
- push the fire button you should see an X being type
- on the screen.

But the one above doesn't seem to work! I create the profile, select it in the task bar, and it doesn't type /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

So I guess there's not much chance of it working in the game if I can't do that /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 12:14 PM
Ahh ok
What operating sys you running.
Also when you activate the profile does it go a red/pink colour or a green colour. (the joystick icon in bottom right corner)

As you arent getting any text typing you will have no chance at any game at this stage.
Lets get your text working first.

Tully__
10-30-2003, 12:23 PM
TinkerToy__ wrote:


- BTW What other drivers can you use for the x-45? And
- what are the advantages etc.?
-
-

Dhauzimmer's driver's, developed by a 3rd party developer before Saitek got their act into gear and released drivers that worked on Win2K/XP machines. There is currently no major advantage in either driver as far as functionality goes, but I'm not going to mess with something that works just to have the genuine driver set.

In terms of minor advantages, D's drivers allow a smidgeon more flexibility in programming complex commands, but at the expense of a clunkier programming interface. For ease of use Saitek drivers have the edge, for the ultimate in programming flexibility (by a hairs breadth) D's drivers get the gernsey.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>
<center> Sig size limits (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=yzrgs)</center>
<center><font size="-2" color="#88aadd">IL2 Forums Moderator</font></center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 12:38 PM
Im a monkey lol.
The drivers software you need is not 3.2.0.11

Its 3.2.0.18 on the download.
Those are the latest and the ones I use.

So in order for me not to complicate this or confuse the heck out of you go straight here for download depending on your op system.

Win98/ME
ftp://ftp.saitek.com/pub/software/SD_Win9X_3_2_0_18master.exe

2000/XP
ftp://ftp.saitek.com/pub/software/SD_WinNT_3_2_0_18master.exe

Get which ever one is relevant to your operating system.
Unistall the others you have then instal these.

Sorry for the confusion.

cruelsword
10-30-2003, 12:42 PM
Hi TinkerToy,

I know, it sounds stupid, but try to open your wordpad in full screen mode. It works for me.
And if you need, here is mine older profile:
http://www.sweb.cz/cruelsword//

Regards
Cruel



<center>http://web.tampabay.rr.com/cruelsword/Pink-Floyd.jpg
" a soul in tension that's learning to fly
condition grounded but determined to try
can't keep my eyes from the-cirkling-skies
tongue-tied & twisted just an earth-bound misfit, i "

Pink Floyd - Learning to Fly

Message Edited on 10/30/0306:46AM by cruelsword

XyZspineZyX
10-30-2003, 01:14 PM
Cheers everyone.

Nero111 wrote:
- Im a monkey lol.
- The drivers software you need is not 3.2.0.11
-
- Its 3.2.0.18 on the download.
- Those are the latest and the ones I use.


No confusion I got those thanks. I will try the full screen thing, and I can confirm that the icon goes GREEN, not pink or any other colour.

Everyone else:

I have XP Home, however, I will not be able to ensure I have the latest drivers until later tonight when I get back from work, where I currently slave /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Thanks for all the help and advice.

TT

XyZspineZyX
10-31-2003, 07:03 AM
I hope you got everything working okay. If not, you might check one other thing. Check and make sure the Saitek Magic Keyboard was installed with drivers. I run XP and the first time i installed drivers etc. off cd the "Saitek Magic Keyboard" did not install properly. I had to uninstall then reinstall from cd. now it works fine. The way i understand things (watchout not to bright with this stuff/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif ) its what allowss your profiler to convert joystick buttons to keyboard. Hope this helps. good luck

XyZspineZyX
10-31-2003, 10:41 AM
Wolf 100% correct. (I forgot about that thx)
That happened to me as well with XP.
I think it was because I had the Hotas connected to the pc before I should of or something like that, but yes, that 'magic' stuff is essential for the correct operation and programability.

XyZspineZyX
10-31-2003, 12:09 PM
Wolf and Nero,

100% corect is right! I reinstalled the software/latest drivers and seemingly I had missed a step and this time it installed the magic keyboard etc. and lo and behold it works great!
Now I have more buttons then sense /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Thanks a million one and all for the help, these boards are a super resource. Keep up the good work! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

TT



THEWOLF_308 wrote:
- I hope you got everything working okay. If not, you
- might check one other thing. Check and make sure the
- Saitek Magic Keyboard was installed with drivers.