PDA

View Full Version : Manual targeting (bearing)

Gavski2
04-24-2007, 01:40 PM
I'm just learning manual plotting and targeting.I have followed several tutorials and have learned how to find range, speed and AOB and enter them in the TDC - I have a problem with the bearing dial (far left) in the TDC, I have no idea what bearing it relates to and how to set it??? it clearly has an effect on the overall solution,
can anyone help,

cheers.

Gavski2
04-24-2007, 01:40 PM
I'm just learning manual plotting and targeting.I have followed several tutorials and have learned how to find range, speed and AOB and enter them in the TDC - I have a problem with the bearing dial (far left) in the TDC, I have no idea what bearing it relates to and how to set it??? it clearly has an effect on the overall solution,
can anyone help,

cheers.

Foehammer-1
04-24-2007, 02:55 PM
Set bearing with the periscope. The vertical crosshair is the bearing you'll be inputting. Just make sure to press the check mark to enter it

hueywolf123
04-24-2007, 10:41 PM
If you are learning, make sure to lock the view, AOB is determined by the view from your target, looking back at yourself.
Target manual, the ask the WE to target and compare the results, as you get closer, you get more confident and can give it a go yourself.
It doesn't hurt to go to the academy between missions either, hones your skill

Gavski2
04-25-2007, 03:46 AM
Thanks - community manual is very helpful.

Funkasoar
04-25-2007, 05:46 AM
AoB threw me off for the longest time. I figured out eventually that AoB is an extrapolation of target course based on her profile to you.

This also means that should you learn her course ahead of time (like stalking a convoy) you can turn the target heading into AoB.

Bearing in the TDC only means which direction you're pointing your periscope as this is where the torpedo will be targeted.

For links to Manual TDC tutorials and video demonstrations see my post in this thread: