PDA

View Full Version : Just got my new video card, thought I'd share it...



XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 02:48 PM
Hi Fellow Pilots

After my initial system upgrade last month I thought I'd update my video card too.

So from a Creative GeForce 3 Ti200, I got a Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro Fireblade.

Hope it was a wise decision, but we will see tonight when I install it.

Now my IL2Fb would hopefully run even better.

System:
Asus A7N8X-X nForce2 400Mhz Mobo
Twinmos 512Meg Ram 3200
AMD 2600+ 333MHz
Creative Sounblaster Live
Windows XP Pro

Cheers

Gian

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 02:48 PM
Hi Fellow Pilots

After my initial system upgrade last month I thought I'd update my video card too.

So from a Creative GeForce 3 Ti200, I got a Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro Fireblade.

Hope it was a wise decision, but we will see tonight when I install it.

Now my IL2Fb would hopefully run even better.

System:
Asus A7N8X-X nForce2 400Mhz Mobo
Twinmos 512Meg Ram 3200
AMD 2600+ 333MHz
Creative Sounblaster Live
Windows XP Pro

Cheers

Gian

XyZspineZyX
10-02-2003, 05:17 PM
you should be a lot happier with things now. You might like to get latest drivers from ati.com if you don't already have.

let us know - I got a 9600 recently and it's really good.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif


She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 08:51 AM
So I installed the thing after much anticipation and I have to say that it kicks (*%(*%*&(&*

Amazing!!!!!! it is as smooth as silk. I am very happy so far.

Just one thing, should I have Fastwrite enabled or disabled and what is the difference, also, what should I set my AGP Apeture Size to if the card is 128MB?

Thanks

Gian

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 09:01 AM
GianS wrote:
- So I installed the thing after much anticipation and
- I have to say that it kicks (*%(*%*&(&*
-
- Amazing!!!!!! it is as smooth as silk. I am very
- happy so far.
-
- Just one thing, should I have Fastwrite enabled or
- disabled and what is the difference, also, what
- should I set my AGP Apeture Size to if the card is
- 128MB?
-
- Thanks
-
- Gian


Dunno about Fastwrite but depending on OS u can leave the AGP Ap size at default as OS like W2K and XP hadles the Aperture size.
Dunno bout W98.

http://members.chello.se/ven/milton.jpg

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 09:20 AM
apparently fastwrite doesn't make a difference with ATI cards, not 100% sure about this tho but that was from a pretty reliable source.

/m



<font face="verdana, arial, helvetica" size="2" >__________________

http://www.raf-cott.demon.co.uk/images/GR7%20top%20Dinas%20Mawddwy.jpg


<font size="1">Pentium 4 3Ghz 800Mhz FSB Hyperthreading | Abit IC7 Max 3 | 256Mb Radeon 9800 Pro |
2 x WD Raptor 10,000rpm S-ATA's (RAID 0) | 1Gb OCZ PC4000 Dual Channel Gold Series DDR |
Coolermaster 'Black Widow' | Zalman 7000-CPU Cooler | Track-IR | 3.5Ghz overclock | 940Mhz FSB |
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX | Microsoft FF2 Joystick | 3DMark2003:6234 | 3DMark2001SE:19568</font></font></p></p>


</p>

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 10:11 AM
Well about fast writes some ATI/Mainboards combination doesn´t like fast writes on. Turn it on but if you find you are being unstable switch it off and see if that´s the problem... The performance increase with fast writes is very small but if you have no problem with it leave it on...

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 12:32 PM
Thanks Guys

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
10-03-2003, 01:59 PM
for settings go to Hunter's tech support at mudmovers.com

has all the settings to make that card move as fast as possible.


good luck.

Non Solum Armis