PDA

View Full Version : some new Saitek stuff...



foxyboy1964
07-01-2007, 04:19 PM
From a post at Sim HQ....

http://www.glideunderground.com/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=3107

I like the look of the quadrant.

ElSjonnie
07-01-2007, 04:22 PM
It looks plastic-toyish-legolike to me, but I'm assuming it works great, like most saitek stuff.

Airmail109
07-01-2007, 04:26 PM
49 dollars for the throttle quadrant http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Well, I'm gonna buy one, and that yoke for flying the p38.

The price makes it worth it.

JG52Uther
07-01-2007, 04:31 PM
If thats not a typo then $49.99 is a steal for that throttle,especially if it can be used independently.

The-Pizza-Man
07-01-2007, 04:38 PM
Yeah, that is bloody good value compared to other throttle quadrants that start around 150.

FE_pilot
07-01-2007, 04:48 PM
Dam good value, much cheaper than the CH one and this one had a mounting point, good for me since i have to mount it on my pc desk.

You can't beat the price either.

Bearcat99
07-01-2007, 09:59 PM
It looks good .. and it probably is.. byut the reviewer is dead wrong with this tidbit..


Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant

The Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant, priced at $49.99, is the only throttle on the market to feature three independent levers which are used for various axis commands, such as throttle, fuel mixture, prop pitch, etc. In addition, the lever ends are removable and independently color-coded for custom rearrangements (cockpit personalization is important to true flying aces).

I guess he never heard of the CH gear...

249th_Maico
07-02-2007, 02:18 AM
Too bad its not for me. They state up front that it is only important to " true flying aces ". I am on most days average with spurts of rookie behavior. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
Really, I am less than impressed. Unless you are flying FSX, would you really get a Yoke? And the throttle of the X52 is irreplaceable imo. Even an ancient X45 would be better than that thing. At least you would have a lot more controls at your finger tips.
I hope they are listening to the needs of the comunity. Ohhhh.... Where is that X60 Force Feedback HOTAS? Maybe coming to a Chrismas near you? I will certainly hope so....

TC_Stele
07-02-2007, 05:17 AM
Um.. I want that throttle setup. $49.99 is a steal, I hope thats the right price.

foxyboy1964
07-02-2007, 07:01 AM
I'm hoping to be able to use the quadrant alongside my X52 throttle. The fact that the quad has it's own price suggests that it will be sold separately. I suppose that means it will have its own USB connection.

p1ngu666
07-02-2007, 07:17 AM
Originally posted by Bearcat99:
It looks good .. and it probably is.. byut the reviewer is dead wrong with this tidbit..

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant

The Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant, priced at $49.99, is the only throttle on the market to feature three independent levers which are used for various axis commands, such as throttle, fuel mixture, prop pitch, etc. In addition, the lever ends are removable and independently color-coded for custom rearrangements (cockpit personalization is important to true flying aces).

I guess he never heard of the CH gear... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

doesnt the ch have 4 levers? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif

Yellow_Sub
07-02-2007, 09:03 AM
Afaik, it has 6 so you can use it with a dual engine planes. By the Saitek design it looks like you can easily place two of them next to each other. Or one left and one right. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif How many input devices can IL2 handle?

BrotherVoodoo
07-02-2007, 09:19 AM
Very cool indeed, I will be picking up a couple of those throttles as well when they are released. I belive IL2 supports 4 devices and there are utilities out there that will allow you to combine several joysticks into one virtual device.

Bearcat99
07-02-2007, 09:26 AM
For the guy who is using an EVO or some othwre single stick it is a great way to get a throttle setup.

Black_Ops7
07-02-2007, 10:52 AM
Here is a picture of the 2 throttle being combined to 1 unit and the upgrades for the yoke

http://img.clubic.com/photo/00509891.jpg

other pic of the throttle,as you can see one side has a hole and other side a piece that fits in the hole so you can link them
http://www.xs4all.nl/~glenn77/Pics/saitek/Saitek_THQ.jpg
http://www.xs4all.nl/~glenn77/Pics/saitek/Pro%20Flight%20Throttle%20Quadrant2.jpg

Bearcat99
07-02-2007, 11:01 AM
So basically for $100 you can get a setup similar to the CH throttle.. Nice...!! Saitek http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif I wonder if those gauges work.. if they can be hooked upo through DL.. if so then it is a pit builders dream.....

faustnik
07-02-2007, 11:12 AM
I've had the Saitek pedals for about a month now and I've decided I like them better than the CH pedals. The Saitek contruction is very sturdy and they fit my feet well. The throw is longer than CH so, I feel I have better control. Brakes are good.

Bearcat99
07-02-2007, 11:23 AM
Yeah I got the Saiteks too.... Back in the day CH was basically all you could get unless you went Simped.. Saitek makes good stuff....

faustnik
07-02-2007, 11:32 AM
That throttle quadrant is very inexpensive!!!

I hope Oleg allows more than 4 controllers in SoW. I think I'll send him a another annoying email right now. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

mynameisroland
07-02-2007, 12:02 PM
Silly question, but ...

The throttle doesnt have a gate for 110% or WEP?
Does that mean 100% on the throttle is 110% in IL2?

When will the throttle be released?

Billy_BigBoy
07-02-2007, 12:53 PM
So that was where Saitek_UK was talking about in this thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/8511060465?r=4111034565#4111034565)!

BrotherVoodoo
07-02-2007, 01:02 PM
That yolk upgrade looks friggin sweet! Looks like I will be trading in my CH yolk too...

Bearcat99
07-02-2007, 02:27 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/35/Raw_egg.jpg/800px-Raw_egg.jpg

Here is the latest in flight sim yolk technology...

BrotherVoodoo
07-02-2007, 06:17 PM
Now THAT's a yolk upgrade! LMAO Bear... =S=

Divine-Wind
07-02-2007, 06:22 PM
ROFLLOL


Still no FFB HOTAS though. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

TX-EcoDragon
07-02-2007, 10:38 PM
CH Yoke----->Ebay
CH Pedals--->Ebay

GreyFox5
07-02-2007, 10:56 PM
Hooking up your multi yoke setup to your PC- http://uk.gizmodo.com/Eggs.jpg
Ok did I take that too far?

erco415
07-03-2007, 08:37 AM
Throttle quad looks great, and a bargain as well - count me in! Any word on if Saitek is going to go for the ffb hotas? It would be my first choice...

BSS_AIJO
07-03-2007, 09:51 AM
wow...

I am dying here, when can we have them? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I am hoping that those gauges 1 work, 2 work in BoB and 3 work in BoB while on line, oh and 4 dont need the yolk. I like my stick well enough already.

BSS_AIJO

Divine-Wind
07-03-2007, 11:00 AM
Dangit guys you're making me hungry. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

It's spelled 'Yoke,' by the way. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-03-2007, 11:29 AM
Oh he|| yes, when BoB comes out I'm so getting two of the quads for multi engine AC!!!

p-11.cAce
07-03-2007, 01:52 PM
Hate to rain on the parade but unless it changes in SoW mixture does not work on an axishttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by p-11.cAce:
Hate to rain on the parade but unless it changes in SoW mixture does not work on an axishttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

I don't know what your on about, I have mixture on an axis right now.

Bearcat99
07-03-2007, 02:31 PM
Well it should.. in fact the SC should here too.. even on planes that had auto.. it could be switched from auto to manual.. as on the P-51... when the first Mustang came out it was like that...

foxyboy1964
07-04-2007, 09:08 AM
Just got a reply from Richard Neville (UK Saitek support).

The Yoke and Quadrant will be available in the UK. The Quadrant, when purchased separately, will have its own USB connector so it can be used with any other controller.

No word on prices.

JG52Uther
07-04-2007, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by foxyboy1964:
Just got a reply from Richard Neville (UK Saitek support).

The Yoke and Quadrant will be available in the UK. The Quadrant, when purchased separately, will have its own USB connector so it can be used with any other controller.

No word on prices.
Probably change the $ sign to a sign for the UK

foxyboy1964
07-04-2007, 09:19 AM
Originally posted by JG52Uther:
Probably change the $ sign to a sign for the UK

That would do just nicely eh? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JG52Uther
07-04-2007, 09:40 AM
It would be ok,but I would still feel a little ripped off looking at the $ price.Still,50 is not so bad.

BrotherVoodoo
07-04-2007, 10:37 AM
Just got a reply from Richard Neville (UK Saitek support).
Did you get any hints on time frame?

DeerHunterUK
07-04-2007, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by JG52Uther:
It would be ok,but I would still feel a little ripped off looking at the $ price.Still,50 is not so bad.

And if you try to import it from the US, our Government will kindly add some import tax to it on top of the postage. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

foxyboy1964
07-04-2007, 11:03 AM
@ BrotherVoodoo...sorry mate, no word on time scale. AFAIK the new stuff is on sale in the US (I think it can be ordered from the link on the previous page) so it shouldn't be too long before we get it in the UK.

foxyboy1964
07-04-2007, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by DeerHunterUK:
and if you try to import it from the US, our Government will kindly add some import tax to it on top of the postage. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Well, as it's the 4th of July, it seems appropriate to say...
"no instrumentation without taxation"...

BrotherVoodoo
07-04-2007, 01:37 PM
sorry mate, no word on time scale. AFAIK the new stuff is on sale in the US (I think it can be ordered from the link on the previous page) so it shouldn't be too long before we get it in the UK.

Copy that, I live in the US and have not seen these yet. Saitek does not have them on their website to order so far as I could see. I will keep my eyes peeled.

BrotherVoodoo
07-04-2007, 01:42 PM
D'oh just found them...

http://saitekusa.stores.yahoo.net/fligcon.html

..."Coming in August - Upgrade your Flight Experience!
Pro Flight Yoke System PZ44$149.95"


http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JG52Uther
07-04-2007, 04:22 PM
Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant
pad
Coming in August - Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant!pad
Pro Flight Throttle Quadrant PZ45pad$59.95pad....
up $10

Saitek_UK
07-05-2007, 01:52 AM
Hi Everyone,

Nice to see you all getting excited and well done to Billy_BigBoy for realising that this is what I was talking about when I said that Saitek weren't going anywhere http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Just to confirm the pricing on the Quadrant; the RRP is going to be $59.99, but it will be launching at $49.99 - I can't confirm UK pricing yet although it probably won't appear on these shores until September.

There's no top detent on the levers but there is a bottom detent, at which point the throttle will be at 0%; the lever then has a position just past the detent where there is a button, to which you could assign anything you want.

Those displays you see on the top of the yoke are not part of the yoke system and were purely mocked up for the show where that photograph was taken. Are we working on making something like that a reality? Maybe...

Any other questions, just let me know.

JG52Uther
07-05-2007, 02:54 AM
As the throttle is a standalone product,will you be able to use the SST programming software with it?

DeerHunterUK
07-05-2007, 03:50 AM
Originally posted by foxyboy1964:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by DeerHunterUK:
and if you try to import it from the US, our Government will kindly add some import tax to it on top of the postage. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Well, as it's the 4th of July, it seems appropriate to say...
"no instrumentation without taxation"... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL, nice 1 Foxy! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

polak5
07-05-2007, 06:14 AM
The new X-52 looks kewl, less sci-fi IMO. I wonder if there is a new evo which is black. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

JG52Uther
07-05-2007, 06:20 AM
And could you use SST software to shift from the yoke to a joystick like CH?

polak5
07-05-2007, 06:36 AM
Originally posted by polak5:
The new X-52 looks kewl, less sci-fi IMO. I wonder if there is a new evo which is black. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Follow up, there is!
http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/saitekusa_1957_5333231

I wonder what color the new LED's are if they arent blue no more?

erco415
07-05-2007, 06:54 AM
Any hints on a ffb hotas? The throttle quadrant is a great addition to my sidewinder (seeing as it's throttle is a bit twitchy of late) but it doesn't have the functionality of the x52 setup.
Still, great product! Thanks, erco

Saitek_UK
07-05-2007, 09:55 AM
Yes, the quadrant and the Yoke system will ship with SST so you'll be able to program the axes, the detents and the toggle switches with the commands you want.

As for a FFB HOTAS, well that's something that we're still investigating - there's definitely no way it would make it into this year's new product listings, even if we did decide to go ahead with it. I have to state categorically though that there are no plans to produce a FFB HOTAS at the moment. We're aware of the thread here on UBI Forums (and we've created one on our own forum) and we will continue to monitor this.

polak5
07-05-2007, 10:39 AM
Originally posted by Saitek_UK:


As for a FFB HOTAS, well that's something that we're still investigating - there's definitely no way it would make it into this year's new product listings, even if we did decide to go ahead with it. I have to state categorically though that there are no plans to produce a FFB HOTAS at the moment.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

BrotherVoodoo
07-05-2007, 11:48 AM
Those displays you see on the top of the yoke are not part of the yoke system and were purely mocked up for the show where that photograph was taken. Are we working on making something like that a reality? Maybe...

Those mock displays would be nice to put into production. If you are working on them, you have a patiently waiting customer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
07-06-2007, 12:10 PM
If you guys can make standalone cockpit instruments for a relatively cheap price that can be hooked up to software like devicelink then you will make a killing. The main reason people don't make instrument panels more often is the prohibitive price and complexity.

VF-17_Jolly
07-06-2007, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
If you guys can make standalone cockpit instruments for a relatively cheap price that can be hooked up to software like devicelink then you will make a killing. The main reason people don't make instrument panels more often is the prohibitive price and complexity.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif