PDA

View Full Version : IL2 Bombers



azamato2007
05-20-2007, 01:27 PM
Hello again

This time i really bought the game IL (original)

but i can't fly the german bombers en fighters again

only can fly
-bf 109 series
-il2 series
-fw series
-yak
-lagg

thats all

what about Heinkels, Junkers and so on ...

Foo.bar
05-20-2007, 01:33 PM
Buy 1946 add on and fly them all.

Zeus-cat
05-20-2007, 02:07 PM
That is probably all there was in the original IL-2. Where did you find it anyway? That game is at least 5 years old.

Buy IL-2 1946 and you will have more planes to fly than you can believe.

FoolTrottel
05-20-2007, 02:23 PM
Patched up to its latest version, The Original should also have the following as flyables:
P39
Ju 87b
P11c
I16
BI-1b
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

VMF-214_HaVoK
05-20-2007, 03:46 PM
That game is at least 5 years old.

Older. 2001

VMF-214_HaVoK
05-20-2007, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by azamato2007:
Hello again

This time i really bought the game IL (original)

but i can't fly the german bombers en fighters again

only can fly
-bf 109 series
-il2 series
-fw series
-yak
-lagg

thats all

what about Heinkels, Junkers and so on ...

Been so long I cant remember but I think all you get is He-111 and the Russian TB-3. BTW have you patched it?

Nimits
05-20-2007, 09:06 PM
The last patch for Il-2 added the Ju-87B . . .

Skycat_2
05-20-2007, 11:15 PM
There were no flyable multi-engined bombers in the original IL-2 Sturmovik.

The He-111 was made flyable in Forgotten Battles (although it was an AI plane in IL-2), and the TB-3 was an all new model for FB. The Bf110 came in Aces Expansion Pack for FB. The Ju-88 came in one of last Pacific Fighters 'merged' version upgrade patches.

Other bombers: The B-25 external model was introduced in one of the Aces Expansion Pack upgrade patches, and one version became flyable in Pacific Fighters. The A-20 was new in Pacific Fighters. The G4M became flyable in a PF upgrade patch. The Pe-2 became flyable in ... uhhhh ... what was the name of that expansion? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

azamato2007
05-21-2007, 09:20 AM
i cant buy the 1946 version because i barely can play IL2 on my pc

so where can i find these patches?

Philipscdrw
05-21-2007, 09:36 AM
I think that, if you can run Il-2, you can run 1946 - the game engine is the same. Someone should be able to confirm this.

Here's an ugly diagram of the Il-2 series:

http://people.bath.ac.uk/jsd23/il2tree.JPG
You're in the black-bordered bit at the top. The blue-bordered bit is the 1946 DVD. If you get the DVD, you just need the 4.08m patch to have all the content.

Haigotron
05-21-2007, 12:42 PM
Someone should sticky Philipscdrw's drawing...it'll make it so much easier!

JtD
05-21-2007, 12:54 PM
1946 is way more demanding on the hardware than il-2 original was. Similar, but far away from the same. I ran il-2 on a pc with 256MB of memory, I don't think you can get 1946 running with that.

azamato2007
05-21-2007, 01:29 PM
1946 would be a dream for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif but

its asks

64 mb video card 512 mb Ram and the original il2 has low requirements but i still play it on 640*800 screen with a lil lag :s

so... maybe i can try FB but it wont work either wouldnt it?

JtD
05-21-2007, 01:35 PM
I found that actually every patch soaked up some performance, so I wouldn't recommend you to buy FB. Are you sure you got the graphics set up as good as possible? I mean 640x800 is pretty bad, I got more off my TI4200 with the Duron 800 and 256 megs of memory. What specs does your system have?

azamato2007
05-21-2007, 02:09 PM
Ram: 224 : 256
Ghz: 1.4
sis graphics card i think 32 mb
but the lower games are still laggy to play on it

ploughman
05-21-2007, 02:52 PM
Wow, someone with a cr@pper system than me. I've a 1.5 that originally came with a 64mb GPU and 256 mb of RAM, it's now got a 128mb GPU and 1gb of RAM and 46' runs fine as long as I don't get too ambitious with how many planes are in the air or flak.

If you can upgrade to that cheaply (SDRAM's getting a bit thin on the ground but is available on ebay for not too much. I had some bloke in a shop quote me 72 for 512mb stick, I got in ebay for something like 20). I expect a GPU'll be similarily inexpensive. The thing is Il-2's necessarily CPU intensive so there's only so much we're going to be able to acheive with the processors we've got. Additional help can be had if you download the FS_AUTOSTART program. It shuts down background applications (you chose which) and boots the game allowing your machine to focus on running Il-2. It's a great performance enhancer.

azamato2007
05-22-2007, 02:46 PM
so i'm screwed?

no FB or any american fighters? no?

JtD
05-23-2007, 11:25 AM
I tend to answer yes. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I'd strongly recommend more ram and if affordable a graphics card upgrade. Otherwise, any post Il-2 products will be most likely wasted money.

What is your graphics setup? S3TC texture compression on? Do you run openGL or directx?

ploughman
05-23-2007, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by azamato2007:
so i'm screwed?

Not if you get more RAM and a better GPU



no FB or any american fighters? no?

Buy '46 and you'll have it out the ying-yang.

In summary, apply resources to problem untill it becomes manageable or goes away.

Skycat_2
05-23-2007, 06:55 PM
The P-39 was an American fighter. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://home.att.net/~jbaugher1/p39.html (http://home.att.net/%7Ejbaugher1/p39.html)
http://www.aviation-history.com/bell/p39.html

MidwestPunx1
05-24-2007, 05:03 PM
where can you buy 1946 at?

Skycat_2
05-24-2007, 05:27 PM
Originally posted by MidwestPunx1:
where can you buy 1946 at?
In the US and Canada, Wal*Mart carries it for sure. Also Circuit City and Best Buy I believe.

If your area has a books and video chain called Hasting's, they carry it.

I heard a few months ago that GameStop/EB Games/Electronic Boutique would not be carrying it, but maybe they've changed their minds.

You can always order it online through Gogamer.com and other vendors.

MidwestPunx1
06-01-2007, 02:54 PM
so what planes are flyable just as the standalone game (1946) without any patches?

Divine-Wind
06-01-2007, 03:11 PM
All of 'em. The 4.08 patch just fixes some problems.

Skycat_2
06-01-2007, 06:24 PM
Point of order: Many of the planes in 1946 are not flyable. I think that Divine-Wind meant to say that the 4.08 patch does not add any new flyables (or AI planes for that matter) to the 4.07 DVD install version.

The list of flyables is far too long to list from memory. Do you have any specific ones you'd like to inquire about?

LStarosta
06-01-2007, 08:01 PM
Oh God, please don't say point of order. That phrase conjures up many sick and crappy memories of standing at the position of attention for God knows how long only to have to do wall-sits for twice as long as a way to meditate on my mistake of being born.

MidwestPunx1
06-06-2007, 01:54 PM
so 1946 should run just fine with 1GB of RAM?

MidwestPunx1
06-06-2007, 01:56 PM
actually im wondering about multi-engine and jets if that helps at all..
haha i guess that doesnt narrow it down much.. are there really THAT many planes you can fly in 1946?

Skycat_2
06-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Included on the disc there is guide to all of the flyables in 1946. The guide dedicates a page or two to each plane including cockpit familiarization and best tactics. A quick look at the table of contents lists 144 Allied planes and 91 Axis aircraft. ("Some aircraft served on both sides but appear only in one of the lists.") Many of those are variants within a design family -- for example, there are ten A6Ms, 15 Bf109s, ten IL-2s, and 16 Spitfires/Seafires. Still, there is a wide variety of aircraft types and many of them are represented by only one or two variants so there really are a lot of different planes to fly. Biplanes, bombers, Stukas, jets, rockets ...

Multi-engined piston planes
A-20C
A-20G
B-25J-1NA
Beaufighter Mk 21
Mosquito FB Mk VI
P-38J
P-38L
P-38L Late
Pe-2 1 series
Pe-2 110 series
Pe-2 359 seres
Pe-2 84 series
Pe-3
Pe-3bis
TB-3 4M-17
TB-3 4M-34R
TB-3 4M-34R SPB
Bf-109Z
Bf-110G-2
Do-335A-0
Do-335V-13
G4M1-11
He-111H-2
He-111H-6
Ju-88A-4

Single engined jet or rocket planes
BI-1
LaGG-3RD
Yak-15
YP-80
He-162A-2
He-162C
He-162D
Me-163B-1a
Ta-183

Multi-engined jet or rocket planes
MiG-9 I-300
MiG-9FS
Ar-234B-2
Go-229A-1
Me-262A-1A
Me-262A-1a U4
Me-262HG-II

Multi-engined mixed power planes
BI-6 (rocket engine and two jet engines)
I-250 (piston engine and jet engine)
La-7R (piston engine and rocket engine)

Multi-engined VTOL Fighter
Lerche III B-2

AlGroover
06-07-2007, 04:23 AM
That CPU should be ok for original IL2. I ran it on an 866P3. Try and find a 2nd hand 128mb Ti4200 or similar. Hell, I gave one away a couple of months ago. Also a real cheap sound card will take some pressure off your CPU.

hshmulik
06-07-2007, 05:04 AM
Philipscdrw,

Unless I misinterpret the scheme, I believe that v4.04m label should be inside the red box, not outside it. Same as v4.07m label is inside the blue box.

Monterey13
06-07-2007, 11:07 AM
Do you live in the states? If you want, I'll send you an Nvidia 64mb AGP video card that I have lying around. Just need to know if you have PCI or AGP. You can have it. I know it's not much, but you say you are using a 32mb card, so it's at least double...and it's free. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Just PM me if you want it.