PDA

View Full Version : I think I need help...

buttflop
08-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Hello everyone

I'm new to IL-2 Sturmovik, since I only just bought the 1946 edition last week. Since then I've been working hard on learning how to take off and land, which hasn't been easy, since I haven't actually played a real flight sim before. Bearcat99's guide and Zeus-cat's training campaign have been immensely helpful, and I'm now able to land the bf-109 almost every time. The joystick that arrived in the mail a few days ago helped as well.

However, being able to land I decided to go ahead and try some dogfighting, using the quick mission feature, and while I did manage to shoot down some bomber (I think it was a B-17, or something along those lines), I'm getting creamed time and again by a single rookie Yak-1 pilot. I guess my two main problems are that:

1) I can't keep track of the position of my enemy. Every time we pass each other, I lose him and find it near impossible to find him again (until he shows up right behind me, that is).

2) I can't hit him. This really sucks obviously. Maybe you can imagine my gloating as I have in my sights and get ready to fire, and maybe you can imagine my embarrassment and dissappointment as I miss (sometimes followed by me ramming into him, in which case I at least take him down with me).

As for the first problem, I've decided to get a trackir. I find using the mouse very cumbersome, and I don't find the hat switch of the joystick all that helpful. Hopefully being better able to look around will help me keep track of enemy planes.