PDA

View Full Version : Camera wont move - or do anything



Kris159
05-27-2011, 12:11 AM
I recently aquired RUSE from Steam. On my first launch, the game wouldn't proceed past the first loading screen, so I just decided to end it through the task manager.

I then restarted, and it worked fine. Launch wise - that is. When I got on to my first battle scenario, I found my camera wouldn't do anything.

Don't take me for a noob - I know what the controls are, and know how to operate them as I played the Demo without any concern whatsoever (including a lack of this problem).

So, I tried a few key combinations (that is - every key on the board), and after failing just thought maybe it'll sort itself out, so continued playing for about 5 minutes. Then, the Camera moved slightly closer to my base, which means I couldn't attack the enemy unless they came to me... 'Bit of a game killer.

Anyway, I decided to surrender a few minutes later. Then on the next game I tried (that is, after rebooting), the camera again wouldn't move by my keyboard or mouse inputs. All it did was move very, very slowly away from my base, and I could do nothing about it...

...Does anyone need me to specify anything else before they answer?

pennygod
05-27-2011, 08:13 AM
Hey Kris159


Sometimes issues like this can be caused by extra peripherals connected to the
system. Try disconnecting any joystick/gamepad or scribe hardware and relauching
the game.

You may also be experiencing problems because of some of the processes
running in the background of Windows. Too many can interfere with a game's
proper function. To eliminate some of these extraneous processes, you
can put your computer into a "selective startup". However some
programs may need to be disabled manually, such as your antivirus and other
security software.

To put your machine into a selective startup, on your keyboard press the
Windows key + R at the same time to bring up the Run command. Delete
anything on the Open line that you'll find there, and type in the word
MSCONFIG. Click on OK, and that will bring up a program called the
System Configuration Utility.

Look down the list of startup items (not the tab labeled Startup), and
choose Selective Startup (if it is not already selected). If you don't
see this, make sure you've clicked on General, near the top of the
window. Once you've chosen Selective Startup, uncheck 'Load Startup
Items', and leave "Load system services and Use original boot
checked. Once you're done here, click OK, and let it reboot your computer.

Your Windows environment may look different and you may get an error
relating to your sound device not working (ignore this for now). Try
running the game again. If the game loads and seems to be working, the
problem is most likely related to one or more programs you have scheduled
to load with Windows. You can then revert the settings back the way they
were, and in a trial and error fashion, disable some programs using
the startup tab (in the msconfig utility) to try to find the culprit.

Kris159
05-27-2011, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by pennygod:
Hey Kris159


Sometimes issues like this can be caused by extra peripherals connected to the
system. Try disconnecting any joystick/gamepad or scribe hardware and relauching
the game.

You may also be experiencing problems because of some of the processes
running in the background of Windows. Too many can interfere with a game's
proper function. To eliminate some of these extraneous processes, you
can put your computer into a "selective startup". However some
programs may need to be disabled manually, such as your antivirus and other
security software.

To put your machine into a selective startup, on your keyboard press the
Windows key + R at the same time to bring up the Run command. Delete
anything on the Open line that you'll find there, and type in the word
MSCONFIG. Click on OK, and that will bring up a program called the
System Configuration Utility.

Look down the list of startup items (not the tab labeled Startup), and
choose Selective Startup (if it is not already selected). If you don't
see this, make sure you've clicked on General, near the top of the
window. Once you've chosen Selective Startup, uncheck 'Load Startup
Items', and leave "Load system services and Use original boot
checked. Once you're done here, click OK, and let it reboot your computer.

Your Windows environment may look different and you may get an error
relating to your sound device not working (ignore this for now). Try
running the game again. If the game loads and seems to be working, the
problem is most likely related to one or more programs you have scheduled
to load with Windows. You can then revert the settings back the way they
were, and in a trial and error fashion, disable some programs using
the startup tab (in the msconfig utility) to try to find the culprit.

...When I went to college this morning, it still wasn't working, however, when I got home, it worked perfectly. I've done three test games, and they're all fully functional. Looks like my computer just needed rebooting or something, since I hadn't done so after installation.

As for background problems, I have AnVir, which practically allows me to choose which processes start automatically when I turn on my computer, so there's a small chance of that being the problem.

And as for the peripherals, I had nothing but the standard (keyboard, mouse, speakers [if that counts] etc.), but I hope this thread may help those with a similar problem =)

Thanks for great responce.

KingDaniel0
05-27-2011, 06:46 PM
Camera wont move - or do anything

This problem is not directly related to any peripheral device, or any background App, imo.

In RUSE few gamers have complained about this issue, but if you sometimes restart the game and reset the controls as well, the problem will subside.



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sir_frost
05-29-2011, 11:13 AM
i have the same problem and it also diapears after a while.

the problem lies within the automatic "zoom in" prosess when you start a new game (eg. the camera zooms in and encircles your starting location)

in perfect conditions the game gives you back camera controll after the completed "camera animation" sequence.

the problem lies in compleating the movement sequence that apears to get stuck efter 2 or 3 seconds, in some cases the freese is just temporary and the sequence continues flawlesly, in other cases the camera freeses permanently and the game is ruined.

note that there is nothing wrong with the other game mechanics when the camera freeses and the game continues as usual.

could the problem be solved by a easy graphic option to disable the introductary camera movement?