PDA

View Full Version : PF ...stand alone vs add on



gunshy028
10-31-2004, 09:27 AM
Whats the difference between the two as far as on-line play. Thanks in advance http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 09:27 AM
Whats the difference between the two as far as on-line play. Thanks in advance http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Taylortony
10-31-2004, 09:44 AM
The standalone does not have all aircraft the add on has and the add on is the version i believe will be supported by the patches, not the stand alone so you might have future probs getting a game or plane compatability

Von_Zero
10-31-2004, 09:48 AM
you can play online ONLY with other people that have the same version as u. U can't play stand-alone on a mixed served, nor playing am mixed install on a server that only has PF just like every patch we got until this moment. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 10:17 AM
so if I have FB along with AEP plus the patch to make my verson 2.04, then my PF game that i bought will automaticly be an (add on) game. Is this correct??? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 10:21 AM
I'm confused, is there an add on verson of PF or does the game that i bought become an add on since i already have FB and AEP.

JG52Uther
10-31-2004, 10:21 AM
Yes if you install PF over FB/AEP your version will automatically become V3.0. PF can be installed EITHER as a standalone game OR as an addon to FB/AEP

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 10:23 AM
Thanks i think you've answered my question. Thank you very much http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

-HH- Beebop
10-31-2004, 10:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gunshy028:
I'm confused, is there an add on verson of PF or does the game that i bought become an add on since i already have FB and AEP. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You have bought a game that may be installed either as an 'expansion' to FB/AEP or as a stand alone game.

If installed with FB/AEP you get the content of FB/AEP along with the content of PF. i.e. Zeros can attack Berlin which is defended by Corsairs.

If installed as a stand alone, you only get the planes and maps of the Pacific Theatre.

BE ADVISED
If you install PF over FB/AEP and later decided to uninstall PF, BOTH FB/AEP AND PF will uninstall!

Von_Zero
10-31-2004, 10:29 AM
if you install over AEP, it will become an addon, if u install it separately, it will be stand alone...
so practicaly u can have 2 different types of install:
1. AEP+PF
2. PF and AEP each without any connection to the other.
or to say it in a different way:
- u have FB+AEP (let's say AEP includes 2.04 patch) already installed. (let's call it game1)
- U make a copy of the FB+AEP folder and u install PF over it. (let's call it install2)
now u have 2 different installs on ur comp. (game1 and game 2).
if after all this u install PF in a completely different place u will have the folowing:
1. PF stand-alone install (i think it is called PF 1.0 ??)
1. mixed FB+AEP+PF install (this one is FB 3.0)
3. the original FB+AEP instalation. (FB 2.04)
quite simple.
using the PF stand alone install u will be able to join games that only are running PF 1.0)
using the mixed install wil allow u to join only games running FB 3.0
and using the original AEP install u will be able to join an usual AEP (FB 2.04) game...
anything else?

willyvic
10-31-2004, 10:54 AM
I am currently running four till the lobby settles down.

1. PF
2. AEP+PF
3. AEP
4. IL2 (original install for those times I want to revert to the "good old days")

I find PF, the stand alone, loads the missions quicker and I experience better frame rates. Don't ask me why, I just do.

WV

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 12:02 PM
So to get the best of both worlds, I should install it as a stand alone game. Now the big question, How do you install PF as a stand alone game when I already got FB\AEP v2.04? Will it automaticly install over the existing or do I have to do something special first. I am very computer illiterate.THANKS FOR YOUR HELP GUYS. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

gunshy028
10-31-2004, 12:05 PM
WOW ZEROS AND CORSAIRS OVER BERLIN.....HITLER AND GOERING WILL ROLL OVER IN THEIR GRAVE.

Von_Zero
10-31-2004, 12:07 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gunshy028:
So to get the best of both worlds, I should install it as a stand alone game. Now the big question, How do you install PF as a stand alone game when I already got FB\AEP v2.04? Will it automaticly install over the existing or do I have to do something special first. I am very computer illiterate.THANKS FOR YOUR HELP GUYS. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

no, no, no, u got it all wrong... u should make two install, one mixed and one stand-alone
when u insert the first cd, the autorun will let u choose if u wan't to install-it as stand alone or addon. but, be carefull as Beebop stated, if u uninstall pf from the mixed instalation, both PF and FB+AEP from that folder will be
uninstalled.
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> I am very computer illiterate <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
don't worry about that, nobody was born with a mobo in his hand... we all learned...that's the entire trick, just learn from the mistaked others do, this way, u won't have to learn from your own http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

LEXX_Luthor
10-31-2004, 04:48 PM
and you don't need no stinking Patches either. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I put my FP on top of fresh FB/AEP with NO PATCHES 2.01 or 2.04

They say I~185 makes a decent Raiden until the real thing

Monty_Thrud
10-31-2004, 05:10 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by willyvic:
I am currently running four till the lobby settles down.

1. PF
2. AEP+PF
3. FB+AEP
4. IL2 (original install for those times I want to revert to the "good old days")

I find PF, the stand alone, loads the missions quicker and I experience better frame rates. Don't ask me why, I just do.

WV <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Same here, although nothing to do with the lobby...i just LUUUV IL2FB/aep, so i preserved her in another folder, and i'm glad i did...not keen on the water effect in PF...not that thats a biggie, unless you're surrounded by it ...oops

gunshy028
11-01-2004, 10:26 AM
Thank you all for your great suggestions. Its nice to see such a helpful community.Like i said earlier, im a (computer dummie), and i'm not sure how to make a seperate folder for my existing game so i dont install PF over it.I should do VON ZERO did and make 3 games.1) PF 2)PF/AEP and 3)FB/AEP, but im not sure how.I would be forever greatful if someone could explain a computer NOOB this process. Thanks http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Von_Zero
11-01-2004, 11:50 AM
ok, i apologise if the folowing will be offending for u since there are some simple things to do, but i am trying to explain the steps as easy as i can http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
u have AEP already installed right?
right click on the AEP instalation folder and select copy
then go where u want to have PF and hit ctrl+v (that is "paste") then rename the new folder something like "FB+AEP+PF
insert the pf CD1 in the drive (if u have more than one drives make sure u use the same drive for instalation, i've heard that if u insert each cd in a separate drive it won't work)
when the autorun window appears, select "install PF into FB+AEP"
then folow the instruction and make sure u install PF in the folder u copied earlier (the one called FB+AEP+PF) then folow the instructions.
when you will be asked fot the second CD insert that one.

after the instalation is complete
you will have the "mixed" (FB+AEP+PF) version installed (it will be v 3.0)

if u wanna make a stand alone install also, insert the first cd and select "install PF stand-alone" folow the steps on the screen, and u are asked about the folder, make sure u install it in a brand new folder. then follow the steps...etc..
actually it is easyer to do it than to explain it... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

gunshy028
11-02-2004, 07:13 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gifThank you VON ZERO for the info. It worked fine. I even learned a few more things about my computer.I now have the original FB\AEP and FB\AEP\PF in different folders. Now 1 more question. Do i have to create a seperate folder for PF stand alone or will it create one for me. Thanks again for all your help. GUN.

Von_Zero
11-02-2004, 09:27 AM
when it asks for the destination location, hit browse and go to where u want pf folder to resid. then in the "path" box after the adress type something like "\Pacific Fighters" or what name u want for the folder. "\" is a separation element and u must type it between the selected location and the new name.
hit ok and from here is just like before...