PDA

View Full Version : corsair top speed not being reached

Diamondaxe
12-22-2009, 06:14 PM
Hi,

I'm new to getting the complex engine management scene down and I'm having trouble with it. I fly the corsair almost exclusively and I can't reach the 400+ mph speed of the f4u. I've tested it out at 6000 meters 100% prop pitch 110% throttle supercharger on stage three radiator closed. I'm not the best at trimming my plane but that's not it I'm guessing as I'm only getting to 300 Mph.....mixture set to 100% by the way...Any pointers?

Diamondaxe

berg417448
12-22-2009, 06:19 PM
Read through this thread and see if it helps you out any. AndyJWest has posted a nice Indicated Airspeed vs True airspeed chart

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/4481038618 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/4481038618)

Diamondaxe
12-22-2009, 07:07 PM
Thanks for the response,

I do the wonder woman view thing and use the speed bar to no avail. I think vought sent me a lemon plane...i want to trade it in for a 1-C...(my test was done with the 1-D by the way)

AndyJWest
12-22-2009, 07:19 PM
The speed shown in the speed bar is indicated airspeed again, not true airspeed. There is a speed indicator dial below this that shows groundspeed, but I think it is in Km/h so you'd need to divide this by 1.61 to get mph.

Any external load will slow a plane down quite a bit, so test it 'clean'. Also, you need to fly straight and level for a minute or two at least before the speed stabilises.

According to IL-2 compare, the F4U's reach maximum speed at about 7000m, but this will vary slightly depending on the map and weather. Fuel load should'n make much difference at this altitude, though it does have progressively more effect on maximum speed with increasing altitude.

M_Gunz
12-22-2009, 07:46 PM
I believe that the Crimea Summer map is closest to standard atmosphere, it is accepted for tests below 10km alt.