PDA

View Full Version : Climbing and flaps

hugohugo37
11-17-2005, 05:31 PM
Say you are in a scramble situation and want to get to altitude as quickly as possible...Is it better to climb with combat flaps or raised flaps? I realise there is a battle going on between extra lift and added drag. And yes I could run some experiments myself but I was just wondering what you all do. Thanks.

danjama
11-17-2005, 05:36 PM
The steeper u wanna climb, use flaps. Id deploy flaps when climbing at 200kmh and below. If ur climbin at above 200kmh then no flaps needed. Its harder to balance plane with flaps down though. Id raise them once above 1200m if im scrambling, actually even if i wasnt i would raise em. no flaps = less drag and more speed (climb).

Man i have confused myself.

Anothrer way of putting it, depends what mood im in http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

VW-IceFire
11-17-2005, 07:03 PM
When I was a newbie I used flaps to climb...but then lots of other guys were outclimbing me without flaps and so I learned from that.

In general, you want to stay away from flaps and use the best climb speed. Whatever that may be for your given plane. Flaps just cause you drag and hinder you're ability to get to best climb speed.

Even in a scramble situation I'd prefer to be faster and climbing slower.

neural_dream
11-17-2005, 07:11 PM
When climbing flaps are only to drop a little bit the stall speed. When you want to climb fast you don't go at stall speed, you go at optimal speed (say 260km/h), which is easier when you don't unnecessarily lose energy due to flaps.

Zeus-cat
11-17-2005, 08:47 PM
Think about it, flaps, ailerons, rudder and elevators all cause drag. If you want to climb, dive or fly level as fast as you can, then minimize your drag - no flaps.

Zeus-cat

ronison
11-17-2005, 09:06 PM
Adding to what Zeus said: Drag = slower speeds. Slower speeds = less climb, Add flaps = about the climb you loose without flaps.