PDA

View Full Version : Vector to Target

kirenpillay
02-21-2007, 07:55 AM
Hi

I'm a newbie. I'm running the PF merged game. I am have a problem finding my squadron, normally after a dogfight.

I get the messages from the leader with a vector to him, but this doesn't help. Is this supposed to be working?

I tried asking the ground control to vector me to target, but it seems as if this doesn't work either?

XyZspineZyX
02-21-2007, 09:53 AM
Vector and heading are not the same

When your leader says "heading 340, altitude 800", he is not telling you to turn to 340 degrees to find the flight

He is telling the flight to turn to 340* to make a new leg on the assigned course. If you are not with the flight, this info will get you lost

The vector to target depends on what the target (if any) is. For instance, when trying to find a tank to bomb, the vector to target command will not give you a course to fly to find that tank

Zeus-cat
02-21-2007, 09:17 PM
You need to do what real pilots of the era did.

1) Draw your course out on a map (you will have to make your own crude map for this).

2) Identify each waypoint with a physical reference on the map (town, river, etc.) If over water you skip this step.

3) Note the distance/time between waypoints and the vector from one to the next.

4) Keep aware of which direction you are heading if you break off course to engage the enemy.

5) Don't tell me it can't be done, because I've done it. I rarely do it because it is too much work, but it can be done.

The other alternative is to keep the minimap function enabled which will allow you to see where you are on the map at all times. You will still have to estimate where your squad is if you have map icons off as only your plane will show up.

-HH-Quazi
02-21-2007, 11:03 PM