PDA

View Full Version : Question for computer brainiacs :D



Dominicrigg
03-06-2006, 02:24 PM
Ok i ask you guys caus i know you are well informed as to computers ect. Im thinking of upgrading to an athlon 64 bit thingybob. All i was wondering was if i will be able to still run windows xp on it, or if i need to get windows 64 or whatever it is. Also do i need to get a different type of graphics card, pci or whatever the new type is...

Meh i sound like i know what im on about dont i!! Can you tell i built my own computer first time round... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

vanjast
03-06-2006, 02:36 PM
Going by backward compatibilities of Intel and MSoft, you should be able to run DOS6xx on that machine, thus XP should also run.

Usually the later hardware has, 'Soft' switches that enable either 32bit or 64bit mode, simliar to the old Dos 16 bit 'Real Mode' and the 32 bit 'Protected Mode' on the older CPU's.

To summarise... Yeah, Ja, Ja Boet, Dah, ....

Whoops forgot G-Card.. If the slots are the same PCI, Mini PCI, AGP blah blah blah ...and it fits, No problem
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
Edt2:- You might have to configure your BIOS settings to optimise these goodies. there is someone with a 64bit system running - maybe they can give more precise info. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Kaleun1961
03-06-2006, 03:47 PM
I've got an Athlon 64 CPU and run regular 32-bit Windows on it, specifically, XP Media Center. The 64-bit CPU has no problems running 32-bit software, it's just that I won't get full 64-bit performance out of it until I am running fully 64-bit OS, drivers and applications. So go ahead and get that Athlon 64, you won't be disappointed.

Yellow_Sub
03-06-2006, 03:51 PM
You can run the normal Windows XP on it. However if you want to make use of the 64 bit, you need a 64 bit OS. There's a 64 Bit Version of Windows XP or Linux. However not many games make use of the 64 Bit mode (atm), might as well wait for Windows Vista.

There are a few Socket 939 AGP motherboards. Also there is a Dual Motherboard which has an AGP and a PCI slot. http://www.asrock.com/product/939Dual-SATA2.htm
It is pretty cheap but if you google for it, most reviews are good.
All other Motherboard which support AGP and PCI, don't have a real AGP function, they use some sort of emulation (slow).

If you have a very good AGP card, you might consider keeping it, otherwise I suggest you get a PCI-E card

wnt2rd
03-06-2006, 09:10 PM
I think SH3 doesn't run on a 64-bit OS. At least, I thought I read that somewhere. Just FYI and sorry if I'm wrong.

Dominicrigg
03-07-2006, 06:48 PM
Cool guys, thanks everyone. Has answered what i needed to know. When i decide on a system i will post it here to see what you all think.

Need to save up some money first though, or get a better job!! :P

blue_76
03-07-2006, 09:37 PM
hey dominico! i'm sure you'll save up the money. it just takes time and commitment. good luck!

Yellow_Sub
03-08-2006, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by wnt2rd:
I think SH3 doesn't run on a 64-bit OS. At least, I thought I read that somewhere. Just FYI and sorry if I'm wrong.

Your right. It is in the official FAQ at Ubisoft. I wonder if it will run on Windows Vista. :/