PDA

View Full Version : Newb to IL2 - HUD Enemy/waypoint display?



CorruptAssassin
01-28-2005, 12:58 AM
Hey all,

Just got the game, complete with a joystick today... I really enjoy it, but im wondering if there is a enemy/waypoint indicator that you can turn on/off when needed. I know there is a map option, but it doesn't display enemies.

Im asking, as the game seems similar in structure to European Air War, and that had an enemy/waypoint indicator when needed.

So, is this possible? Im having a hard trouble keeping up with waypoints/distinguishing between friend and foe, or even finding enemies.

If its NOT possible, looks like i have to learn :S

CorruptAssassin
01-28-2005, 12:58 AM
Hey all,

Just got the game, complete with a joystick today... I really enjoy it, but im wondering if there is a enemy/waypoint indicator that you can turn on/off when needed. I know there is a map option, but it doesn't display enemies.

Im asking, as the game seems similar in structure to European Air War, and that had an enemy/waypoint indicator when needed.

So, is this possible? Im having a hard trouble keeping up with waypoints/distinguishing between friend and foe, or even finding enemies.

If its NOT possible, looks like i have to learn :S

AlGroover
01-28-2005, 03:23 AM
If you are flying offline missions make sure you have enabled minimap icons and flightpaths in the difficulty options. Online, these are at the discretion of the master of the server and commonly disallowed. Check out the 'user defined' options in the controls section. Lots of useful stuff there. Toggle FOV, for instance will be of use in identifying objects at a distance.

dieg777
01-28-2005, 04:28 AM
yep -there are two pages on the difficulty settings -you need to enable the ones above on the second page then your plane shows up white and others show either blue or red on the map.

check out this site for general tips under guides

http://www.airwarfare.com/index.htm

CorruptAssassin
01-28-2005, 06:42 AM
ahhh thanks guys, thats exactly what im looking for!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers!

VF-29_Sandman
01-28-2005, 06:50 AM
maybe u were thinking of the 'radar' that cfs2 has. it isnt in fb, but u can set it up to display ur flight path/bogeys on map as described above. u'd get enemy 'arrow' indicators in no-cockpit view, but if u ever plan on playing in a full real server like say...greatergreen, it would help u to learn how to fly in cockpit from the get-go.

*u've now succummed to the dark side of the force. forever will it dominate yer destiny* http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

Bearcat99
01-28-2005, 02:32 PM
Hey welcome aboard....... as time progresses I suggest you wean yourself from the map icons.... it will keep the sim fresh everytime you cut something out like icons or speedbar etc. Have fun..