PDA

View Full Version : Noob questions to end them all

Afromike1
06-09-2008, 06:27 PM
Although I am fairly new to the game, I'm sure many of us noobs are wondering the same things im going to ask.

- first of all, what is the most effective way to climb? Fast-high angle bursts into the air then leveling off (loosing a lot of speed), or slow-and-steady accelerated climbing?... this can also apply when not in a dogfight(I just want to get good altitude before engaging a plane)

- Second, do you guys prefer using flaps in a dogfight? Such as , if possible, using combat flaps when in a turn or just straight on, not-loosing-any-speed, normal flaps?

- Thirdly, when I dive attack I can never seem to regain my altitude when pulling back up. should I be using flaps when diving?

- Sorta off topic but what is the best way to dogfight in a bf-109 or a fw-190? Should I be using climbing/diving strategies? I can never seem to fly a 190 well, even though I've seen documentaries saying that german aces prefered the 190 over the 109 any day.

- And lastly, what is better to use in a first-encounter dogfight? The cannons or the machine guns? When im using cannons I seem to get better 1-hit KOs.

stugumby
06-09-2008, 06:41 PM
Hi, well I'm certainly no expert but it seems speed is life and energy retention is the key to it all. I seldom use combat flaps, unless about to over shoot my intended victim, but as I am terrible about seeing below my nose I tend to neg G myself and cause unnecessary blackouts etc. Climbing rapidly may lead to loss of acceleration and energy retention problems, probably best done in the boom and zoom to regain altitude quickly, a steady climb to alt is easier on your engine and gives you more reaction capability than hanging on your prop watching your speed drop as alt increases.