PDA

View Full Version : my review, comments and suggestions for Pacific Fighters

JonHal
11-04-2004, 10:29 AM
Before I get into my review of Pacific Fighters let me give you a little background on me and my flight sim experience I've always been a student of the pacific Theatre. I own literally hundreds of books on the subject. I'm an active model builder for this time period as well. No other historical period interests me as much as the Pacific Theatre of World War 2 and not to sound immodest I do know the period well. I€ve had the honor of meeting several WW2 legends in my life including Greg Boyington and James Flatley.

I am NOT an IL2 diehard. I started playing flight sims way back with Battlehawks 1942. I moved on to Aces of the Pacific, Pacific Air War and combat Flight Simulator 2. I do purchase European theatre sims but I don€t enjoy them as much as the Pacific Theatre. So I did Purchase and fly IL2, CFS3, EAW and many others. I never purchased IL2 :FB or the Aces expansion pack.
When I heard that the IL2 Team was putting together a Pacific Sim I was ecstatic. While I didn€t get into IL2 that much I did appreciate it€s technical merits and features. I just wasn€t too interested in the Eastern Front.

Flash forward to receiving my copy of Pacific fighters.

Planes: Very pleased with the selection of planes in the package. Love seeing the many models of Corsairs including the F4U-1 Birdcage! Excellent. There are a few glaring omissions. Why can€t I fly a Kate or Avenger? Where is the Devastator? I realize this is Pacific Fighters and not Pacific Torpedo Bombers but their absence in a highly touted historically accurate flight Sim is glaring.