PDA

View Full Version : 1.2 ate my computer



XyZspineZyX
11-19-2003, 10:17 PM
I was benchmarking a new stick of ram and wondered why an expensive stick of corsair lost me 10fps. I then noticed that I was in 1.2.

I then benchmarked 1.1 and 1.2 with the same graphics/sound settings.

On black death run

Average

1.1 = 30.9 Fps
1.2rc4 = 21.9 Fps

Gosh - when we get to 1.2 general release I'll need a cray

XP2600+
512Mb
R8500 cat 3.7
Fortissimo III



http://perso.club-internet.fr/ptthome/vulogo3.JPG

XyZspineZyX
11-19-2003, 10:17 PM
I was benchmarking a new stick of ram and wondered why an expensive stick of corsair lost me 10fps. I then noticed that I was in 1.2.

I then benchmarked 1.1 and 1.2 with the same graphics/sound settings.

On black death run

Average

1.1 = 30.9 Fps
1.2rc4 = 21.9 Fps

Gosh - when we get to 1.2 general release I'll need a cray

XP2600+
512Mb
R8500 cat 3.7
Fortissimo III



http://perso.club-internet.fr/ptthome/vulogo3.JPG

XyZspineZyX
11-19-2003, 10:39 PM
Thats odd. I'm running a similar setup and I've noticed no loss of FPS...infact it seems smoother than before.

Athlon XP 2700+
A7N8X
512mb PC2700
Radeon 9700Pro 128mb Cat 3.7

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig.jpg
"Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few." - Winston Churchill

XyZspineZyX
11-20-2003, 01:26 PM
Hi Icefire,

Maby with the 9700 you're running far above the 30fps that humans can see?

Could you do a test run on the black death run side by side with 1.11 and 1.2 and post a FPS reading?

I'd been flying 1.2 without noticing visible degradation (except for occasional random glitches) it was only the framecounter that revealed the scale of dropoff.

I'm running the same mobo as you but with 3200 ram and 2600+ clocked at 2.2Mhz so I would expect similar results except for the graphics board.

As I've been thinking about a 9700 upgrade it would be interesting to see your graphics settings and results.



http://perso.club-internet.fr/ptthome/vulogo3.JPG

XyZspineZyX
11-20-2003, 03:02 PM
There is a HUGE difference in performance between a R8500 and a R9700.

I went from a R8500 Pro 128MB to a R9700 Pro 128MB and I can garantee you will be happy when you do the same.

XyZspineZyX
11-20-2003, 08:49 PM
If you think it ate your computer, you should see what it's doing to my free time!