PDA

View Full Version : Code of conduct.

slappedsilly
02-28-2007, 06:19 PM
You know I don't have my own server. I play and have donated to the ones I like. I would just like to remind those who run them that they have a special place in the flight sim world. They can make a new simmer have a good experience or a bad one. I realize that it is YOUR server and you can do with it what you will. But if you turn off more people than you encourage, you are killing the very thing you love. I have been banned from one server (for life apperently) for trying out the MK-108 (monkey with a gun, i'll admitt) but no warning or anything. I was recently kicked from one for taking off on the tarmac. Killing the sim you love, is no "Code of conduct". I've been playing offline since 2001. I started playing online about 1 year ago, and I'm here to tell you, the way some servers are being run will not help the future of simming!! Typing in a warning, or something shouldn't be too difficult if you would like to encourage rather than discourage. I play fair, have never cheated or tried to cheat in any video game, and I hate kill stealers (but only after they are warned), and this is my opinion.

Rodger1944
02-28-2007, 06:48 PM
Slappedsilly said it well.... After all, aren't we all here to have a good time? I guess it's a human failing.. you give an insecure person a little bit of authority and they abuse it.

FritzGryphon
02-28-2007, 07:19 PM
I agree 100% with server rules so long as they are intended to improve the play experience for everyone. Some features the game doesn't have, like armament limits and plane number limits, can be done only if people follow the rules.

If you've ever tried to fly a bomber in a late war server, you know why MK108s might be kept out.

If there's a rule about using runways, it's probably to prevent the inevitable taxiway pile-ups that happen on busy servers. If the server has limited planes on it, it's even more important to drive safe.