PDA

View Full Version : what sound card for IL2:FB???



XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 09:31 AM
I have XP Pro SP1, KT4AV, XP2800+, 1Gb DDR PC3200, ADSL, GeForceFX 5600 256Mb, and SB Live!

I hate this sound card, its ch!t, and keeps stuttering, dropping out losing sounds etc etc... I have the latest drivers from Creative and still no good. This card wasn't that good with IL2 either

What is the best sound card for IL2:FB?

K√¬§mpferAs

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 09:31 AM
I have XP Pro SP1, KT4AV, XP2800+, 1Gb DDR PC3200, ADSL, GeForceFX 5600 256Mb, and SB Live!

I hate this sound card, its ch!t, and keeps stuttering, dropping out losing sounds etc etc... I have the latest drivers from Creative and still no good. This card wasn't that good with IL2 either

What is the best sound card for IL2:FB?

K√¬§mpferAs

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 09:54 AM
Never had any problems with good old built-in AC'97 compliant card.

In your case your motherboard comes with built-in 5.1 sound chip. Try to take out the SB Live and enable the built-in soundcard. It just may be better.

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 10:14 AM
You mean , if you disable sound in the game stutter goes away?
There's a sound issue in FB so noone can tell for sure if your problems will be eliminated with a better sound card.
Wait for the patch before making any decisions.
It's knocking on our door.
And no, on board sound is nowhere near as good as any sound card.
Onboard sound utilises the cpu power and FB is very cpu sensitive.

<center>http://users.compulink.gr/ilusin@e-free.gr/bf109[2)1.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 10:25 AM
Christos_swc wrote:
-
- And no, on board sound is nowhere near as good as
- any sound card.
- Onboard sound utilises the cpu power and FB is very
- cpu sensitive.
-

I had a slight drop in FPS when I switched from onboard sound to a SBLive! 5.1, and others have reported that as well.

cheers/slush

http://dk.groups.yahoo.com/group/aktivitetsdage/files/Eurotrolls.gif

You can't handle the truth!
Col. Jessep

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 11:16 AM
Sound Cards can be a tricky thing to figure out.

In MOST games, having a decent sound card(say, an Audigy), improves performance considerably over a standard AC 97 codec.

Now, some onboard sound, like that found in Asus' nForce2 boards, are just as good or even better than a dedicated PCI sound card.

However, just like video card drivers, sound is often not optimized for a game from a performance standpoint. Wether its the driver or the game is anyones guess, but I have noticed that FB doesn't really seem to benefit from a nice Sound Card. I went from a SB Live! to an Audigy2 and did not gain a single frame per sec. Maybe one here or there, but nothing I can notice.

What you have to remember also is that for a game that takes advantage of a particular sound cards abilities, the sound will be much better as well. I have noticed that the sound in many games was improved when I installed the Audigy2, for example.

For FB, wait for the patch before you do anything, because it is suppossed to be a totally new sound engine.

If you decide to buy a new card, I would recommend an Audigy OEM or Audigy 2 OEM. They are very cheap for what you are getting(from $45-$70). Some of the Hercules cards are good too , especailly if you are on a realyl tight budget.

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 03:24 PM
There is a big misconseption that all built-in sound cards will hog CPU. That was true for AC'97 cards (remembers 97 stands for 1997, when the standard was released). AC'97 is a codec, basically little more than software sound cards that depends very much on the CPU. But many new built-in sound cards, like those that come with nForce2, have their own dedicated hardware chip that sits on the PCI bus just like a real card does. I am prety sure that they will not hog the CPU if enabled. Their quality may depend but I bet the sound card in KT4AV is better quality than SB Live! which is ancient by today's standards.

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 03:29 PM
I refuse to use creative since my debacle with their live series.

I just purchased (to replace my fortissimo2) a retail Hercules fotissimo3 for $45 from newegg.com

Rogo



<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/Rogo_s%20Sig.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 03:51 PM
Your best bet is to go with Nvidia's (industry leader in games) onboard SoundstormT integrated APU. (AMD CPU required)

Maybe Creative's new drivers fixed all the historical problems they have been having but I will believe it when I see it. I read gaming forums and creative sound cards suck!

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 03:54 PM
I decreased XP sound acceleration and have not had any issues with sound.

You might want to try that at least - set it to standard

start->run type in "dxdiag"

goto sound card, lower the acceleration slider from "full" to "standard"

S!
609IAP_Recon

Forgotten Wars Virtual War
Forum: http://fogwar.luftwaffe.net/forums/index.php
Website: http://forgottenwars.dyndns.org
Visit 609IAP at http://takeoff.to/609IAP

http://www.leeboats.com/609/sig/609_recon3.jpg

Agnus Dei, Qui Tollis peccata mundi, Miserere nobis. Dona nobis pacem

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 04:08 PM
I use Hercules Fortissimo III 7.1.
Had to turn off hardware extensions to make it work, but after that it has worked flawlessly.


http://sivusto.servepics.com/~lahnat/werre2s.jpg

veiting foor p√¬§ts

michapma
08-08-2003, 04:14 PM
Well I've already posted this over in Tech Support, but since you guys are all giving advice on sound cards, how about this question:

I've made a controller for myself and want to test it but discovered that my motherboard doesn't have a game port. (Thunk.) Since this is a general trend and I don't feel like working out a USB solution, I shopped and found a silly little sound card with a game port for about $20. I could try out using the sound card or I could keep using the onboard sound, my main concern is whether, when I install the sound card to use the game port, there will be a fight over control for sound. Is it likely that I will have to struggle with Windows to get it to recognize one or the other, or is it easy to switch?

Edit: Windows 2000, btw, with SiS658 mobo
EditEdit: SiS648 sorry

Cheers,
Mike

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10"><tr valign="middle" bgcolor="#3e463b"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr bgcolor="#515e2f"><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

‚ =69.GIAP=Chap‚

69.GIAP (http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/giap/)</p></td><td width="40%" align="right" valign="top">Hardware:
Flight Simulation Performance Analyzed (http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_062a.html)
Building a home-made throttle quadrant step by step (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zkavv)
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

Message Edited on 08/08/03‚ 05:14PM by michapma

Message Edited on 08/08/0305:15PM by michapma

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 05:12 PM
Depends on the irq request through the drivers mike.

I know that all the hercules sound cards have game ports though-might want to try one.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/LAGIF-small.gif>

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/Rogo_s%20Sig.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 05:42 PM
Hey Mike,

It should be fairly easy to switch from one to the other. Having the gameport only enabled and using the onboard sound is a different question. Is that what you were asking?



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/p47atm.gif

michapma
08-08-2003, 09:34 PM
Tbolt yes, and Rogodin thanks. I'm thinking. /i/smilies/16x16_robot-happy.gif

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="10"><tr valign="middle" bgcolor="#3e463b"><td height="40" colspan="3" align="center">The ongoing IL-2 User's Guide project (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/il2guide/)</a></td></tr><tr bgcolor="#515e2f"><td width="40%">FB engine management:
Manifold Pressure sucks (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182081-1.html)
Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182082-1.html)
Mixture Magic (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182084-1.html)
Putting It All Together (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182085-1.html)
Those Fire-Breathing Turbos (Part 1 of 6) (http://www.avweb.com/news/columns/182102-1.html)</td><td align="center">

‚ =69.GIAP=Chap‚

69.GIAP (http://www.baseclass.modulweb.dk/giap/)</p></td><td width="40%" align="right" valign="top">Hardware:
Flight Simulation Performance Analyzed (http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_062a.html)
Building a home-made throttle quadrant step by step (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_gd&id=zkavv)
Sound Can Be Hazardous for Games (http://www6.tomshardware.com/game/20030405/index.html)</td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 09:59 PM
MCP-T on nForce2.

smoother.

Evidence here.

<img src =http://toocool34.cafe24.com/images/quake.gif>

<img src =http://toocool34.cafe24.com/images/coman.gif>

Sound quality? same or better. NO noise like SB Live.

XyZspineZyX
08-08-2003, 10:06 PM
The Nvidia APU is the only onboard sound that uses hardware I believe. Every other onboard sound setup uses the AC97 Codec which will hog cpu. The newer ones are better about quality, but they still hog cpu. As for Creative, their cards have had a history of hogging the PCI bus, which causes many of their problems. No one ever mentions the Phillips solutions which are every bit as good as Creatives, but are usually problem free.


"Ich bin ein Wuergerwhiner"

"The future battle on the ground will be preceded by battle in the air. This will determine which of the contestants has to suffer operational and tactical disadvantages and be forced throughout the battle into adoption compromise solutions." --Erwin Rommel

http://lbhskier37.freeservers.com/Mesig.jpg
--NJG26_Killa--