PDA

View Full Version : Joystick Deadzone

cp72
03-20-2009, 04:03 PM
I'm currently playing the Steam version so am doomed to wait for Valve to take care of us, but I have a question about the patch for those of you already playing under it. Does it do anything to help the problem of the large deadzone on joysticks or are we still stuck with that?

cp72
03-20-2009, 04:03 PM
I'm currently playing the Steam version so am doomed to wait for Valve to take care of us, but I have a question about the patch for those of you already playing under it. Does it do anything to help the problem of the large deadzone on joysticks or are we still stuck with that?

JoeBongo
03-20-2009, 04:42 PM
The patch doesn't help, but I hacked up my input_filters.cfg inside the Config folder to hopefully lessen or remove the deadzone function in there (I'm not a coder but hope I've NOP'ed it so to speak).

My file now reads as below. I'd appreciate other people making a backup of what they have now and giving this a try instead. It's late now in London so I'll check back in the morning.

Cheers,

Joe
-----Copy beneath this line------
pitchvalue = { 0, 0 }
rollvalue = { 0, 0 }

RegisterNewFilter("filter_power", 3, "PowFilterFunc");
RegisterNewFilter("filter_roll", 4, "RollFilterFunc");
RegisterNewFilter("filter_pitch", 3, "PitchFilterFunc");
RegisterNewFilter("filter_assistance", 2, "AssistanceFilterFunc");
RegisterNewFilter("filter_changecamera", 4, "CameraFilterFunc");

function PowFilterFunc(val, dt, pow)
return val^pow;
end

function RollFilterFunc (val,dt,div,idx)
rollvalue[idx] = val
local maxpitch = pitchvalue[1]
if(maxpitch < pitchvalue[2]) then
maxpitch = pitchvalue[2]
end
local rolldeadzone = 0
local finalvalue = 0;
if (val < rolldeadzone) then
finalvalue = 0;
else
finalvalue = val
end
-- print (pitchvalue,rolldeadzone,finalvalue)
return finalvalue;
end

function PitchFilterFunc (val,dt, idx)
pitchvalue [idx] = val
return val
end

function AssistanceFilterFunc(val, dt)