PDA

View Full Version : Should I get the Type VIIC U boat?

Dron22
01-20-2010, 08:19 AM
Hello everyone, I am new to this game and I am on my 25th patrol with a Type VII B U-Boat, I started in 1939 and I play 1.4 stock version and no mods.
I now have around 15'000 renown and just got my 2nd promotion. I now think if I should spend some and get a Type VII C submarine, but when I look at its characteristcs, I see that it has almost no difference to the Type VII B I currently use. In fact Type VII B has a slightly better speed. So what will I gain if I get the type VII C U boat?

I don't want to transfer to the 2nd or the 10th Flotilla and get a type IX B or IX C U-boat because I will be sent on very long distance patrols like to South Africa or Caribean where it takes over 15 minutes real time just to get there and there is very little to sink.

Celeon999
01-20-2010, 01:10 PM
Hi and welcome aboard. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Yes there is little difference between the VIIB and C versions.

I believe it was a slight bit longer than the VIIB, recieved better batteries, and a slighty larger crew aswell (Just a few men more).

I would go for the VIIC nonetheless as you may not get all upgrades for the B that will become availabe for the C.

Dron22
01-20-2010, 01:39 PM
Thanks Celeon,

I have tried getting the type VII C, in game terms the crew size is exactly the same and so are upgrades, I think they just get different connning towers but that's it. I could be wrong but I get the impression it's a waste of 3000 renown for almost the same submarine. I think I will reload the game to a save where I still have the type VIIB for now, this sub has been good so far anyway.
In real life the type C was slightly longer and modernised by a margin, interestingly Germany had only produced 24 type VIIB subs in total, but they build nearly 200 type VIIC during the war.

Celeon999
01-20-2010, 02:35 PM