PDA

View Full Version : My God! Perfect with just an Nvid GF FX5200!!!! This is great!



Feathered_IV
11-03-2004, 04:28 AM
I can hardly believe this. After untold shiny water envy of the big boys I can actually get playable framerates with this old entry level card 2.4 ghz and 1g ddr!

Thanks Oleg!!!!!!!!!

Happy PF customer.

Feathered_IV
11-03-2004, 04:28 AM
I can hardly believe this. After untold shiny water envy of the big boys I can actually get playable framerates with this old entry level card 2.4 ghz and 1g ddr!

Thanks Oleg!!!!!!!!!

Happy PF customer.

Endy1
11-03-2004, 04:34 AM
Hi, like I said in a previous post, my system is a 2.2AMD with a TI4600, I run in perfect with water=1. Great stuff.

cueceleches
11-03-2004, 04:44 AM
Ok, so tell me how cauze with a P4 at 3.06 GHZ and 2GB Dual RAM, and a 9800XT, I still can´t get decent FPS with water at 1 and have to leave it at 0.

BlastinFooz-619
11-03-2004, 08:38 AM
yea man i was about to start savin to get a 6800 card but i have 3.0 ghz 512 ram and a geforce FX 5200 and i get the perfect water with playable frame rates. i love it. took this game to a whole nother level for me.

buffscrum
11-03-2004, 10:06 AM
I've got an FX 5200 PCI (cause I'm an idiot and didn't buy an AGP capable machine), and my FPS are really hit and miss. I tried the IJN Midway single mission and I couldn't play it. I tried the USN F4F Tuilagi mission and it worked ok. I tried some of the USN carrier take off and landing singles and was pleased with my fps. I also did some QMB stuff over water and land, flew part of the 1st mission of the RAAF Beau campaign, and it seemed ok (fps around 20 or higher, which is all I expect) I haven't gone into the con.ini to change water or trees yet. I've only got 768 megs of ram, and a poor processor (2.3 GHz Celeron). Most of my settings are medium or the equivalent. Anything else I can change?

Charlie901
11-03-2004, 11:30 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cueceleches:
Ok, so tell me how cauze with a P4 at 3.06 GHZ and 2GB Dual RAM, and a 9800XT, I still can´t get decent FPS with water at 1 and have to leave it at 0. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


IMHO the Nvidia cards really do OGL mode better which means faster FPS in this OGL designed game.

buffscrum
11-03-2004, 12:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> IMHO the Nvidia cards really do OGL mode better which means faster FPS in this OGL designed game <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I'll agree with that. I can't play it in DirectX

WOODY01
11-03-2004, 01:15 PM
cueceleches, I have exactly the same specks as you, and I can run with the defult perfict mode and well everything as you install it, Im getting an average of 35-40fps, it looks fantastic and is as smooth as silk, maybe check your AA and AF settings, Im running AAx4 and AF x 2, openGL.

PF_Coastie
11-03-2004, 02:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cueceleches:
Ok, so tell me how cauze with a P4 at 3.06 GHZ and 2GB Dual RAM, and a 9800XT, I still can´t get decent FPS with water at 1 and have to leave it at 0. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Because, one persons idea of "playable fps" may be totally different than anothers. Also the fact that some people will not sacrifice certain things for other things. For instance, there is now way I would sacrifice AA to play in perfect mode if it ever dropped below 30fps. Some may never drop below a certain resolution.

Its all a matter of individual taste.

With that said cueceleches, Have you tried my PF settings for ATI cards in my sig? If not, you should!

For Charlie, Believe what you will! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

path21
11-03-2004, 03:45 PM
I have a problem... My comp specification: 800 DDR ram, AMD athlon 2200+ and Gf Ti4200 64mb. Game run slowly at Midway. If i skip time x2 or more, it starts to blockin game so much. So processes are runin as slow as if i havent skip time. Normaly i get auto pilot and wait till i reach the islands (this can take half hour and if they shot me down, i have to wait another half hour). I think my processor is too slow. I dont know wot really slow down the game... Can u help me to found out wot i have to change(processor or grafic card)?

johann63
11-03-2004, 07:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BlastinFooz-619:
yea man i was about to start savin to get a 6800 card but i have 3.0 ghz 512 ram and a geforce FX 5200 and i get the perfect water with playable frame rates. i love it. took this game to a whole nother level for me. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I have a P4 1.8 512ram GF Fx 5500 OC 256DDR and I cant get playable frame rates in many, many attempts at perfect. I get about 8fps.

Any chance you think I could get playable frame rates? Any advice to get to this?

thanks

path21
11-06-2004, 04:57 AM
I dont know johann63. But i have same problem...
My processor is AMD athlon 2200+ and i think this is not enough. I can set my grafic settings on very low but i still cant reach playable frames (it runs same at very high grafic settings).

ThePlainsman
11-06-2004, 10:15 PM
My machine is P4, 2.4 with 512mb RAM and FX 5700LE. Frame rates are great at 1024 x 768 in 32 bit color.

Tdavart
11-06-2004, 10:29 PM
I'm running on a pretty low-end rig and getting playable results. AMD 1.4g, ATI 9500 Pro 128mb, 512 DDR 2100. All settings on max, water at 0, Open GL. Granted, don't get the high-end water effects, but still looks nice with motion and reflections. Added the 3D gunners and didn't notice much of a hit (yet).

path21
11-07-2004, 08:17 AM
Well can somebody tell me how to get show FPS in PF... i am normaly using somekind of program that shows me fps during the games... but it takes a lot of RAM... so can u help me with command and where i have to write it that PF it self show FPS. tanx