PDA

View Full Version : Internet Connection



Doogsy1
06-21-2007, 04:58 AM
I'm a noob at this stuff don't know much about it but I've just ordered a new broadband modem. I'll only be connecting at a slow broadband connection but oh well. The minimum speed required to play GRAW 2 online is 128kbps and what I'm connecting to is 256kbps downstream and 64kbps upstream. Is the 128kbps required, downstream and will I be able to play GRAW 2?
Thanks.

ColinCJ
06-21-2007, 05:22 AM
1.1. System Requirements

Minimum:
Processor:
2 GHz Pentium® IV or AMD Athlon™ (2.8 GHz Pentium IV or AMD Athlon recommended)


Operating System: Windows XP/Vista (Only)

Memory: 1024 MB RAM

Disk Space: 5 GB

Graphics Card: 128 MB DX9.0c shader 2 model Compatible card,
GeForce 6200 or higher
Radeon 9700 or higher

Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible

DVD-ROM drive : 4x read speed

DirectX Version: 9.0c

Network: High-speed modem with 128 Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a client, 512Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a server on a full game. ************************************************
Recommended Configuration:
Processor: Intel or AMD 2.8 GHz
Operating System: Windows XP/Vista
Memory: 1024 MB RAM
Disk Space: 5 GB
Graphics Card: 256 MB DX9.0c compatible card,
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible
CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive : x2 read speed
DirectX Version: 9.0c
Network: High-Speed Modem with 128 Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a client, 512Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a server on a full game.

Graphics Cards Supported:
Radeon 9700
Radeon 9800
Radeon X700
Radeon X800
Radeon X850
Radeon X1300
Radeon X1600
Radeon X1800
Radeon X1900
Radeon X1950

GeForce 6200
GeForce 6600
GeForce 6800
GeForce 7800
GeForce 7900
GeForce 7650
GeForce 8800

Laptop models of these cards are not supported.These chipsets are the only ones that will run this game. Additional chipsets may be supported after release. For an up-to-date list of
supported chipsets, please visit the FAQ for this game on our website:http://support.ubi.com


If you experience problems, consult paragraph 4.1.

Snipe4Me
06-21-2007, 09:44 AM
Network: High-Speed Modem with 128 Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a client, 512Kbits of data transfer upload rate for a server on a full game .

It doesn't look feasible for you taking a look at the above specs.

Titanium_Gold
06-21-2007, 10:50 AM
Colin, so a Radeon X 1100 will not run the game?

ColinCJ
06-21-2007, 11:08 AM
Originally posted by Titanium_Gold:
Colin, so a Radeon X 1100 will not run the game?
I cant say if it will or wont I have seen specs with lower than recommended and the games runs.
It really means its not supported officially.

We have a lot of guys here with various problems using laptops.
Chiset versions get updated all the time so may be this long after release it will be fine.

Titanium_Gold
06-21-2007, 03:11 PM
I was wondering because I am got this:

http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/store/cur_page.jsp?BV_S...=501553&page=Product (http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/store/cur_page.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@2062321416.118246020 0@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccggaddlfgdhleicflgceggdhhmdgmi.0&sku=501553&page=Product)

It has all the recomended requierments. Should run it fine..

Doogsy1
06-21-2007, 11:01 PM
Thanks. Do you think I'd still be able to play even though it would lag a bit? Has anyone hear played the demo on a 64kbps upload connection?

ThumperDFN
06-22-2007, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by Sanctuary5:
I'm a noob at this stuff don't know much about it but I've just ordered a new broadband modem. I'll only be connecting at a slow broadband connection but oh well. The minimum speed required to play GRAW 2 online is 128kbps and what I'm connecting to is 256kbps downstream and 64kbps upstream. Is the 128kbps required, downstream and will I be able to play GRAW 2?
Thanks.

That doesn't sound like broadband to me. More like fast dial-up (there was an acronym for it,but it escapes me). Call a cable or ADSL provider and get real broadband. They will provide a modem.
If you try to play using your modem, people will flame you to death. Sorry.

Doogsy1
06-23-2007, 04:12 AM
Originally posted by ThumperDFN:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Sanctuary5:
I'm a noob at this stuff don't know much about it but I've just ordered a new broadband modem. I'll only be connecting at a slow broadband connection but oh well. The minimum speed required to play GRAW 2 online is 128kbps and what I'm connecting to is 256kbps downstream and 64kbps upstream. Is the 128kbps required, downstream and will I be able to play GRAW 2?
Thanks.

That doesn't sound like broadband to me. More like fast dial-up (there was an acronym for it,but it escapes me). Call a cable or ADSL provider and get real broadband. They will provide a modem.
If you try to play using your modem, people will flame you to death. Sorry. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't care lol. And yes it's definately broadband, the slowest http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif. Yeh don't us Aussies have slower internet than you Americans (I'm assuming you're American)?

ThumperDFN
06-23-2007, 02:37 PM
yep. I'm a Yank alright. Your connection is probably ISDN, not broadband. Does it connect to the mdoem through the phone line?
My cable connection speed it 613kb/s up and 4,681 kb/s down.

Doogsy1
06-23-2007, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by ThumperDFN:
yep. I'm a Yank alright. Your connection is probably ISDN, not broadband. Does it connect to the mdoem through the phone line?
My cable connection speed it 613kb/s up and 4,681 kb/s down.

lol it's broadband, not ISDN.

ThumperDFN
06-26-2007, 04:59 PM
Well, I guess it is for you, then! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif

Doogsy1
06-27-2007, 02:20 AM
So do you reckon it will be playable?

ThumperDFN
06-27-2007, 04:17 PM
Maybe only with local Oz players. On US or UK servers, I doubt that it would be playable 64K up and 256K down. Bummer, man!