PDA

View Full Version : Logitech FFB sticks...



XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 02:04 PM
There's this Strike Force 3d and Force 3d. Have any of you used one? Are they good?

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 02:04 PM
There's this Strike Force 3d and Force 3d. Have any of you used one? Are they good?

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 02:25 PM
I have "Strike force 3D" FFB stick and I like it a lot, some say the unit burns out or the FFB doesn't work after awhile. I've had mine for over a year now and it was a refurbished unit I got for $35.oo, no problems and I use it everyday for at least an hour or two, as well sometimes I never unplug the power supply and it seems fairly hot but still works fine. I think the difference is the amount of buttons, the force 3D has a few less buttons or no "wheel" button, this button is great since I have it mapped to be my airelon trim control, I would recommend it, a lot of people will say the "Saitek 50" or something like that, haven't seen one in a store so I wouldn't know it's pros and cons.

<center>http://www.skalman.nu/worldwar2/bilder/su-airforce.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 03:01 PM
Have the force 3d,

I like it.

It has 7 buttons and a throttle, 3 axis and doesn't cost the earth.



Cpt-Madcowz
Comsa (http://www.comsa.co.uk)



"When the hunter comes, the tiger runs with the deer."

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 03:52 PM
If you can find one of the old ones :

http://64.95.118.51/images/opti/c4/fb/189658-elec_sm-resized200.jpg


online somewher they are great, I'v had mine for 4 or 5 years. it doesnt have twist rudder (which i went bad on the Logitech nonFFB stick i bought in a couple of months)

but with rudder pedals it's great!

just a thought...

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 04:06 PM
I got the strikeforce 3d - not bad, easy to setup and nice n heavy.

Lomac I seem to have a few problems with it but I think it my configuration of it.

For IL2FB its great.

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 04:11 PM
Thanks for the response, guys! I might just go get one.

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 07:18 PM
strike force 3d I've had it for about two years...works great.

It is No longer sold thru retail store oputlets, though. Look on EBay. There is a company selling/auctioning them(Maybe they bought out logitech's inventory??) foraround $20(versus retail store price which was $80+tax)... I bought one as a spare just in case my primary should fail someday.

<center>Wiley</center><center><font color="#FF0000";font size="3pt">Click HERE to visit Wiley'sWWIIGunCameraWorld (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Frameset/)</center>
<center>http://imagehost.auctionwatch.com/preview/wi/wileycoyote2/IwoJimatiny2.gif (http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~chapman/flightsims/oberstguncam/Movies/SandsOne.WMV) </center>
<center><font size ="2pt">Click Flag-Raising for the Full-Size(4.2Mb) Version</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 07:45 PM
Beware the rudder potentiometer. . . goes bad on Logitech sticks quite often. I was getting major spikes, couldn't center it, and every single other user that I knw had the same problems after a fairly short time.

I threw mine away, but found a tube of dilectric grease and decided "what the hey. . it is already in the garbage", I can't hurt it. I had rebuilt the thing a million times and this was the last time, now one of my formation buddies uses it, and it works fine 8 months after the grease. I just took the halves off (put a bit of tape over the buttons first) and then put a small dollop of the grease on the interface point of the pot, enough that it could work down into it.

BE forwarned I am not saying this is a good or anything, or that you won't break anything, and I doubt that Logitech would like this if you still have a warranty.

This is just a tidbit to for those that may have a dead Logitech somewhere.



S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

(Former)Reserve Pilot Aircraft #2 of Gruppo 313
Pattuglia Acrobatica Virtuale
http://www.pav-amvi.it

http://www.attitudeaviation.com/

http://www.calaggieflyers.com/



http://www.txsquadron.com/images/txsquadron_main.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-16-2003, 07:58 PM
This thread may answer anything you need to know about
making your Logitech stick undead.

http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zyhiv


Other than that, I had some problems with Logitech as they seems not have enough precision. Some airplanes may seem being more unstable than they really are (like Bf109). When I have switched to Microsoft FFB2 all problems went away...

Cheers,
/Chris Z.

XyZspineZyX
10-17-2003, 12:56 AM
I'm going to replace my Strike Force 3d soon, I find the self centering of this (or any?) FF stick not precise enough. It needs a rather large deadzone to compensate now.
The best thing of the strike force is the dual hat switch, 12 buttons under your thumb. Nice.

If I can reccomend another stick: the Saitek Cyborg 3D Rumble Stick. Gives you the centering of a normal stick with nice lighter feedback.
Looks like a pig though.
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
10-17-2003, 01:04 AM
OK; but here we go again about compatibilities. The MSFF got some good reviews but a lot of hassle in making it work in FB. How about the Thrustmaster FF? It's pricey (about 100 bucks in Colorado Springs) but has a lot of great features. Has ayone had experience with it, and , most of all, is it comptabile with FB? I am tempted to buy it. Any feedback? Bob Roberts