PDA

View Full Version : Can't trim out.



TheHajj
02-15-2007, 05:21 PM
I can't seem to trim out the Bf-109 for teh engine torque. I've tried using rudder trim while parked with brakes on and at 100% power. The plane still rotates towards the left. Can you not trim it out so it holds straight down the runway?

SlayingZero
02-15-2007, 05:35 PM
There's no rudder trim on the 109 me thinks (as was the case for real). You have to dance around on the pedals to hold it straight, a bit tricky but it does become easier with practise.

Best of luck

berg417448
02-15-2007, 05:35 PM
The Bf-109 did not have pilot adjustable rudder trim. Trim tabs were adjusted on the ground so that the plane would fly in trim at normal cruising speed.

TheHajj
02-15-2007, 05:41 PM
LOL, that would explain why I can't trim it then!

TheHajj
02-15-2007, 05:44 PM
That brings up another question then... should the 109 be rolling when at 2100 RPMs? If I level every thing out and set my power to ~55% which is about 2100 RPMs, should the plane maintain level flight (some what at least)?

horseback
02-15-2007, 05:45 PM
this why if you fly a lot of Blue, you need to invest in rudder pedals.

I once flew a ninety minute 109 mission with a twisty stick with a fair amount of spring to it-the back of my hand was cramping up for days afterward (original Il-2 Sturmovik required trim inputs even at cruising speed).

cheers

horseback