PDA

View Full Version : New Monitor while waiting for BoB & new subsequent new rig??



jamesdietz
04-29-2008, 09:40 AM
After about 6 years I am planning to replace my old 18"wide "ViewSonic A90f monitor from Office Depot with something a bit newer & state of the art..I'd like to replace the whole rig but figure I must wait until Oleg's masterwork of BoB appears ( 2 years overdue by my rough figuring.)I'd like to guarentee that the new monitor will work well with the new sim if & when & also maybe get a bigger monitor than I currently have. Don't want to pay a mint , but don't want to go bargain basement either...so suggestions anyone?

TgD Thunderbolt56
04-29-2008, 10:48 AM
Dell 2407WFP 24" widescreen. One of the best 24" monitors on the market and right in the sweet spot as far as price/viewing area go. I ordered one of these about a year ago and they were backordered a week or so at the time. I had a Dell coupon and didn't want to wait so I stepped up to the 2707WFP 27" model and have loved absolutely every second.

Don't go smaller than 24" widescreen JD.

Sirrith
04-29-2008, 11:57 AM
Im about to buy a new monitor too, just wondering, why not smaller than 24"?

TgD Thunderbolt56
04-29-2008, 12:15 PM
Originally posted by Sirrith:
Im about to buy a new monitor too, just wondering, why not smaller than 24"?

Because your monitor is the main contact-point between you and your pc. Your FPS, Image quality, Video card purchases etc, all revolve around your monitor and the larger images, higher potential resolutions and the descending price point simply make everything look so much better for less money.

Most benchmarks these days are done on 24" monitors and you can pick one up for about the same price as a decent 19" CRT 5 years ago ($275- $450). And if you're like most people, you don't replace your monitor every time you build/buy a new pc. I know I don't.

This is one of those areas where size DOES matter.

Here's a quick page from newegg.com for a quick comparison: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=E...309821328&name=24%22 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010190020+1309821328&name=24%22)

cmndrbob
04-29-2008, 12:20 PM
I just got a 24" Samsung 2493HM. I can't believe how nice this monitor is. It has really transformed this Sim for me. Just go and have a look at them. PS love your art work James.

cmndrbob
04-29-2008, 12:22 PM
Pss the Samsung was 449.00 when I bought it about a month ago.

jamesdietz
04-29-2008, 12:56 PM
Great! Now a consumer/cost question...should I just pop over to my local PC store that carries Samsung or Dell,or should I cast my pc net arount the internet for better price now that I have an idea about what I want? Time isn't really a big issue ...but price could be.

Urufu_Shinjiro
04-29-2008, 12:57 PM
I recently purchased an Acer 24" and I love it. The sim has never been so good. I can see dots better than ever.Thunderbolt is right, get a 24". The native resolution for a 24" should be 1920x1200, this means that a 24" is minimum to be able to display 1080P Hi-Def. Some think that a 22" since it displayed 1680x1050 can do 1080P since it's only 30 pixel difference from 1050 to 1080 but this is a misnomer, 1080P high def is a resolution of 1920×1080, so as you can see there is a large descrepency from 1680x1050, lol. 24" is just right, large enough, can do 1080P, and the price is just now getting reasonable, i.e. can't get bigger than 24" without prices going nuts.

Sirrith
04-29-2008, 02:45 PM
well, seeing as I've never played a game on anything bigger than 15.4" I doubt I'll be disappointed if I go for a 20" or 22" :P

James, I would look around the net first, you can get some pretty good deals compared to walk-in stores. Besides, it doesnt take much time or effort, so you dont really lose anything apart from exercise if you do find one online http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ytareh
04-29-2008, 03:04 PM
Tgd THUNDERBOLT I got a Dell 2407 about 3 months ago and its great !Flying in the P38/P51 etc its hard to imagine that windcreen/shield being much bigger in real life! (of course Im sure it is )But I cant help but feel Im not getting the best out of it by a long shot regarding colour settings ....Any suggestions/links/settings?By the way once you go above 1280x1024 you need a seriously fast pc .My Intel E6700 at 3.6 and 8800GTX cant play COD4 on max settings above 1280x1024...

Monterey13
04-29-2008, 03:36 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009125

Urufu_Shinjiro
04-29-2008, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by Monterey13:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009125

Agreed, but don't buy a monitor from newegg. They have a crappy lcd return policy, you have to have no less that 8 dead pixels before they take it back.

partic_3
04-29-2008, 05:21 PM
I bought a Samsung 24" LCD, apparently a good quality monitor, and I have been very disappointed in the image quality. My 22" CRT has a much better image quality. The LCD, which I run at 1920 by 1200, does not have small enough pixels to display a clean image so the result is jagged edges, even running AA and AF at 8x or higher. I am probably doing something wrong but I haven't seen a LCD or Plasma screen that looks anywhere near as good as a CRT.

PF_Coastie
04-29-2008, 05:31 PM
Also, don't forget that running at those crazy high resolutions are going to absolutely slaughter your FPS unless you have an ample enough rig to handle it.

Monterey13
04-29-2008, 05:37 PM
I bought mine from Newegg. They have the best support around, but I didn't have any problems with my monitor, so I can't comment on that.

I play '46 at 1680 x 1050 and it looks great. I play COD4 at 800 x 600 just because I can spot them at a distance better. I had it on 1680 x 1050, and it looked awesome, but targets were too small at a distance. It still looks great at 800 x 600 though. I'll never go back to a smaller monitor.

Stiletto-
04-29-2008, 07:04 PM
CRT's FTW. 24" and better looking than any LCD.

http://cgi.ebay.com/24-SONY-GDM-FW9012-FD-Trinitron-Fla...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/24-SONY-GDM-FW9012-FD-Trinitron-Flat-CRT-Monitor-NR_W0QQitemZ300220707377QQihZ020QQcategoryZ116347Q QssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-HP-24-WIDE-SCREEN-MONITOR-GDM-...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-HP-24-WIDE-SCREEN-MONITOR-GDM-FW900-A7217A-CRT-WS_W0QQitemZ150240834177QQihZ005QQcategoryZ116347Q QssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

Did I also mention cheaper? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Phil_C
04-29-2008, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by TgD Thunderbolt56:
Dell 2407WFP 24" widescreen. One of the best 24" monitors on the market and right in the sweet spot as far as price/viewing area go. I ordered one of these about a year ago and they were backordered a week or so at the time. I had a Dell coupon and didn't want to wait so I stepped up to the 2707WFP 27" model and have loved absolutely every second.

Don't go smaller than 24" widescreen JD.


Thats what i got- for free no less- when i ordered my current computer back in October.. The picture is amazing and very clear/sharp.

WOLFMondo
04-30-2008, 03:43 AM
Check out prices for the BenQ FP241's. There better than any of the Dell or Samsung 24" offerings but last time I checked the Dells were a little cheaper. The picture quality on the BenQ is similar if not superior to proffessional quality CRT's and almost as good as proffessional quality LCD's.

Hoenire
04-30-2008, 04:09 AM
Psssst Bearcat will be in here soon - he's a sales rep for Acer I think...

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


Edit: Don't forget that the bigger the screen, the better the system needed to power it!

TgD Thunderbolt56
04-30-2008, 05:33 AM
Originally posted by Hoenire:
Edit: Don't forget that the bigger the screen, the better the system needed to power it!

The size of the screen has NOTHING to do with pc horsepower. Resolution, AA, AF and IQ on the other hand...but not screen size. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

klemlao
04-30-2008, 06:17 AM
>The size of the screen has NOTHING to do with pc horsepower. Resolution, AA, AF and IQ on the other hand...but not screen size<

..but then why would you go to a larger screen just to display larger low res pixels. Actually the LCD screens are fixed native resolution so they'll plaster a low res 'old' pixel across a few 'new' ones and look even jaggier.

I bought the Samsung 226BW 22" nearly a year ago. 1680 x 1050. Typically 30 - 60+ fps with my rig at AA x 4, AF x 16, split frame rendering. It's more than adequate but I can imagine 32" or more would blow my socks off..... IF I could run a very high resolution and at that size I mean much higher than 1900 x whatever. Otherwise.... what's the point?

my rig:-

ASUS A8N32SLi
AMD 64 x 2 3800+
2 Gb Corsair XLPT3200 2-2-2-5 memory
2 x XFX7800GT
2 x 160Gb HDD in Raid config
Jeantech STORM 700W PSU
Win XP
DirectX9c
Samsung 226BW 22" LCD

Aircooled ....and thinking about overclocking, maybe watercooling, new video cards, before BoB hits the road.

TgD Thunderbolt56
04-30-2008, 07:08 AM
Originally posted by klemlao:
..but then why would you go to a larger screen just to display larger low res pixels. Actually the LCD screens are fixed native resolution so they'll plaster a low res 'old' pixel across a few 'new' ones and look even jaggier.

The native resolution on my monitor is 1920x1200 but it scales down without any issues at all to 1600x900 and with the AA set to 8x I have no jaggies at all in this sim. In a few other games I run higher resloution and simply having a larger image makes it impressive...for me anyway.

klemlao
04-30-2008, 09:11 AM
Sorry, I missed that - could you post it again? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

hehe, no offence but I thought my email had gone mad.

Seriously though, I was thinking more of 1024 x 768 as 'low' resolution. That would be almost half your native resolution.

Out if interest, does 1920x1200 hammer your fps or does it just not fit right in the screen? (some don't)

jamesdietz
04-30-2008, 10:19 AM
Ok - this has been great ..now final question...does anyone have any further answers for the absolute best place to buy one of these on line?
Thanks again guys...Just think of waht we'll need to go through when Oleg gives us the requiremnts for BoB SoV!

cmndrbob
04-30-2008, 11:29 AM
I got mine at a local store, because I wanted to be able to return it if there was a problem (without boxing it up and shipping it and waiting three weeks for a replacement) Also it was good to see the monitor in person, up close so I would have an idea of how it looked in action. It's all very subjective, some like CRTs, some LCDs. I sure am enjoying my 24 LCD no problems so far.

Urufu_Shinjiro
04-30-2008, 02:05 PM
Got my Acer from www.ewiz.com (http://www.ewiz.com) , had no problems at all.

PF_Coastie
04-30-2008, 02:14 PM
JD,

Just out of curiousity, what are the basic specs of your system?

space_bandit
05-02-2008, 10:55 AM
For those looking for a 24" screen:

http://www.anandtech.com/displays/showdoc.aspx?i=3302&p=1

Urufu_Shinjiro
05-02-2008, 12:02 PM
Originally posted by space_bandit:
For those looking for a 24" screen:

http://www.anandtech.com/displays/showdoc.aspx?i=3302&p=1

Aww, this is the first time I'm disappointed in Anandtech, any 24" lcd roundup is not valid if it doesn't include Acer, they may not win but they should be in the top group for sure.

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-02-2008, 01:03 PM
This quote at the end of that rather extensive roundup says enough:

"In terms of overall performance, quality, and features, one LCD rises above the others. The Dell 2408WFP looks the same as the 2407WFP, but it offers additional input options, an improved color gamut, and amazing color accuracy even without calibration. Dell has become the 800-pound gorilla of the LCD market, offering great products at very affordable prices. The 2408WFP may not be the cheapest LCD on the market, but if we had to choose one 24" LCD that would satisfy virtually all users, it's an easy choice."


Dell FTW!!!

MOH_SKID.
05-02-2008, 01:38 PM
TgD Thunderbolt56,

If it's no trouble, can you tell us what video card you're using to push all those pixels?

S~
MOH_Skid

Urufu_Shinjiro
05-02-2008, 02:02 PM
I push my 1920x1200 with a lowly X1950XT 256mb. Let's put it this way, I'm still cpu bound.

jamesdietz
05-03-2008, 09:33 AM
Ok- I bought a Samsung ( it was on sale..) My logic was that I'd buy the really hi-tech one when I replaced my entire rig ( in two weeks??? Ha-ha!) So the big screen one will have to wait,but believe me I've copied all your advice and by the time I do buy prices may have dropped a bit...
One issue has come up tho on the new ( more horizontal 2:3 ratio) screen,the sim does not fill out the entire screen area..there are 1 1/2 black bands on each side.Is this typical simply because of the game's design? Is it a square-er format? Inquiring minds...
I do want to say regardless this is a great improvement.I have replaced a 20"x20"x20" very very heavy boxy monitor with a very lovely light ,unbelievably thin screen that shows off everything in better detail & light. It will do quite nicely until BoB finally comes out ( again in 2 weeks...or so?)

klemlao
05-03-2008, 11:51 PM
Hi jamesdietz

it would help to know if you bought a widescreen and what it's native resolution is but the following may help anyway.

You need to edit your conf.ini by hand if the resolution is not listed in IL-2 setup. I have a 22" widescreen Samsung 1680 x 1050 and my conf.in [window] section looks like this:

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=0
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

I don't really need to set ChageScreenRes=1 because my IL-2 and desktop are both 1680 x 1050 but you do if they are different. Fullscreen is just that.

What happens with widescreen is that you lose a little of the picture top and bottom because the IL-2 image is nailed to the screen width and, being a traditional 5:4 aspect, some of it gets lost top and bottom but if you have TrackIR it really doesn't matter.

halfcool
05-04-2008, 01:12 AM
I think Hoe was talking about optimum resolutions. Anyone who has tried any other than their monitors native resolution knows it gets blurry as wearing someone elses prescription glasses.

So if you want to run at your native res of 1650 you better have a card to back it up. Where a 1440 res is much more forgiving on your GPU.

But if you just don't care, lower the res. Save your money.

JG54_Arnie
05-04-2008, 03:52 AM
BENQ FP241WZ here.. its was kinda pricey back when I picked it up.. paid, 700 euro's then.. Should be a bit cheaper by now. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But absolutely blown away by the picture quality of this baby. At work a few collegues have got Dell or Acer screens.. not sure which models. But I notice a clear different between theirs and this BENQ screen where I can be very happy with the purchase. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But there's plenty of sites on the net that review different of those things, back then the BENQ was the best of the lot according to a few different places. Might have changed already. So just read in on it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Bearcat99
05-04-2008, 05:43 AM
Originally posted by Hoenire:
Psssst Bearcat will be in here soon - he's a sales rep for Acer I think...

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


Edit: Don't forget that the bigger the screen, the better the system needed to power wit!

LOL... Nahh I just like a good buy.. I got my 24" ACer for $300.. and it is the older model than Monty's.. I had it for @ 6 months now and I am loving it...

JD you want nothing smaller than a 24" and you ant an LCD.. between the desk realestate , the power consuption and the easiness on the eyes you cant beat it wioth a stick.. You should be able to get a decent 24" LCD between $300 & $400 easily. IMO it is well worth it and one of the best investments I have made on my rig.

TgD Thunderbolt56
05-04-2008, 08:25 AM
Originally posted by MOH_SKID.:
TgD Thunderbolt56,

If it's no trouble, can you tell us what video card you're using to push all those pixels?

S~
MOH_Skid


I have a core 2 duo E6700 with a decent oc on it (@3.2) and a single 8800GTS 512 (G92) and it runs flawlessly.

jamesdietz
05-04-2008, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by klemlao:
Hi jamesdietz

it would help to know if you bought a widescreen and what it's native resolution is but the following may help anyway.

You need to edit your conf.ini by hand if the resolution is not listed in IL-2 setup. I have a 22" widescreen Samsung 1680 x 1050 and my conf.in [window] section looks like this:

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=0
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

I don't really need to set ChageScreenRes=1 because my IL-2 and desktop are both 1680 x 1050 but you do if they are different. Fullscreen is just that.

What happens with widescreen is that you lose a little of the picture top and bottom because the IL-2 image is nailed to the screen width and, being a traditional 5:4 aspect, some of it gets lost top and bottom but if you have TrackIR it really doesn't matter.
Ok ...this must be the case BUT after checking with new desktop settings ,I got 1440x900 & plugged these into config file,without changing anything else...nothing happened when I started sim;it was same screen size.Wha' happened? Plugged your numbers ( knowing they were incorrect but what the heck...)in and the darn sim wouldn't start all all.
I know you must be right but somehow it isn't working... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
05-04-2008, 10:37 AM
The big important one you need to change is saveaspect must =0. The menu will still have the black bars but once you are in the plane flying you will have widescreen. What model of monitor did you get?

jamesdietz
05-04-2008, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by Urufu_Shinjiro:
The big important one you need to change is saveaspect must =0. The menu will still have the black bars but once you are in the plane flying you will have widescreen. What model of monitor did you get?
That did it-Many many thanks! You saved me ( and a tech at Samsung,tomorrow morning)quite a bit of time trying to figure this out! I've learned just about everything I know about computers here from terrific people like you! Now there is no wasted space while flying & that's wonderful!
As you can see a few postings back I decided to wait on the big screen more expensive monitor until I had a new PC to run it.So I went down to Office Max where I bought the PC I am using about 5 years ago & found they had a smaller Samsung on sale with a rebate...so I bought that: a Samsung SyncMaster953bw.Its probably not the greatest thing on earth(duh..) but the price was right & it is a real improvement on the stone age HP Pavillion monitor I have been using for years.
As mentioned I've printed out all the info in this thread & hopefully will be able to use it when BoB finally appears!
Thanks again all! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/typing.gif

WOLFMondo
05-07-2008, 02:51 AM
Originally posted by JG54_Arnie:
BENQ FP241WZ here.. its was kinda pricey back when I picked it up.. paid, 700 euro's then.. Should be a bit cheaper by now. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But absolutely blown away by the picture quality of this baby. At work a few collegues have got Dell or Acer screens.. not sure which models. But I notice a clear different between theirs and this BENQ screen where I can be very happy with the purchase. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

But there's plenty of sites on the net that review different of those things, back then the BENQ was the best of the lot according to a few different places. Might have changed already. So just read in on it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif