PDA

View Full Version : Game load time



silent_slum77
06-01-2007, 05:27 PM
Is there any way to make the game load faster? It takes close to 20 min from the time I put the disk in my drive to the time the game starts. Every fresh game takes at least 10 min for it to start.

I have 512mb 2.8ghz pentium 4
Dell dimension 4600

Is it possible to change some files around or something to make it load faster? Thanks for any input.

gsc67
06-01-2007, 05:41 PM
You need another 512 of ram for the game to load fast and smooth. 512 is boarder-line to run it.

Foehammer-1
06-01-2007, 06:46 PM
And don't even think of adding supermods like GWX or WAC if you have that problem. My load times range from 1.5-2.5 minutes. With WAC, it climbed to 6 minutes on fresh game and 7 minutes to load a saved game. I have 1024MB RAM

Ryde_Crash
06-01-2007, 10:54 PM
I run 2 gigs of DDR ram, a ATI X850 256 DDR Card with a 550 Volt power supply and it takes 4-5 minutes to load.

I use to think that was a tad long--but twenty minutes?

Guess I feel better about my load time.

Ryde...

Jaste07
06-01-2007, 11:10 PM
Yeah it's almost got to be ram. I'm running the same 2.8ghz Pentium 4, 1 gig of ram, and a POS video card.

It only takes maybe 1.5 min to get to the menu and 2.5 min at the most to load a saved game, and im running SH3 1.4 with GWX.

Kaiser_W
06-03-2007, 10:05 AM
Yes, you need another stick of memory. I used to have lengthy load times with mods, but now the initial load takes about a minute, the game load around 5.

Realjambo
06-03-2007, 10:26 AM
...And make sure the new RAM matches the old one in speed and size. Ideally you want a matched pair for best performance.