PDA

View Full Version : Despite all of the kvetching about the Bf-109 series. . .

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 01:26 AM
Is anyone else still a fan of them or fly them almost exclusively?

I'm no expert (yet) but I find that I like the 109 better than any of the VVS planes or any flavor of the 190. The only plane that I find nearly as fun to fly is the Yak series. Sure there is almost something else in the game that will out-climb it, out-turn it, out-dive it, is tougher, faster, or better armed, but there are not any that are all of those at once if the 109 is flown competently. I think the strength of the design, and not just production desperation, saw the Bf-109 series produced from the days of the Spanish Civil War to the bitter end. Fools like Hartmann even seemed to prefer the 109 over the "more advanced" designs. It was a good plane in RL and it is competitive against most anything in FB

Am I stupid or something that I don't really have many complaints about the 109s in 1.11 and just go and fly them, FM & DM "flaws" and all, come hell or high water, (much like many of their RL pilots did I suppose?)

XyZspineZyX
09-10-2003, 01:26 AM
Is anyone else still a fan of them or fly them almost exclusively?

I'm no expert (yet) but I find that I like the 109 better than any of the VVS planes or any flavor of the 190. The only plane that I find nearly as fun to fly is the Yak series. Sure there is almost something else in the game that will out-climb it, out-turn it, out-dive it, is tougher, faster, or better armed, but there are not any that are all of those at once if the 109 is flown competently. I think the strength of the design, and not just production desperation, saw the Bf-109 series produced from the days of the Spanish Civil War to the bitter end. Fools like Hartmann even seemed to prefer the 109 over the "more advanced" designs. It was a good plane in RL and it is competitive against most anything in FB